The Gaming Hub
Where Gaming Comes Alive

The Fate of Two Worlds has been 11 years in the making.

  • Feb 20, 2011
Rating:
+5

The original Marvel Vs Capcom debuted in 1999 and it's superior sequel came out a year later.  Teaming up with popular Marvel comic's characters with Capcom video games biggest heroes and villians in a fighting game environment was awesome fun.  It took ELEVEN YEARS for a new installment to come out but was it worth it?  You bet.

The game is largely unchanged with you picking three characters to go up against a friend or the computers 3 man team to do battle with flying kicks, fireball attacks, teleports, body throws and the hyper combos.  If a team member is on the ropes, switch em' out for a fresh character or call in another team mate to lend a hand.  The roster is pretty diverse with old faces like Ryu and Wolverine battling with Iron Man and Captain America or Chris Redfield and Dante.  There are several new characters introduced to the game who were not in the previous games like Crimson Viper, Arthur, M.O.D.O.K., Wesker, Dormamu and oh yes, Mike Haggar and as you progress through the game, other characters can become unlocked.  Once you've battled through all the teams, you fight Galactus who isn't as easy as Abyss from 2, but can't be nearly as cheap as Onslaught from the first game as a boss character.  If you win, Galactus collapses into the void, lose and Galactus destroys the world.  It's actually a pretty cool "Game Over" screen.


MvC3 does keep the basics but tries to simplify things and for longtime fighting game veterans like myself it takes a little getting used to.  You have 3 attack buttons with are mixed with punches and kicks and a "special" button which normally works as the launcher attack for setting up air combos but can also be used for executing more complex moves in the "Simple" mode of play.  The other buttons are used to call in your different characters for assists and switch outs and doing team up hyper combos.  If you've played the other games, it's similar ground but those reworked buttons will take a little getting used to.  The special button if your playing as Iron Man is what was his standing roundhouse and for the Hulk, it's his ducking fierce punch.  Again, a little getting used to.

The graphics are more cartoony then Street Fighter IV, probably to mesh more with the comic book feel with Marvel's characters.  The sounds are crisp and great but some of the voices are a little odd or off sounding they will grow on you with time that or if your not so connected to the older games like I am, you can hook on to them easier. 

I like the first two games and this game doesn't dissapoint.  It's been a long time coming and it does make the right moves.  There are characters to unlock and the special edition has a DLC code for unlocking two more characters in March.  Been itching for some more cross over fighting, Marvel Vs Capcom 3 is overdue but is nothing dissapointing.

The Fate of Two Worlds has been 11 years in the making.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
March 26, 2012
I'm sure that we won't be disappointed.
March 26, 2012
Go for the Ultimate Version now, it's cheaper and has more characters with better balancing and the netcoding for online play has been improoved too. I really hate Capcom for double dipping this game.
 
February 21, 2011
Bah I just hope that its all that its cracked up to be
February 21, 2011
I thought it was. Sure theres some more characters I would have liked to see like Maybe Mega Man X to go with Zero or getting Hugo and Zangief to go with Haggar but theres always DLC to add onto.
February 21, 2011
Why did they take out Mega in the first place?
February 21, 2011
No idea, unless he's hidden and I haven't unlocked him. Zero is in the game as is Tron Bonne, but NO Mega Man or Mega Man X. Why not other Mega Man characters like Guts Man or Spark Mandrill, maybe Dr. Wily or Nemesis as a boss for the Capcom side. Like I said, maybe some DLC can fill in gaps.
February 21, 2011
its like paying 100$ for a game because honestly, paying for the DLC that is already ingame is retarted. its whatever though. I'll be renting the game first. Gotta buy Hyperdimesion Neptunia first.
February 21, 2011
It can be depending on how much the DLC is. Rockstar wanted so much for the Zombie add on for Red Dead along with other DLC. Capcom only wanted under $5 for the extra color and costumes for Super Street Fighter 4 so I guess it depends on how much the DLC is, if it even gets released.
February 21, 2011
Well to be honest, I can't wait to try out MvC3. I loved MvC2 and I'm sure I'll love this one. Thanks for your opinions
 
February 20, 2011
sounds like a pretty fun game. A friend of mine gave it high marks too. I will put this on my list of TBP. Thanks, John!
February 21, 2011
I've got Akuma, Heisen Ko, Sentinel and Taskmaster unlocked so far. Hope theres more. DLC characters that are free to download with the special edition (which I heard is a tough find) includes Jill Valentine and Shuma Gorath. I just got done playing more of it.
 
1
More Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of T... reviews
review by . August 10, 2011
posted in The Gaming Hub
For some people, Marvel vs. Capcom 2 is perhaps the greatest arcade fighter ever made.  It had such a strong following that finding a used copy of the game would easily run you around seventy bucks.  And for eleven years fans clamored and demanded a Marvel vs. Capcom 3... something that for the longest time didn't seem like it would happen.  In February of 2011 the impossible became a reality when Marvel vs. Capcom 3 dropped down.  For as much fun as it is... there are certain …
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
An incredibly fun fighter, and (imo) improves upon everything that was in the last one, with the exception of a smaller character roster with some being released DLC i hope to see more down the line.
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
Worth the money and worth the wait, Marvel vs. Capcom 3 brings fun in fighting to the next gen consoles. For those who just started, make sure to view Shoryuken.com's Hyper Guides. Trust me, you'll be happy to see these.    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZzQ5EwkndhU    Now if only they could fix the online component and add even more characters.
Quick Tip by . February 20, 2011
posted in The Gaming Hub
The heroes and villains from the world of Capcom's video games and Marvel's Comic Books team up to save both worlds from Galactus. Long awaited follow up to the mammothly popular fighting game from 2000 keeps what works, improves what didn't and it's just as much fun.
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
Its fun the first 5 hours....after that it get boring and....pay for DLC...no thank you :/
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #2
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this video game

Wiki

After a decade of waiting, iconic Marvel and Capcom characters join forces again in Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds, a re-envisioned team fighting game for a new generation of gamers. Fill the shoes of legendary characters from both the Marvel and Capcom universes as you engage in 3-on-3 battles within living comic book art style environments powered by Capcom's MT Framework, an advanced version of the graphics engine used for Resident Evil 5. Additional features include: a single player story and online multiplayer modes, new playable character additions, a simplified three-button control scheme and a character-specific "Simple" Mode which can function as a tutorial. This Special Edition contains a variety of physical and digital extras. See the complete list of extras below.

Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds game logo
Tag-Team Gameplay

Although Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds features a single player story mode in which you can play the Fate of Two Worlds storyline out in the role of each of the playable characters, the game is primarily a one-on-one crossover fighting game featuring heroes and villains from the Marvel Comics and Capcom video game universes. In this, action is team-based as players, either fighting against AI or a human opponent select three characters to stand against their opponent's three characters. Battles are essentially tag-team events, as at any time players can choose to switch characters as they look to string together combos that will do the most ...

view wiki

Details

ESRB: T
Number of Players: Single-player, Multi-player
Publisher: Capcom
Developer: Capcom, Eighting
Console: PlayStation 3, Xbox 360
Release Date: February 15, 2011 (NA)
Lists with this video game
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Gaming Hub is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists