The Gaming Hub
Where Gaming Comes Alive
Nintendo Wii

A motion sensored gaming console by Nintendo.

< read all 21 reviews

A gaming console that's just not for me. 25%

  • Jul 15, 2011
Rating:
+1
 

First of all, I'd like to say that before I review why I'm not fond of the Wii, keep in mind that this is entirely subjective, and if you personally enjoy it, then more power to you.

 

I remember the Wii coming out back in November of 2006 and like the PS3, I thought to myself “Like I'm gonna buy that thing, that thing is a joke.” However, unlike the PS3, to this day, I still see no desire to buy one. The Wii has beaten the PS3 and the Xbox 360 in sales, mainly for its “revolutionary” motion-controls that require the players to move while playing the games.

 

MOTION-CONTROLS

 

Many people have lauded the Nintendo Wii for its motion-control interface that uses a Wii Mote and a Wii Chuck to control movement and actions of your character in the game. This isn't a new idea because Nintendo already dabbled into that concept in the mid-late 80's with the Power Glove, though while the Wii Mote is more reliable than the Power Glove, the novelty of this wears out very quickly for me.

 

GRAPHICS

 

While I'm not one to bash games or gaming consoles just because their graphics aren't breathtaking (I still play “old” games like Wolfenstein 3D, Doom, and the 16-bit Sonic games), for a seventh-generation console in competition with the Xbox 360 and the PS3, I expect more out of the Wii. Most of the games support graphics that would be more fitting for the PS2, and I wish most of the games wouldn't look so “cartoony.” Would it kill them to make a console with decent graphics, strong textures, and solid lighting?

 

GAMES

 

The Nintendo Wii isn't much appealing to me because of how there's virtually no fun games to play on it (from my point of view). Many of the games for the Wii are sports and fitness games, and I personally don't find much to enjoy about them because if I wanted to get exercise, I'll just go to the gym late at night (I like working out at night). Also, Nintendo isn't doing much to shed the stigma the company has gained from “true gamers” that they only make “kiddie games,” as there's tons of exclusive titles geared mainly for kids. There's some Mature titles like Mad World that are exclusive to the Wii, but Nintendo isn't putting them in the forefront to help squash this stigma, and that the games aren't all that gripping compared to titles like Dead Space or Crysis 2. All of the “flagship” titles that the Wii parades like scholarship students are pretty alienating to adult gamers like myself, mainly the newer Mario games. Back in January of 2009, my brother and his wife bought a Wii with Super Mario Galaxy, and I decided to give SMG a try, and it's like them making the games not look so sugary would make the Nintendo corporation implode upon itself. I miss the N64 days, when Nintendo wasn't afraid to have a good number of games that weren't for kids, like Goldeneye and the Turok games (those were a huge blast).

 

DIFFERENT AUDIENCE

 

I'm honestly not trying to sound elitist here, but if you consider yourself a “true” gamer, you're probably not going to find much enjoyment out of the Wii. To prove this, I remember one morning at my past job, slicing and packaging corn ears with one of my co-workers (who was a middle-aged mother of several children), and she was glowing about how “great” the Wii is, and she isn't the gamer-type at all. I even chatted with Wii owners about the console and they agree that it's a console for casual gamers and non-gamers.

 

FINAL WORD

 

If you consider yourself a casual gamer or non-gamer and want an electronic device that'll entertain your friends and family during parties, want an electronic exercising interface device, or a console that'll entertain little kids, then you may want a Wii. However, if you consider yourself a gamer, then skip this and go for an Xbox 360, PS3, or a gaming PC (preferably a PS3, or if you have the money, a gaming PC).

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
November 29, 2011
Dude despite the fact that I have a Website dedicated to reviewing Wii and DS games. I agree with everything you said in this article.
 
July 17, 2011
right now, I cannot buy any more consoles. I barely use my two other consoles as it is. Nice review!
July 18, 2011
If you hardly use the 360 and PS3, then I guarantee that you'll open up the Wii box and set it up, then never use it.
 
1
More Nintendo Wii reviews
review by . March 04, 2010
A New World of Physical Video Gaming
The Nintendo Wii is one of a kind. Developed in an industry that is normally dominated by intense graphics and violent game play, the Wii Fit is a bit of an anomaly.  The Wii brings family fun and physical interactivity to the gaming world. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy the classic style of game-play too – I've been playing games like Halo and Final Fantasy for years – but there's just something astounding about how simple yet effective the core components of Nintendo's new system …
Quick Tip by . September 26, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
Nintendo's new golden child system has that ease and comfort we've come to expect from Nintendo as well as a large and exclusive library of games.
Quick Tip by . August 12, 2010
Excellent gaming system for young children, or for us big kids. This system has wonderful graphics, and is easy to use. A must for those who love gaming, and can afford the price-tag.
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
Decent console, but overrated. Great games are few and far between and those that are actually great are completely ignored by the general public, inviting developers to give up on trying to make stuff of absolute substance and concentrate on crap. Online multiplayer and friend system is terrible in order to "protect the children." Still, when I DO find good games for the Wii (Zack and Wiki, No More Heroes, etc), I do get a lot of enjoyment out of them.
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
I only gave it a 3 because I don't approve of kids gaming too much, my family only got a WII when I was 18 (because my 12 yr old sister won it somewhere) and I enjoy it now and we play with it in moderation.
review by . March 10, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
The Nintendo Wii is quite revolution in its own right. With all the things it can do, it's hard to say it won't be competition for the market this year. What it boils down to is what you like. If you want a console for some gaming fun, then the Wii is definitely for you, in more ways than one.  However, an increasing problem the Wii is suffering from more and more is the lack of quality games.  It wouldn't surprise me if many gamers let their Wii sit collecting dust just because good, …
review by . February 12, 2010
The Nintendo Wii is a fantastic game system for kids especially but I think most adults will love it just as much. The Wii doesn't have nearly as good of graphics as the Playstation 3 or Xbox 360 but the game selection is so much better for young kids. Many of the games on these other systems have a lot of foul language and so far I am not seeing that at all with Wii games. In addition there is a huge selection of games that kids will love. Most of the games fully utilize the motion sensing technology …
review by . January 21, 2010
I'm not much of a game fan - don't have an Xbox nor do I game using a PC. But this is fun! I use it mainly with the Wii Fit balance board attachment for exercise, and it provides a nice variation from the usual cardio machines or strength routines.    Easy to set up and use. The graphics are not what you'd call top-notch, but are usable. All in all, I'm very pleased with it - never would have thought I'd own a game deck, but the Wii changed that!
review by . October 26, 2009
Wii is awesome. I love the interactive aspect. The sports games are great, allowing you to actually take swings with the Wii controller to play the games. This is leap years above the competition.
review by . December 14, 2008
  I don't get what's so popular about this damn Wii. I went out of my way to get one with all the hype out there about how great and fun it is. After playing it for a few days, I got bored of it already. That motion sensor remote/nunchuck is "interesting" at best. But I don't find any of the games any fun. All the games seem to be made for 10 year olds or simpletons that are easily amused. I mean how fun can flipping your wrist to throw a bowling ball and watching it knock down 10 pins be? …
About the reviewer
David Kozak ()
I'm a morbid cynic who thinks very, very differently from most other people. Chances are, if the majority says X is the greatest in its category, I'll disagree with that notion, because I tend … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RabidChihuahua
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this video game console

Wiki

The Wii is a home video game console released by Nintendo. As a seventh-generation console, the Wii primarily competes with Microsoft's Xbox 360 and Sony's PlayStation 3. Nintendo states that its console targets a broader demographic than that of both. The Financial Times reported that as of September 12, 2007, the Wii is the sales leader of its generation, based on sales figures from Enterbrain, NPD Group, and GfK.

A distinguishing feature of the console is its wireless controller, the Wii Remote, which can be used as a handheld pointing device and detect movement in three dimensions. Another distinctive feature of the console is WiiConnect24, which enables it to receive messages and updates over the Internet while in standby mode.

The Wii is Nintendo's fifth home console, the direct successor to the Nintendo GameCube, and able to play all official GameCube games. Nintendo first spoke of the console at the 2004 E3 press conference and later unveiled the system at the 2005 E3. Satoru Iwata revealed a prototype of the controller at the September 2005 Tokyo Game Show. At E3 2006, the console won the first of several awards. By December 8, 2006, it had completed its launch in four key markets.
view wiki

Details

Brand: Nintendo
Category: Video Game Consoles
Developer: Nintendo
Console Type: Console

Polls with this video game console
Nintendo Wii

Favorite Game Consoles

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Gaming Hub is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists