Do It Yourself!
Do It Yourself!
Welcome to the land of How-To's and D.I.Y!

The Encyclopedia of Energy Medicine by Linnie Thomas

1 rating: 5.0
Energy Fields and Healing
1 review about The Encyclopedia of Energy Medicine by Linnie...

Energy Fields and Healing

  • Sep 13, 2011
Rating:
+5
The Encyclopedia of Energy Medicine by Linnie Thomas
is a considerable work on the various modalities which
involve the transfer of energy to provide relief to different
parts of the body. The Emotional Freedom Technique
utilizes the tapping of meridian endpoints to create positive
changes in the emotional and physical health of patients.
Ohashiatsu utilizes gentle finger pressure to provide a
therapeutic relief throughout the body.

The dynamics of Thought Field Therapy describe how
eye movement changes unblock trapped energy in the
nervous and circulatory system of patients. The therapy is
utilized to conquer stress, anxiety and fears of all kinds.

When TFT is applied to problems, the result is to
address fundamental causes, balance the body's
energy system and facilitate the elimination of
most negative emotions or fears quickly.
Thought Field Therapy Freedom Techniques often
work when all else fails.

The therapy has been used for weight loss, smoking
cessation, phobias, trauma relief and much more.
Thought Field Therapy, or TFT for short, uses a
tapping sequence in the form of a healing code
to balance the body's energy system .

Once rebalancing occurs, patients can eliminate
most negative emotions expeditiously, while promoting
the body's own natural healing ability. TFT meridian
tapping therapy is a highly effective, generally
non-invasive and an uncomplicated self-help
alternative to long-term, or drug-related
psychotherapy.

Cranio Sacral Therapy aims to achieve myofacial
release through manipulative bodywork to break up
stubborn pockets of chronic tension in the connective
body tissue. During the course of our lives, the body
becomes conditioned to stresses and traumas.
If stresses or traumas are overpowering, they become
locked in the body as sites of inertia until a
release is achieved. These sites of inertia effect
the natural rhythmical movements and hinder the
ability of our body to manifest correct cellular
level patterns or sequences.

Common causes of inertia are psychological stresses,
the trauma of birth and environmental toxins.
Due to an accumulation of these stresses, tissues
can become imprinted with the memory of unresolved
experiences until released through stimulation.

Esogetic Color Puncture utilizes color and esogetic
herb oil to activate dreams in order to release excess
energy and tension. Colorpuncture involves focusing
colored light on acupuncture (and other) points on the
skin in order to energize powerful healing impulses.
Light is absorbed by the skin and transmitted along
energy pathways or meridians deep in the body.
The light stimulates intra-cellular communication
which supports healing.

The Resonance Repattern Institute uses breath
repatterning to achieve the release of unconscious
patterns stored in early childhood experiences.
The repatterning is aimed at identifying and
satisfying needs not satisfied as far back as
pre-birth states in the womb. When your frequencies
vibrate in sync (known as coherence), you will
experience health. When your frequencies vibrate
out of sync (known as non-coherence), you will resonate
with and experience disease and pain. And so, the
quality of your life depends on whether or not
frequencies are in sync or out of sync.

Resonance Repatterning is a system that allows
you to identify and change your resonance from
out-of-sync frequency patterns that cause
stresses to in-sync frequency patterns which
promote living life more fully.

Overall, the volume provides quality information
on a plethora of alternative medicine modalities
which can provide chronic pain relief cheaply.

Credits- First Published on Blogcritics
Energy Fields and Healing

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
September 14, 2011
Thank you for the kind remarks. Dr. Gary Null can be accessed at the following website. His protocols have helped many
people with chronic diseases, as well as  conditions which have eluded modern medicine.

http://www.garynull.com/
 
September 14, 2011
I think we can agree on this, Joe. Regardless of which direction a person wants to take to look into health needs, it's always a good idea to do some thoughtful reading and research, keep an open mind, and practice a bit of critical inquiry. There are indeed health and medical matters that can respond to more than scalpels, pills and powders. Simple laughter and a positive attitude can work wonders. As far as Gary Nutt is concerned, I'd never heard of him before you mentioned his name. I looked him up on Wikipedia and Google. Anyone interested might want to do the same.

I want to add, Joe, that while discussion is noted as an important part of Lunch's mission, I seldom see much of it, as in a civil and friendly exchange of viewpoints and ideas. Our discussion here has been, for me, a pleasure.
 
September 14, 2011
Modern Medicine cannot cure everything. When we get older, many ailments can be managed with treatment but there are no cures. The question then becomes " What modality is best for managing my illness or condition?" I suspect that this will be different for each individual. I believe in doing medical research, talking with people through the prism of user groups and having more than one doctor so that a consensus opinion can be formulated over time. Dr. Gary Null is an alternative medicine/complementary practitioner. He knows quite a lot about nutrition. His seminars are always filled to capacity. I've read some of his writings and they make sense in terms of my own knowledge and personal experience. The Journal of the Lancet is a wonderful resource for researching complex medical issues. Good luck to everyone out there who seeks to feel better and will work tirelessly toward that end.
 
September 13, 2011
My own research on agoraphobia, in order to prove or disprove my theories on curative energy therapy (CET), was also of interest. I took two patients who had been certified as agoraphobics by a panel of impartial physicians and psychiatrists to the top of a high cliff. One I pushed over; the other I brought back. The study proved conclusively that the person I pushed over the cliff was, upon landing, immediately cured of his phobia, as well as his lung cancer and migraine headaches. The person I walked back with from the cliff showed no signs of alleviation of his agoraphobic condition, or any secondary curative impact on his various other medical issues. However, he showed renewed energy and focus by running away at high speed from me. I'm now working to reduce the irritating screams coming from my cliff drop energy therapy (CDET) patients. : - )
 
September 13, 2011
Take a look at this clinical trial study of TFT. The results seem to support the efficacy of the therapy. Source: Clinicaltrials.gov- Study # NCT00932919


Detailed Description: Thought field therapy is an alternative treatment method that has shown, by casuistic reports, to give good results when applied for anxiety disorders. In this study 72 patients will be randomized to three groups. 24 patients will receive cognitive therapy as a control method, 24 patients will receive thought field therapy. The remaining 24 patients will wait three months, and then be randomized to either of the two therapies. Before inclusion all patients will be diagnosed with M.I.N.I. and SCID II. They will fill out self evaluation forms for symptoms and quality of life, before and after treatment, and one year after treatment.

All patients will undergo an interview with ADIS on panic and agoraphobic diagnosis and symptoms before starting treatment, and on panic and agoraphobic symptoms immediately after and one year after treatment. These interviews will be done by psychologists who are blinded for which type of treatment the patients have got. Eligibility Ages Eligible for Study: 18 Years and older Genders Eligible for Study: Both Accepts Healthy Volunteers:


No Criteria Inclusion Criteria: * Patients ages 18 years or older, * Patients with agoraphobia, * Patients with a score on Mobility Inventory "Alone" of 2.5 or more, * Patients who give a written consent to participate. Exclusion Criteria: * Psychosis (past or present), * Drug abuse or dependency, * Moderate or high score on suicidal behaviour on the M.I.N.I., * Patients who have another illness (other than panic disorder or agoraphobia) and are in need of immediate treatment.

Contacts and Locations Please refer to this study by its ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT00932919

Locations Norway Sorlandet Hospital Arendal, Norway, 4809 Sponsors and Collaborators Sorlandet Hospital HF Investigators Principal Investigator: Audun C Irgens, MD Sorlandet Hospital HF, Norway More Information No publications provided Responsible Party: Svein Gunnar Gundersen, Sorlandet sykehus HF ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier:

NCT00932919 History of Changes Other Study ID Numbers: SSHF-70343-AUIR-2 Study First Received: July 3, 2009 Last Updated: July 27, 2011 Health Authority: Norway: The National Committees for Research Ethics in Norway Keywords provided by Sorlandet Hospital HF: Agoraphobia Cognitive therapy Thought field therapy Psychotherapy research

Additional relevant MeSH terms: Agoraphobia Anxiety Disorders Mental Disorders ClinicalTrials.gov processed this record on September 11, 2011
 
September 13, 2011
I would be both skeptical and cautious before writing a check for either the book or a treatment. This is not a criticism of JSMaresca or his well-organized review.

-------Quoting from Wikipedia, that impeccable source of information and which lists sources in the footnotes, “Thought Field Therapy, or TFT, (just one of the therapies described) is a fringe psychological treatment developed by an American psychologist, Roger Callahan. Its proponents say that it can heal a variety of mental and physical ailments through specialized "tapping" with the fingers at meridian points on the upper body and hands. There is no psychological evidence that TFT is effective, and the American Psychological Association has stated that it "lacks a scientific basis."

-------The article goes on. “Callahan states that the process can relieve a wide variety of psychological issues, including posttraumatic stress disorder, depression, anxiety, addiction and phobia. A typical treatment session lasts up to fifteen minutes, and is not repeated. Callahan has also stated that TFT can treat or prevent physical problems, including atrial fibrillation. In 1985 in his first book on TFT, he wrote that specific phobias could be cured in as little as five minutes.

-------“Callahan also asserts that his most advanced level, Voice Technology (VT) can be performed over the phone using an undisclosed "technology". Training for the advanced VT is provided by Callahan. The fee listed on Callahan's website for this training is $100,000.”

-------Far be it from me to even hint that this sort of thing cannot be helpful (except perhaps as a placebo) other than in lightening your wallet. Based on the Wikipedia article as well as more research I would undertake, I would never turn a child of mine over to such a “psychologist.”  And if a person has “atrial fibrillation” (abnormal heart beats, which I have), I’d walk as fast as I could from him, unless the prospects of a stroke somehow seemed intriguing.

-------As far as the author of this book goes, you might check out IAFEH (International Association for Energy Healers). Linnie Thomas is the founder. She says she is a “certified healing touch” practitioner, but neglects to say who did the certifying. Thomas believes that there is a need for the “modalities of energy healing” to work together.

-------I believe, in the words of P. T. Barnum, that there’s one born every minute.
September 13, 2011
Acupuncture and acupressure are older treatments that are paid for by some insurers. The body itself is an energy source. Currently, the National Institutes of Health-Complementary Medicine section is investigating modalities; such as, acupuncture and others. Alternative Medicine by Burton Goldberg lists energy based therapies and has references to the professional literature. My own experience with acupuncture and Cranio Sacral therapy was good. These therapies unlock acute stiffness in limbs better than any medication. Also, physical therapists have a good pulse on how to deal with arthritic rigidities in the musculo-skeletal structure. Look to the Journal of the Lancet for more authoritative references.
September 13, 2011
I'm not suggesting, or even stating, that acupuncture is a fraud. It not only has a history, it has a history that has stood up to some scientific examination (regarding nausea and some kinds of pain) conducted by impartial examiners. What I'm not just suggesting is that the types of cheerleading Ms. Thomas seems to be doing based only on belief and enthusiasm, and the types of "modality" therapy she advocates, is without credible scientific evidence. I find it's always useful to go to the websites of these kind of practitioners and find out their credentials, if any, and what they're selling. We may have to agree to disagree on this one. :-)
September 15, 2011
I have enjoyed the comments listed here. I would like to say that energy medicine therapies are not intended to be used as a cure. Rather they are complimentary to other forms of healing, be it surgery or any other means. Several studies done by Healing Touch Program have shown how energy medicine techniques speeded up recovery from surgeries with fewer complications and less need for pain medications. I do get annoyed with energy medicine therapies that promise a cure. It sometimes happens, but is not a regular event. Linnie Thomas
September 15, 2011
Healing Touch Program is endorsed by the American Holistic Nurses Association (AHNA) and the Canadian Holistic Nurses Association (CHNA). Healing Touch Program is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's COA. and by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) Category A. Provider Number 150780-00 Certification in Healing Touch takes about 3 years beginning with the Level 1 class. The certifying board is a separate entity from Healing Touch Program. The board follows standard nursing practices in regards to certification requirements. The rules are rigid and once all the classes of been completed it takes a minimum of one year with a ceritifed mentor before a student may apply for certification. Instructors are required to have taken college level anatomy and physiology, for example. We are doing our best to bring energy medicine up to the expected level of western medicine practices. Currently we are going for national accreditation and jumping through all the hoops that requires. We have sponsored numerous clinical studies some conclusive and some not. because there are so many variants in energy healing it is difficult to pin down one specific result from studies using an energy medicine therepy.
September 16, 2011
I am grateful for the comments provided by Linnie Thomas- author of The Encyclopedia of Energy Medicine. Most ailments of older age can be managed as opposed to cured. In addition, the FDA is very careful to limit the use of the word cure to describe modalities of varying effectiveness ranging from highly effective to limited effectiveness .
 
September 13, 2011
Wow, what an interesting treatment. Would this be considered color light therapy?
September 13, 2011
Color light therapy should be discussed with an acupuncturist.
 
1
What's your opinion on The Encyclopedia of Energy Medicine by L...?
rate
1 rating: +5.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
The Encyclopedia of Energy Medicine by Linnie Thomas
Details
Related Topics
The Making of a Story

A Comprehensive Guide to Writing Fiction and Nonfiction by A

Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: A Self-Publisher's Companion

A guide to publishing

Metasploit

The Penetration Tester's Guide

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Do It Yourself! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists