Iron Man

A 2008 movie starring Robert Downey Jr.

< read all 24 reviews

Finally a Great New Action Hero Movie!

  • May 15, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
It has been a long time since I left a theater feeling truly satisfied! I really enjoyed Iron Man for so many reasons- great acting, directing and special effects!

I was really excited at first at the prospect of Jon Favreau directing. I adore him. He was great in Swingers, The Break Up, even on the small screen on Friends and Monk. I had no idea he was a director, but I had a feeling he would only want his name attached to a quality product (Daredevil excluded).  I was also excited to see Jeff Bridges (the Dude!) and Terrence Howard were a part of the film, they are quality actors in my book.

However, I was not excited at the thought of Robert Downey Jr. playing a superhero and Gwyneth Paltrow in general. I was proven wrong!  RDJ who plays Tony Stark AKA Iron Man was terrific in his role. He was great at playing the womanizing, smarmy and spoiled genius turns good- which embodies Tony Stark. I was impressed with his performance. Gwyneth also impressed/surprised me. I am not a huge fan (although she was good in The Royal Tennenbaums) I feel she is a tad overrated. I take it all back! She was excellent at playing Pepper Potts, Tony's trusty, intelligent yet bumbling assistant/gal Friday/right-hand woman. They were well matched and had good chemistry.

Jeff Bridges and Terrence Howard were great in their roles- they were believable and fitting. That's kind of what makes this movie so great- Robert Downey Jr as a superhero? Jeff Bridges as a super villain? Terrence Howard an Army General? Gwyneth charming?  Yes,yes, yes, and yes!!

Jon Favreau's directing was well done as was the editing, and special effects. CGI has a way of looking cheesy and overdone, but this was so believable despite being over the top- which it was. You must approach this as a comic book come to life, things may seem unbelievable, but that's the best part- the total escape from reality.

I know I am praising this movie to no avail- but it really was tremendously entertaining. I highly recommend it and can't wait for the sequel(s). I know there will be a sequel- you find out in the best part of the movie-the last minute :) Enjoy!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
33
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
December 01, 2009
This movie was much more fun than I thought it was going to be. This review said almost everything I would have, except to add that I walked away with a great grin on my face. Thanks!
 
May 06, 2009
I loved this movie! It helped a lot that RDJ was an alcoholic in real life like Stark ;). I am a huge fan of Terrance Howard, but I don't know if the role was right for him...I am very excited to see what Don Chedal can do with the role.
 
February 04, 2009
Jon Favreau is turning out to be quite a directing talent! Like you, I'm surprised — mostly b/c I just equate him with that funny-looking guy in Swingers!
 
January 26, 2009
This is a great flick, isn't it? It appeals to all those who never thought they could relate to any of those actors in any of those roles or to comic book heroes in general! Did you catch Marvel's head honcho Stan Lee in his trademark cameo? he was playing Hugh Heffner at a big party Stark goes to. Its just a fleeting thing. Stark says, "Hi, Hef" as he's walking past and Lee turns around and waves. A lot of people miss it. I was the only one at the showing I attended who caught it and laughed outloud.
 
1
More Iron Man reviews
review by . August 28, 2010
My daughter is almost 12 and is clamoring to watch PG-13 movies "like all her friends do."  We recently watched this as a family.  I had read detailed reviews that said that there were a few swear words, and a scene of a couple in bed (she was still wearing a shirt but was on top of him).  I covered her eyes on that part, and I thought the rest was pretty appropriate.      The beginning was a bit long (and boring?), but in general this is a fast-paced …
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
This movie def changed the way super hero movies are watched. The humor in it made it much more enjoyable and it def opened it up to a much larger more commercial audience!
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
I was never really into the comic book, but I thought the movie did a great job telling the story while keeping the action constant.
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
I'm more enthusiastic about films (or maybe I have lower standards) - the only false note, to me, was the slut-shaming Pepper directs at Christine: I'm gonna blame bad writing, but the rest of the movie was above that. Good and actiony.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
One of the best super hero movies out today
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Lots of action and fun
review by . May 28, 2009
I Can Do Without
Without doubt, Iron Man is a pre-packaged Hollywood product. Enough said. If you enjoy early Summer Blockbusters & tend to shy away from Foreign or Indie films, you will be floating on cloud nine after seeing it. In fact, I highly encourage you to go out now & see this film as quickly as humanly possible. It does go well with Coke & popcorn.      Unfortunately,I wasn't so craazy about this one & actually found myself running back & forth from …
review by . June 18, 2009
Iron Man Blu-ray Cover art
When you think of Jon Favreau, you don't necessarily think that Iron Man would be a film he would direct, but as it turns out, Favreau is a huge comic book fan and was dedicated from the word go to make the best superhero movie ever, which is exactly what he did.  Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark/Iron Man was probably one of the best casting choices ever made for a film and is also a huge part in what made Iron Man so successful.  The film has been transferred onto Blu-ray HiDef, capturing …
Quick Tip by . August 23, 2009
Probably the only movie in the past couple years where I left the theater on an adrenaline high...it's that good.
Quick Tip by . August 22, 2009
Love robots, the coolness and the actions
About the reviewer
Rhea ()
I love Hello Kitty, Social Media and all things Entertainment.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RheaMJ
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Iron Man
tells the story about a wealthy man who becomes involved in building an armored suit after a life- changing experience, and then begins to use his new suit to fight evil.

Directed by Jon Favreau, Iron Man was released on May 2, 2008, and won two awards at the Golden Trailer (Summer 2008 blockbuster), MTV Awards (Best summer movie) and was nominated for 3 other wards.  The film stars Robert Downey Jr., Terrance Howard, Jeff Bridges, and Gwyneth Paltrow.

view wiki

Details

Director: Jon Favreau
Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Sci-Fi
Release Date: May 2, 2008
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Runtime: 2hrs 6min
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Love of Comics & Graphic Novels! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists