All about Cult

Weird, wild, fun, endearing and heart rending

  • May 14, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I see that no one has responded to my "Krod Mandoon and the Flaming Sword of Fire" review.  You may not respond to this one, either, but both are wonderful.  Imagine, if you will, that Elvis Presley is alive and living in a rest home in East Texas.  (It is explained why Elvis is still alive and why we don't know about it).  Elvis is, of course, played by Bruce Campbell, who does a brilliant job.  Next, imagine that Elvis's best friend in the rest home is ex president John Fitzgerald Kennedy, played brilliantly by Ossie Davis.  (It is also explained why Kennedy is where he is and why he is now Black.)  Now, the rest home is being attacked by a soul sucking mummy wearing cowboy boots and a ten gallon hat.  Sound ridiculous?  Well, it is and it isn't.  Along the way, Coscarelli, the same fellow who gave us the Phantasm series, also makes very pointed statements on heroism, self pity, sex and most important, how old folks are routinely treated.  If you don't cry over what Elvis's roommates daughter does after her father dies, you aren't human. 

Many of the same people who are in Phantasm are also in this film.  Reggie is not the rest home administrator.  The lovely blonde who was Reggie's "lust" interest in Phantasm 4 plays the daughter of Elvis's roommate.  The acting is excellent, the writing is absolutely brilliant and I have watched this film probably 25 times.  Can you tell that I love this one?  Please see it if you can.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
May 15, 2009
What's not to love about BUBBA-HO-TEP? Have you seen the new limited edition they put out? Its in a little Elvis jumpsuit with studs and spangles on it. Very Cute. I still haven't listened to the commentary track but I'm told that Bruce does it in character as Elvis.
May 15, 2009
I have three copies of Bubba. I love it that much. The commentary track is great. You will laugh. Bruce is always great.
May 15, 2009
Is there a 3rd version out, or is that just a back up copy?
May 15, 2009
There is the original DVD, the DVD with the new cover, and then the Elvis DVD. I just thought the movie was great!!!!!
May 15, 2009
What's the new cover look like?
May 15, 2009
The new cover shows Bubba in his cowboy hat and boots. It's funny
May 15, 2009
Aw. I'm such a completist that it kills me whenever they put out a new cover of a favorite movie. I can't adjust to not having the money to indulge my collections anymore. I've often thought about selling my lobby cards in order to collect something else, but the economy is so bad now that I wouldn't get what they're worth--not that I have anything really valuable. I'd just like to see a little profit on them if I were to sell.
May 15, 2009
I know that feeling. I'm retired military and according to Obama, we're all seriously overpaid. I wish I got 1/10 as much as he is getting
May 15, 2009
He's a socialist, or so say the Repubicans. Nobody is overpaid except the rich guys.
May 15, 2009
Isn't everyone who has money? I don't dislike Obama any more than I dislike every other politician, though.
May 15, 2009
I'm not sure that I get that? Do you mean that everyone who has money is a socialist? That wouldn't make sense since we're all about redistribution of the wealth including our own.
May 15, 2009
No, everyone who has money uses it to buy power. Politicians are bought by special interest groups. Special interest groups are run by people who have and control the money.
May 15, 2009
Got ya.
 
1
More Bubba Ho-Tep reviews
review by . April 02, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
***1/2 out of ****    The charm of a Don Coscarelli film is the way in which he treats his characters and the sparks that fly between them. Seldom does he mean to do this in a romantic sense, but I've always enjoyed his movies for their honest portrayals of friendship and human relationships. I'd have to say that one of his newer films, "Bubba Ho-Tep", is easily his most accomplished work since his breakthrough feature, "Phantasm", in terms of the overall character development …
About the reviewer
John O'Connor ()
I am retired military. I served 6 years of Navy, nearly 6 years of Air Force, and just over 22 years of Air National Guard. I also was a full time technician for the Air Guard for just over 21 years. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Ukedude
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Details

Genre: Comedy, Horror
Release Date: September 26, 2003
MPAA Rating: R
Runtime: 1hr 32min
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Cult Cinema is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists