Do It Yourself!
Do It Yourself!
Welcome to the land of How-To's and D.I.Y!
Friendship

The state of being a friend; association as friends: to value a person's friendship

< read all 8 reviews

A Friend in Need is a Friend Indeed?

  • Oct 6, 2011
Rating:
+5
Friendship. I don’t think I would be able to properly describe the values of friendship, but hey, let’s see what I can do….woopak gets emo-corny LOL!!

Hmmm…I have to say I have a good number of friends. But only a small number I can call ‘TRUE FRIENDS’. There is really not much different from one friend or the other true friend, both are fun to be with, and I would be lying if I said that the period of how long you’ve known each other really does matter. I mean, I’ve known some friends for 10 years and while others I’ve known for only 6 years. Yet, most of my true friends always fall either on the 18 year or 6-8 year period.

I mean a true friend is someone who accepts you for what you are, accepts your flaws and mistakes, and would support your decisions. He or she is not afraid to tell you things you need to hear rather than only things you want to hear. There are friends you can count on and call upon when you need help, there are friends you’d rather have fun with since you have a lot in common, there are friends you look up to for advise because you hold them in high regard and there are friends who give you tough ‘love‘ and is always looking out for you.

Image Detail

A true friend is always ready to forgive, they ask nothing in return for favors, and is always there to support. A true friend would always consider how would you feel, and always hold your feelings into consideration. They never force you to believe what they believe but would be open to advise when you ask. They also only advise when they ask, and remember, Honesty is a virtue.

Friends….well, they are the ones who hang around for fun. They are the ones you are maybe fond of more, and usually, regrettably we often disregard, neglect our true friends for many reasons. Yet, they are always there when you need them; some may say they are gullible, but their hearts are indeed into who they are and what they feel they should do. They also never get jealous, and they are always happy for the good things that happen to you. They celebrate for your fortunes and are saddened by your misfortunes, that they do everything they can to make things easier.

Hug a ‘true friend’ today. Among my online friends, I have a few I call ‘true friends’ and I have no best friend, but I do have great friends. It is an uncommon bond. Never neglect a ‘real’ friend, because one day they may just wake up and it’ll be too late for you….

Image Detail
 
A Friend in Need is a Friend Indeed?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
24
Well-Organized
24
Post a Comment
October 12, 2011
Hagoob, hagoob. LOL! And some friends are just weird. Eye gouge!
October 12, 2011
I would like to add that some just like gouging my eyes LOL! while some are pests....but I like the abuse
October 12, 2011
bhud-ud-ud-ah! chud-ud-ud-ah! ("The Punisher" 70's machine gun comics sound effect)
October 13, 2011
LMAO!
 
October 12, 2011
Absolutely "emo-corny" and confused, LOL... Your true friends must be real saints ;-) Why do you separate them into true and "not" true? ;p
October 12, 2011
I would be the first to say that this is corny....but it is my way to make fun of myself. I separate friends into 'friends' and true friends....I have no untrue friends....they've been eliminated.
 
October 10, 2011
"Emo-corny" -- nice play on words ;) Once again, great post, Woo! I'm going to hang out with a bunch of old friends from high school later tonight, so I couldn't think of a better day to read this. Thank you for sharing :)
October 12, 2011
Thanks! You know I am the first one to say that this is emo-corny. LOL!
 
October 10, 2011
"woopak gets emo-corny", never that Sir when you are speaking on something so real. This is an excellent read WP. Excellent write up.
October 12, 2011
Thanks, Alex, be a friend today.
 
October 06, 2011
Everyone needs friends !
October 12, 2011
yup yup
 
October 06, 2011
I think you pretty much nailed it here, Woo! I have been taught a great many lessons in friendship this year and this review reminds me of how a real friend is supposed to treat you. Thanks for the reminder :)
October 06, 2011
Thanks, Sam, one of my oldest friends is so different from me (he likes basketball and I like martial arts, he likes socializing while I like to keep to myself, we both like movies but he doesn't like anime) but when push came to shove, we always have each other's back. Hug a friend today :)
October 06, 2011
I had to cut off ties with two friends, one was my best friend of 18 years, this year and it has been really hard. But, it taught me that she never really was a real friend to me and it opened the door to some amazing new friends that have enriched my life incredibly. Everything happens for a reason :)
October 07, 2011
This is something I think about quite a bit. Because of my physical limitations, I've always had a hard time making friends. Most people just look at me funny and assume there's something wrong with me, especially since I am not exactly the most outgoing person in the world. I had a really good friend I met in highschool, and we stayed friends (best friends for a long time) for over ten years. But then I got engaged and moved away. It wasn't long before I moved back home, but she and I lost contact. We did reconnect eventually, but by then we had moved on to other things. She got married and had a kid, and I...well, I became a gamer and anime addict. After I moved here to Indiana with my Mom, my friend and I talked occasionally on the phone, and then one day I called her and got a message saying that her cell had been disconnected. So, about two months ago I got a call from her for the first time in like...3 or 4 years, and I realized that we have nothing to talk about. It bothers me because we used to yammer on for hours about nothing, and now I find myself beiing one of those people that pretends to be interested in how adorable someone else's kids are. The ironic thing? The guy I moved in with several years ago and then separated from is now the one I know I can count on for just about anything. (Well, moral support at least since he lives out in Cali.)
October 07, 2011
The tricky thing with friendship is that time often either strengthens it or weakens it. There comes a time in life when we have to figure out which friend was strengthened by it and which was weakened. Then, the hardest thing to do (for me, so far) is to break away from those that it weakened because you really shouldn't have to pretend for a friend. It's not a bad thing, it just happens. I'm glad that you have moral support though- everyone needs friends (even if they live here in Cali)!
October 07, 2011
wow. that must've been pretty tough, Steph. Never ever let yourself feel that way; I mean people who'd look at anyone funny is not worth it. I am not that outgoing myself, and I also agree with Sam; time does strenghten or weaken a friendship. It is always nice to reconnect.
November 25, 2013
That's true. The passage of time does strengthen friendships because people have a chance to reflect.
 
1
More Friendship reviews
review by . December 17, 2009
posted in Inspirations
Diamonds are forever, Friends are for Keeps!
They say you can tell a person by the kind of friends he/she keeps. I say you can tell how successful your life is by the friends you made!      It is Christmas time and before I embarked on my new year resolution (which I intend to make as I haven't done so for ages, possibly even decades as I never did believe in making them and keeping them but I've come to a stage in life I need to simply to keep myself busy & centered!!!), it is time to count my blessings in …
review by . July 11, 2009
Who Needs Friends?
   There are people all through our lives who come along & inspire us in one way or another. Sometimes they are only in our lives for a brief period of time & often we find their visit is much like a vapor. Thye are here to day & gone tomorrow. If we are indeed fortunate, we may all find that one special friend whom we're stuck with for life. I don't know that I completely understand this mysterious yet hopefully joyful relationship process …
Quick Tip by . May 23, 2011
posted in Inspirations
Caption
Friends Never owe. You do it because you are happy to. There are different types of friendship and in my experience, the best ones are those tested under fire and stress.      There are friends that are fun in parties, friends who are there for laughs and vacations, friends who offer a helping hand and friends who would always support any decision you make. There are also friends at work, but it takes more for that friendship to become true friendship. (begins when …
review by . June 23, 2009
Friendship 1
I don't know about you but over the years I have found that it is getting increasingly difficult to maintain friendships.  We are all so darn busy!   There are so many obligations and distractions in our daily lives that sometimes we can forget those who are dearest to us.   I have decided that this is simply unacceptable.  From now on I am going to make my friends a bigger priority in my life.  This isn't rocket science.  I will take the time …
Quick Tip by . May 23, 2011
posted in Inspirations
"Your friends will know you better in the first minute you meet than your acquaintances will know you in a thousand years." ~ Richard Bach ~     
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
posted in Inspirations
Friends are extended family. They can hurt, love, or support you. All types of friendships are important from close ones to acquaintances.
Quick Tip by . October 06, 2009
I couldn't be without my friends. Love these great Lunch reviews on friendship!
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #2
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Friendship is the cooperative and supportive relationship between people. In this sense, the term connotes a relationship which involves mutual knowledge, esteem, affection, and respect along with a degree of rendering service to friends in times of need or crisis. Friends will welcome each other's company and exhibit loyalty towards each other, often to the point of altruism. Their tastes will usually be similar and may converge, and they will share enjoyable activities. They will also engage in mutually helping behavior, such as the exchange of advice and the sharing of hardship. A friend is someone who may often demonstrate reciprocating and reflective behaviors. Yet for some, the practical execution of friendship is little more than the trust that someone will not harm them.

How to Nurture a Friendship


A friend is someone who cherishes the special moments and memories of
life with another person. A friend is a trustworthy companion.

Friendship is a relationship which takes time to build. There are many
steps and stages to achieving a true friendship. However, one can think
building a friendship is like planting a garden.

For many people, planting a garden represents, devotion and
leisure. It takes patience to grow a garden, frustrations and
hardships are also involved in the process. Firstly the seed is
planted. The seed builds the foundation of a strong and stable
plant. It has to be taken care of and watered daily. Then the
shoots start sprouting, the ...
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Do It Yourself! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists