The Gaming Hub
Where Gaming Comes Alive
Dragon Age: Origins

A roleplaying game released on November 3, 2009.

< read all 4 reviews

A Quick Tip by Mega_Dan

  • Jul 22, 2010
A heavily dialogue driven game, much like Knights of the Old Republic and Mass Effect, in which the player gets to choose how conversations flow and it directly affects the game. The team based combat allows you to switch between the characters in your party on the fly, so when a particular character isn't set up to handle an unexpected battle you can take control. The graphics are exceptional, the story is decent, and the combat can be fun. The reason why this game doesn't get a 4+ from me was the "nightmare" difficulty. I hate difficulty settings that don't make the game more difficult by increasing the skill necessary to beat it. Nightmare mode just punishes you for not already knowing what's around the corner or what abilities every enemy has. It becomes a game of trial and error, where every time you open a door there is a chance that you will explode in a fantastic fireball (that happened more than a few times). There is no way to know what will instantly vaporize you until you poke at it and see. It gets so bad later in the game when you have to travel the world map and 90% of the random unavoidable encounters become seemingly impossible and you have to keep restarting the game until you get that 10%. I just quit the game at that point. Just don't pick Nightmare and you'll get a much more enjoyable experience.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Dragon Age: Origins reviews
review by . January 26, 2011
posted in GayGamer
There is something about Dragon Age: Origin[DA:O] that is indescribable for me. Whenever I think about the universe, I get a little extra pep in my step. Whenever I think about the characters, I get an un-erasable smile across my face. It's one of those few games where I can overlook it's flaws and see straight to the heart of it all: it hearkens back to a time in my youth when I used to read a crap-ton of Forgotten Realms novels, and poured (what I thought at the time) my whole life into Dungeons …
review by . January 01, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
Picked this up for hubby for X-mas as he really wanted this game. The graphics are great and there is a lot to this game. He says it's very challenging (which is a huge compliment coming from him, he's the biggest gamer I know!), and he's really enjoying it. It seems pretty long so far too, he hasn't beat it yet and it usually doesn't take him long at all, another plus!
review by . November 04, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
Ther version I'm playing is the PC version, and I have a big bad Vista 64-I7 machine, so it's fast and handles the graphics with no sweat -- even allows me quickly to swap in and out of the game.    It's been many years since I tried a RPG that was enough fun to justify the effort, but congratulations to these designers for a wonderful game. I am playing in the "easy" mode now, because I haven't played any RPGs to speak of for a long time. I bought a couple but quickly got bored …
About the reviewer

Ranked #63
Member Since: Jul 20, 2010
Last Login: Jul 22, 2010 03:33 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Mega_Dan
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this video game

Wiki

Dragon Age: Origins, (also known as Dragon Age), is a computer role-playing game by BioWare's Edmonton studio. T

Dragon Age: Origins utilizes a new game engine named Eclipse. The game is single-player only and does not provide LAN support.

BioWare co-CEO Ray Muzyka describes Dragon Age: Origins as a 'spiritual successor' to the Baldur's Gate series, though it is not based on Dungeons & Dragons.

view wiki

Details

Publisher: Bioware
Console: PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, Microsoft Windows
Release Date: November 3, 2009

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Gaming Hub is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists