The Diabetes Corner
Hypoglycemia Unawareness/Low Blood Sugar
Diabetes

A condition in which the body either does not produce enough, or does not properly respond to, insulin, a hormone produced in the pancreas.

< read all 6 reviews

The number of adults with diabetes worldwide has more than doubled in the past three decades!

  • Oct 12, 2009
Rating:
-4
This is about the personal battle that each and every one of us must wage with ourselves on a daily basis.  Should I start my day with my favorite donut and a large cup of coffee?  Do I  realize the importance of consuming at least 5 servings of fresh fruits and vegetables every day?  Do I take the elevator or climb the stairs at work?  Will I make time for vigorous daily exercise a priority in my life? Should I have a second helping of mashed potatoes?   Diabetes is no laughing matter.  I know first hand because as a result of this malady my grandmother had to have a leg amputated a year or two before she passed away.  It was heartbreaking to see.  Recently I read an extremely informative book called "Diabesity:  The Obesity-Diabetes Epidemic That Threatens America--And What We Must Do to Stop It ".   Author Frances Kaufman M.D. knows from whence she speaks.   As a past president of the American Diabetes Association Kaufman points out that each and every one of us must make important lifestyle choices on a daily basis.  She wrote "Diabesity" to present us with the cold, hard facts about diabetesIt is not a pretty picture.  She hopes that the facts presented in her book will convince some of us to change our ways.  She makes many simple and practical suggestions.  For me, the thought of possibly having to cope with this disease on a daily basis for the rest of my life is quite sombering indeed.  Diabetes is in my family and we recently lost my 88 year old aunt who suffered for 8 months from complications from this disease before she passed away.  Dr. Kaufman has certainly gotten my attention! 

Meanwhile, "Diabesity" also discusses significant public policy issues.  How is it that we have allowed our schools to be infiltrated by giant corporations who peddle their soft drinks and fast foods to our young people?  As Dr. Kaufman points out the National School Lunch Program which was established in the 1950's to provide nutritious meals at a low subsidized price has been to varying degrees augmented and in many cases supplanted by what are termed "competitive foods".  I had never heard the term.  "Competitive foods" compete with USDA meals and are sold at the snack line in the cafeteria and in innumerable vending machines at the schools. You might have guessed that what is being sold here is soda, snack cakes, chips, hot dogs, french fries and pizza.  You get the picture.  It is an outrage!  Happily, as Dr. Kaufman points out, some enlightened school districts have begun to fight back.  "Diabesity" also delves into a number of other public policy questions that I can report make for extremely informative reading.

Finally, Dr. Kaufman has used the pages of her book to introduce us to some of the diabetes patients she has treated over the years.  This is real eye-opener!  She has been able to help a good many of them and has had the satisfaction of seeing many go on to lead nearly normal lives.  But then there are those who she was not able to help.  Dr. Kaufman allows the reader to share in a very personal way her frustrations and her sadness.  It is compelling reading. "Diabesity:  The Obesity-Diabetes Epidemic That Threatens America--And What We Must Do to Stop It" will enlighten you about the realities of diabetes.  It is a book that just might change your life.   It was not a book that I was anxious to read but one that I felt was important to read.  

A 2007 study from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) shows that the prevalence of diabetes has risen  5% annually since 1990,  Today over 23 million Americans have some form of this disease.  The sad thing is that for many of us diabetes is preventable.  The information we need is out there but too few of us take the time to read it.  For far too many Americans diabetes is a self inflicted malady.   Let us all pledge to get the critical information we need about this insidious disease and begin to make healthier choices in our lives. 
Diabetes 1 Diabetes 2 The number of adults with diabetes has more than doubled in the past three decades! The number of adults with diabetes has more than doubled in the past three decades!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
October 13, 2009
Could not agree with you more. When I went to public school here in the States I would refuse to eat the cafeteria food, I always brought my own lunch (even though I was considered low income and could get a free one) because what they served was disgusting at best. I felt really bad watching other kids eat this garbage. Out of curiosity I recently researched what kids eat for lunch in Europe, they are like gourmet restaurant meals compared to what the US kids eat!

Anyone with diabetes reading this, you should definitely take a look at the Simply Raw video!
February 09, 2010
Thanks for the Simply Raw clip. It was very interesting. I will have to check it out.
February 14, 2010
You're welcome! It is quite eye opening :)
 
October 12, 2009
My mom has diabetes so I have been lucky enough to learn more than so many others about eating right and taking care of yourself. It makes me so sad when people don't try to watch out for themselves! Especially after the onset of diabetes- everyone knows about those people who continue to eat sweets excessively even though they need insulin to live. Why is it so hard to make the switch to healthier foods?? Personally I think it's because the artificial chemicals they put in food are totally addictive. Gross. Processed food (especially sugar, syrups, and flour) is a killer and I wish everyone (including me - ha!) could afford to shop exclusively at Whole Foods or other natural food stores. A lot of people will try to blame portions but I think its about QUALITY not quantity. I've seen overweight people say "oh, I'll only eat a hot pocket [ed note: EWW!] and some cookies for lunch, why can't I lose weight" Ok, maybe not that many calories/fat but LOADED with artificial ingredients! THAT's where the weight comes from. I read an article not too long ago that says cellulite forms from chemicals in food which makes sense when you wonder how really thin people can have it too. That pretty much proves that chemicals in food create a sort of non-human layer of fat in the body - rather than a few extra pounds put on over the holiday season that can be shed easily, its a layer of waste that won't go away. What happened to vegetables and protein??? It seems like some efforts are being made to keep kids healthier (better foods at school cafeterias, etc) but we need more more more! I'm ranting now, and barely making sensical progression with this comment, but you get the idea. Something really needs to be done to prevent this - i wish i had the ideas and power to do so!
 
October 12, 2009
One simply needs to go to Disney World to see how obesity has taken over America! I can't believe my eyes... truly! & here I thought I need to go on diet! It's a serious problem, obesity + diabetes in America. Your president needs to call for food rationing ;-) Personally, I think the portions are too big in the States. People hardly walk and they drive everywhere! What do they need so much food for? As for diabetes, I've an aunt in Toronto living it for decades. & it's no wonder the social welfare is almost broke too. My cousins are living the nightmare of tending to her days and nights, not to mention visits to the hospital every alternate days. Yes, our generation certainly has to be careful with all those sugar intakes!
 
1
More Diabetes reviews
Quick Tip by . September 18, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Diabetes has been shown to be curable through a raw diet. On the testimonials page of my website there is a video about five people who were cured of diabetes by going raw. My mother reversed her own diabetes years ago, shocking her doctors. Go to really raw raederle on blogspot to learn how to reverse your chronic illness through delicious food.
Quick Tip by . October 11, 2009
Diabetes...what a debilitating disease to live with. I remember a neighbor having his leg amputated...just awful. How to prevent it??
Quick Tip by . October 11, 2009
It wouldn't kill you right away, but you'll have to make huge lifestyle changes. I'm trying to avoid diabetes!
Quick Tip by . October 11, 2009
It's a prolong death sentence. Highly expensive & tough condition to be in. A former colleague has had his foot amputated due to this. Sad!
About the reviewer
Paul Tognetti ()
I guess I would qualify as a frustrated writer. My work requires very little writing and so since 1999 I have been writing reviews on non-fiction books and anthology CD's on amazon.com. I never could … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drifter51
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Diabetes is a condition in which the body either does not produce enough, or does not properly respond to, insulin, a hormone produced in the pancreas. Insulin enables cells to absorb glucose in order to turn it into energy. In diabetes, the body either fails to properly respond to its own insulin, does not make enough insulin, or both. This causes glucose to accumulate in the blood, often leading to various complications.

Many types of diabetes are recognized: The principal three are:

    * Type 1: Results from the body's failure to produce insulin. It is estimated that 5-10% of Americans who are diagnosed with diabetes have type 1 diabetes. Presently almost all persons with type 1 diabetes must take insulin injections.
    * Type 2: Results from Insulin resistance, a condition in which cells fail to use insulin properly, sometimes combined with relative insulin deficiency. Most Americans who are diagnosed with diabetes have type 2 diabetes. Many people destined to develop type 2 diabetes spend many years in a state of Pre-diabetes: Termed "America's largest healthcare epidemic," pre-diabetes indicates a condition that occurs when a person's blood glucose levels are higher than normal but not high enough for a diagnosis of type 2 diabetes. As of 2009 there are 57 million Americans who have pre-diabetes.
    * Gestational diabetes: Pregnant women who have never had diabetes before but who have high blood sugar ...
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Diabetes Corner is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists