Dining Out
Restaurant Talk
Pizza Delivery

An international pizza chain.

< read all 11 reviews

A new kind of mediocre

  • Jan 31, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+2
Dominos for a long time had been a long time runner with Pizza Hut for nationwide pizza delivery restaurant francise.  Pizza Hut was gourmet and pricy and Dominos was cheap and, cheap.  With more chains showing up, Dominoes kept up by offering new menu items like chicken wings and breadsticks but it's pizza suffered.

Dominos listened and ran a major ad campaign for a NEW pizza that has more tomatoes in it's sauce and more herbs and seasonings in the crust.  The pizza is...better but it's still in poor company compared to Papa Johns or Pizza Hut.  The meat is richer and thicker and the crust is indeed tastier but something about the pizza is still amiss.

It could be worse though.  It could have gotten a lot worse and it's at least an alternative to our old favorites.  Now, if they could bring back the old style Deep Dish from the mid 90's.
A new kind of mediocre

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
February 01, 2010
Awesome review, John!  Never really was a fan of Domino's, but you're still making me crave pizza.  Do I smell a pizza list a'brewin' from Lunch's resident pizza expert? ;P
February 01, 2010
Thank you. Pizza List? You bet. I'll get to that sooner or later.
February 02, 2010
Awesome! :D
 
January 31, 2010
Round Tables Pizza is my all time favorite. I haven't been a fan of Domino's since I graduated from college and could actually afford better pizzas. I can't stand Pizza Hut either, though! I tried Papa John's once, and I was pretty impressed. I always have trouble finding those places. Lately, I have been eating pizza from "Smugs," a local joint. It's really good pizza!
February 01, 2010
I love Round Table. I only wish that we had them around here since the lat time I had them was in the 90's! Smugs sounds good. I have Nick N' Willy's which is a small nationwide chain but it's really good.
February 02, 2010
Yeah, I'm getting inspired to write 2 pizza reviews, one on Smugs and one on Round Tables. I am a HUGE fan of pizza, it is my favorite food next to Cheese Enchiladas. If I don't like a chain's pizza, then something is wrong with it...because I LOVE pizza! :)
 
1
More Domino's Pizza reviews
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Great for the late night munchies, love how they're open until like 4am!
Quick Tip by . January 31, 2010
Decent fast food Pizza francise. Just changed their pizza format for the better, but thats not saying much.
review by . February 08, 2009
posted in Pizza Therapy
I like Domino's Pizza more than other chains here, due to the quality of its pizza.  I particularly like the thin crust, not so starchy - but for those who prefer something more filling you will like the pan pizza better.      Domino's Pizza is less oily, feels healthier after eating.      However, I was quite disappointed with the recent order.  It was Christmas Eve, and I ordered 2 pizzas -- which ended 50 minutes late.      …
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #3
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this corporation

Wiki

Domino's Pizza, Inc. (NYSE: DPZ) is an international fast food pizza delivery corporation headquartered just outside Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States. It was founded by Tom Monaghan. There are currently about 8,500 corporate and franchised stores in all 50 states and 55 countries. It was the second-largest pizza chain behind Pizza Hut in the United States when it went public in 2004 for just under $15 a share.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Dining Out is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists