The Gaming Hub
Where Gaming Comes Alive
BD49022514F2499C95CB75172AA4FC2

The 2008 Xbox360 Action Role-Playing video game

< read all 4 reviews

A welcomed addition to the series

  • May 13, 2009
Rating:
+4

Fans of the Vesperia series can rejoice...as the series finally gets the upgrade to the next gen consoles with this beautifully rendered addition.

The Story:

An ancient technology known as Blastia is supporting the world, Terca Lumireis. In this civilization, Blastia, is used for everything from supplying the power that keeps the shields active around the towns to protect the inhabitants from monsters...to keeping the water supply clean. Yuri Lowell is an ex-soldier of the imperial capitol, who embarks on a journey that will have global implications. The plot is typical RPG, but where Vesperia shines is the side quests, which vary from the highly predictable....to the completely unexpected. And, while the story is typical for the genre, it does manage to remain and play fresh. Skits are performed by interacting with the many NPCs spread throughout the world...which range from the hilarious...to guiding Yuri through his adventure.

Gameplay:

What can I say? Tales of Vesperia is almost exactly like all other games in the genre. You progress the story by traveling from town-to-town, you interact with the townsfolk, you buy your weapons, and you solve puzzles. Vesperia has added two new fighting systems from their predecessor.

- Encounter Links: This allows your party to engage multiple groups of enemies simultaneously.
- Advantage Encounters: This will give your party an upper hand in battle IF you manage to properly wield the sorcerer's ring prior to the battle beginning.


After each battle you are awarded learning points which can be used to enhance your characters by altering the skills they know and thus use in battle. The game does limit the amount of skill points that can be allocated per level. Another minor change from its predecessor is that your skills are only active during battles - which make the constant grooming of battle skills mandatory. Some gamers may enjoy this but, but others will find this tedious, since you'll need to alter your skill sets in order to use basic commands such as items. Alchemy is also vital in the game as it is another avenue to acquire skills. For those new to alchemy, it is gathering materials from around the world and synthesizing them into useful objects.

Graphics and sound:

While some of the environment is lacking in details, it is rendered beautifully by the Xbox engine. The characters feature genuine facial expressions and the cut scenes are movie quality. The music in the game is done well and is just a matter of taste. All the music does lend to the realism and mood set of the environments and the emotionally charged boss battles.

Final thoughts:

Tales of Vesperia is a worthy and welcomed addition to the series and to any gamer's library. The characters are memorable, the game play is fun, and the scenery is beautifully rendered.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
September 03, 2009
The story rates 4.5 out of 5 it is exactly what one would expect from this series: exciting, deep, funny with surprises around every corner. Your first playthrough will take you about 40-50 hours or so and it's impossible to do everything your first time through.. With sidequests, titles, Items and more to collect this game will keep you busy for awhile. If you're aiming to get all 50 of the achievements then you're going to be going through this game at least 3 times. Definitely ranks high on the Replay Value Scale.
September 04, 2009
Sweet. I might have to switch to this game and quit Last Remnant. I got my battle rank too high in that game and apparently the bosses become extremely hard to beat if you do that. Getting owned by the twins in base 4 and I'm BR 72. Thanx for the info.
 
September 01, 2009
Nice review. As always, I was wondering about the story/plot? What would you rate that separately? And how long would it take to beat assuming I'm just out to beat it and not do all the secret side quests and items. I'm 2/3 done with Last Remnant and really enjoying the battle system. I plan to pick this up next after I beat that.
 
1
More Tales of Vesperia [Xbox360] reviews
Quick Tip by . April 05, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
Well, what a surprise. The game just got uploaded on Games On Demand. It's $30/€30. Should be good for europeans, since people are asking 60+ for a used copy. On a side note, could this be related to the announcement of the Blu-Ray movie? Or maybe to Graces F? Maybe Namco is trying to increase awareness on the series?
review by . November 23, 2009
 I've never played any of the previous Tales RPG series so I had no idea what kind of game I was getting.  But from all the reviews I've seen, most people love the game.  After just completing it last night, I would have to say this was a pretty fun game.      BATTLE/GAMEPLAY:   This isn't your old school RPG where you issue a command for everyone and the enemy waits til you're done.  This is all done in real time and you get to run around slashing …
review by . September 06, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
The Tales series has never been too big in America, but many of the games within the series are a blessing. Tales of Vesperia is a great outing that many fans of the series may enjoy. If this is the first time you've ever played a Tales game, then Tales of Vesperia is a good game to start with.       Tales of Vesperia takes place in a world where blastia, magical properties, are used to protect the denizens from monsters. There are also knights who help out and protect the citizens …
About the reviewer
Justyn Joe Richardson ()
Ranked #14
My name is Justyn Richardson but I go by the name Shoyu - after joining the on-line gaming site, Pogo, I have reverted back to my childhood nickname of Tasteless Joe. I first acquired the name when I … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
shoyu1
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this video game

Wiki

Tales of Vesperia is the tenth main title in the Tales series. It was developed by Namco Tales Studio and published by Namco Bandai Games for the Xbox 360. The title was announced on December 22, 2007 at Jump Festa, and was released on August 7, 2008 in Asia, and on August 26, 2008 in North America. On June 26, 2009 Tales of Vesperia was released in Europe making it the fifth game in the Tales series to be released there. Tales of Vesperia's characteristic genre name is RPG to Enforce "Justice" (「正義」を貫き通すRPG, "Seigi" o tsuranukitōsu RPG?). The game's character designer is Kōsuke Fujishima, the chief director and producer is Yoshito Higuchi (who previously worked on both Tales of Symphonia and Tales of the Abyss), and the animated movies were done by Production I.G. The game's theme song is "Ring a Bell" (鐘を鳴らして, Kane o Narashite?) by Bonnie Pink.[5] A special limited edition was released in North America, including a metal case with unique cover art and a 22-track soundtrack.[6] In April 2009 it was announced that those who purchased the special edition would be mailed a second 10th anniversary soundtrack CD.[7] A prequel to the game in the form of an animated film called Tales of Vesperia: The First Strike was released on October 3, 2009. A PlayStation 3 port was released including material not present in the original Xbox 360 version, such as a new playable character, named Patty Fleur,[8] on September 17, 2009.
view wiki

Details

ESRB: TEEN
Number of Players: 1 Player
Publisher: Namco Bandai Games America
Developer: Bandai Namco Games
Console: Xbox 360
Genre: Action RPG
Release Date: August 26, 2008
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Gaming Hub is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists