Do It Yourself!
Do It Yourself!
Welcome to the land of How-To's and D.I.Y!
Synchronicity-The Art of Coincidence, Choice and Unlocking Your Mind by Dr. Kirby Surprise

Which fork in the road do I take and will it matter?

< read all 1 reviews

Which fork in the road do I take and will it matter ?

  • Feb 21, 2012
  • by
Rating:
+5

Synchronicity:The Art Of Coincidence, Choice, And Unlocking Your Mind by Dr. Kirby Surprise is an adventure into the world of Synchronicity in which inner worlds and outer ones converge like a mirror image. The mirror is into the unconscious state.

A Synchronicity Event, or SE, is about experiencing your own life more fully within a predefined and familiar context. The universe of the experiential domain is specific to the brain's memory and perception of events based on patterns of matches. Truth itself does not change; however, your understanding of what constitutes truth may change or evolve over time.

An SE is also a reflection of the mechanism by which a person internalizes how things should work, as opposed to the reality of things working in actuality. This dilemma in the understanding of SE can interfere with how a person interprets legal or ethical codes.

Dr. Surprise also explains how bilingual people can visualize things differently depending upon their language of reference. This makes sense because language translation isn't always an exact science. There are idioms and cultural terms specific to a given language or experiential domain and not easily transferable with a uniform understanding in foreign languages/contexts.

Dr. Surprise explains how people can act within the time frame of the here and now. Yet, the very same people can interpret the current reality outside the limits of the present time and space.

Despite these differences, people have free will which guides them in making choices. Without free will, humans could not be judged by their actions and there would be no commandments or accountability as to consequences of actions.

Free will drives choices and paths. Sometimes the choices are random, as with the popular analogy of a fork in the road. Other choices are driven by a complex set of incentives, disincentives, and social mores.

Next logically is the area of learning. The art of learning is not repetition but a change in behavior directed to a more optimal set of possibilities. A more positive future is dependent upon a change in behavior in anticipation of a higher state of being or contentment.

Synchronicity: The Art Of Coincidence, Choice, And Unlocking Your Mind is a thoughtful book which is aimed at explaining the dynamics of the present and thought processes associated with reaching higher states of being or contentment. The presentation is easy to read and comprehend.

Credits: First Published on Blogcritics
Which fork in the road do I take and will it matter ?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
February 22, 2012
I don't know how you find these, but keep doing what you are doing!
February 23, 2012
This one happened to be a publisher request for a review.
Most book requests are turned down due to time limitations.


Next, I review what the publisher has advertised about the book. If I think that the book will not fit my interests ,
I'll decline. In addition, I try to glean how my review might come out.

If I don't think that the book will rate highly based on cursory research.  I'll decline.  Most, if not all,  of my book reviews get good ratings due to the considerable amount of screening I have to do.

Other book reviews come from books I see in the library,
books I own now or books that associates ask me to read.
I can spend anywhere from 3 hours or more a week reading
these books depending upon the volume. That's why I
try to keep the volume lower.
 
February 21, 2012
This sounds incredibly interesting. I wonder what the book would say about multi-linguists? It is true that you can never fully translate from one language to another, many meanings are often lost in translation. Who wouldn't want to reach a higher state of mind? I might have to check this one out!
February 21, 2012
Multi-linguists might have a problem. Sometimes, I ask people with a bilingual capability the following question. What language do you dream in? The answer to this question is usually the language of birth or the language spoken in the household.


I studied Spanish for 4 years in high school. At the peak of my skills in Spanish, I could say honestly that I had more fluency in the English language. I'm probably better at reading Spanish than speaking it. The act of reading provides time to think; whereas, speaking a language is more spontaneous. In addition, the act of speaking a language frequently on the streets provides a considerable background of fluency- even though it's still a colloquial version of the language.


School provides the formal academic structure for a language. I'm sure that the Spanish spoken in Universidad de La Havana Cuba or La Academia de Espanol is a lot different from the colloquial language spoken on the streets. That formality adds to the capability you have in speaking the language from an early age. The combination of "the streets" and formal schooling in the language really cements your command of the speaking aspect of language better than any textbook can ever accomplish.
February 21, 2012
This difference is typically why you are not considered fluent in a language until you have lived in the country for at least 2 years. I speak Spanish, Italian, French, German, and English. My home language is California English, so that's what I speak most comfortably. When I was in Puerto Rico a month ago, I could fully understand what they were saying most of the time; however, they use different words for things so at times, I was caught up. It was difficult because each time I've gone to Mexico or Peru, I was able to communicate with the locals, often being mistaken for a local- which is, of course, the best compliment. So, that's why I was curious!
February 21, 2012
I agree. When I took Spanish, we made visits to cultural sites in New York City like La Fonda del Sol where we could hear Spanish and see the dinner menus written in Spanish. It is critical to be fully immersed in a language so that you learn it properly. In addition, we were taught with language labs where we had to put on headphones to hear the language spoken and repeat it. In addition, in senior year, we read the newspaper El Diario frequently- particularly the sports page.
February 21, 2012
That means you had an excellent Spanish teacher! I love the ones that force you out of the classroom in order to fully learn something, especially with languages.
February 22, 2012
I did have excellent teachers for the lectures and the foreign language labs. You are correct about getting into the community to apply a foreign language in a real life setting.
 
1
About the reviewer
Dr Joseph S Maresca ()
Ranked #3
Dr. Joseph S. Maresca CPA, CISA      21 Amazon / KDP Books including:   SEARCH- America's Comparative Advantage by Dr Joseph S Maresca   SEARCH- The Solar Energy … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
JSMaresca
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Do It Yourself! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists