Dining Out
Restaurant Talk
Arby's

Fast food restaurant chain in the United States and Canada that is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Triarc

< read all 12 reviews

I know 'The Simpsons' constantly makes fun of them, but I'm hooked.

  • Dec 16, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
I really, really love Arby's. And I can't explain why, because most of their food really isn't that great. Plus, The Simpsons routinely makes fun of them, so technically as a devoted fan, I should abide by their judgment and avoid eating here.

But there is something about them that brings me back every time. When I go back, however, there are really a few items that I order.
  • Beef n' Cheddar Sandwich: This monstrous roast beef sandwich features melted cheese and an onion bun. I usually add in ketchup and some Horsey Sauce, which is basically horseradish but with a lot more mayo. (417 calories)
  • Curly fries: Arby's is famous for their curly fries which are, in my opinion, much better than those at Jack in the Box. These curly fries are better fries, better seasoned, and some are so tightly wound that you struggle to break 'em down with your molars. Now that's a good fry, my friends. (496 calories, medium)
While I like most of their food, I could personally do without their "Arby's sauce" (something close to BBQ sauce) because it just doesn't have the consistency that I like.

And in case you're wondering what The Simpsons has said about them, here are a couple of famous lines:
  • Kirk and Luann Van Houten get a divorce, and Kirk moves to a singles-only apartment community. His neighbors approach him about how to handle a dead opossum in the pool, to which Kirk responds, "Just throw it over the fence! Let Arby's handle it."
  • The schoolkids, including Bart and Lisa, become stranded on an island where they quickly grow hungry. Sherry or Terry says, "I'm so hungry, I could eat at Arby's!," to which the kids gasp in horror and one can be heard saying "Not Arby's!"
Despite all they take in the media, give your local Arby's a chance. Even if you're not into roast beef sandwiches, try one of their market fresh ones (deli-style) or a sandwich wrap. They're much healthier and are completely different in nature than their traditional roast beef sandwiches. Or, just go for the curly fries if you've never tried 'em.One way or another, I guarantee you'll leave with a better impression than you had when walking in.  

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Arby's reviews
review by . April 16, 2010
   Arby's is mostly known for their tender and juicy roast beef, and rightly so.       They also offer a variety of other choices, mostly things that one would consider "healthy" or "fresh".       DO NOT waste your time with those.       I will teach you how to have the best experience possible.       Step by Step Guide:      1.You walk into Arby's. Take a moment …
Quick Tip by . October 30, 2010
posted in Dining Out
Arby's is one of my biggest weaknesses, especially when they have those 3 for $5 coupons. I eat for the whole day on $6 (I have to get a value menu curly fry too). Although this is probably horrible stuff I'm putting into my body, my comfort food gene is satisfied.
Quick Tip by . October 20, 2010
posted in Dining Out
Great roast beef and chicken products. A little pricy though sometimes but they do have an all new value menu.
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Great chicken and roast beef lie within this fast food franchise. Beef N' Cheddar and the Chicken Bacon N' Swiss are awesome unto themselves.
Quick Tip by . May 12, 2010
Delicous chicken and juicy roast beef make Arby's a cut above most fastfood. Beef N' Cheddar's rule as do the Chicken Bacon N' Swiss.
review by . August 04, 2009
posted in Awesomeness
Hot beefy goodness
I've only seen one other roast beef chain and it was in Indiana and I dont' even know if it exists anymore.  Theres a reason why there aren't any other roast beef francises out there, it's because Arby's is just that good.      Roast Beef sandwiches with cheese, bacon, lettuce and more but it's not just roast beef, it's chicken too.  Chicken that puts plenty of other fast food chicken to shame with it's chicken sandwiches and chicken …
review by . April 20, 2009
I'm a vegetarian, so a beef-themed restaurant might seem a bad fit.  Au contraire!  Curly fries and Jamocha shakes make this one of the few drive-thru standbys I can get excited about.  
review by . February 28, 2009
Arby's has been around for awhile and I do recall getting their roast beef sandwiches from time to time while living in California.  But ever since moving to Texas and going on business trips back east, I eat Arby's with regularity.    Personally, I prefer their French Dip & Swiss sandwich.  Some of my friends claim the new baguette isn't all that good, but I disagree.  I think it's pretty tasty. And their roast beef is very tasty!    I …
review by . March 10, 2009
Wasn't it Homer Simpson who said, "I'm so hungry, I'd even eat Arby's?"  I should be ashamed to admit my love for Arby's. ┬áIs there of anything of ANY nutritional value on their menu, save for their Martha's Vineyard Salad? No, there isn't. Now, my next queston: is there anything really, really tasty on the menu? Why, yes there is!  Take your pick. The beef n' cheddar, the french dip, the mozzarella sticks, the arby-q..and the world famous curly fries. You cant go wrong. Your …
review by . December 16, 2008
Usually when I go to Arby's the only thing I ever got was a roast beef sandwich.  I got tried of those pretty quickly and decided it was time for a change.  So I ordered the chicken salad sandwich one day.  It was the best sandwich I'd eate in a while.  It was just the right amount of ingredients and loved how it had grapes and nuts it in.  It's now my fovorite sandwich there.
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

It is primarily known for selling roast beef sandwiches, chicken sandwiches, potato cakes, curly fries, and chicken strips. The company's target market attempts to be more adult-oriented than other fast food restaurants. The Arby's menu also includes appetizers, salads, Market Fresh (deli-style) sandwiches, wraps, and submarine sandwiches.

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Dining Out is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists