Dining Out
Restaurant Talk
Chipotle

A chain of Mexican-style restaurants

< read all 17 reviews

McDonalds No Longer Has A Stake In Chipotle

  • Dec 14, 2008
Rating:
+4
Didn't anyone get the memo?  McDonalds hasn't had anything to do with Chipotle in years!  Just wanted to get that out of the way.

When I first visited Chipotle, for some reason, I expected actual Mexican food, like something I would get at my local mom and pop taqueria.  Instead, I was disappointed to find that my veggie burrito tasted more like an American deli wrap than a Mexican burrito. 

There was something odd about Chipotle.  They have Mexican ingredients and concepts of putting together food, yet their food doesn't taste Mexican at all.  Nothing they serve there is ever piping hot; it's always room temperature or kind of cold, unlike other Mexican places I've been to.  Over the years, however, I've come to accept Chipotle as some sort of quasi Ameri-Mexican food, and now I love it.

One of my favorite things about Chipotle is how simple their menu is.  It's almost like In 'n Out's.  There's a choice of vegetarian, steak, chicken, and carne asada.  Once that's chosen, they can be made into a burrito, set of soft or hard-shelled tacos, a bowl, or a salad.  I'm a big fan of their vegetarian bowls and soft tacos.  I always get them with rice, black beans, mild salsa, corn salsa, sour cream, cheese, lettace, and guacamole.  I never forget the guacamole.  It's chunky and delicious.  On vegetarian orders, it's always included, however, for meat orders, there's a $1.65 charge for guacamole.  I say that it's worth it considering how generous the dallops of it are.  They also serve cheap beer, and even cheaper cocktails; margarita - $3.75.  You really can't beat that.

All Chipotles that I've been to have always had great customer service and have been great atmospheres to dine in.  They're a little expensive for fast food, but you get what you pay for.  You can also order through fax or online. 

I just have one complaint about their website - I actually wanted to make an online Chipotle account a while back so that I could order food online, but when it came time to make up a password, Chipotle had more requirements and rules about it than my bank does.  No way am I going to remember that password.   Lighten up, Chipotle, it's just food!
Chipotle

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
November 25, 2009
McDonald's may not hold stake in Chipotle, but their influence is far from gone. That middle-America, good-but-not-great taste you get is a telltale sign.
 
May 08, 2009
Me too! I went in expecting Mexican food... only I was pleasantly surprised! It was SOOOOO much better!! No soggy beans and weird orange "spanish" rice! I'm addicted!
 
1
More Chipotle reviews
review by . February 24, 2010
Looking for a quick and tasty lunch when you must eat gluten-free can be challenging at best. And if you’ve got small children, you know can't let them go hungry for too long or you’re really asking for it! The Mexican food chain Chipotle recently opened in a shopping mall in my area, so I decided to give it a try. I started with my usual questions about tortillas and fryers and cross-contamination and marinades (sigh!), when to my surprise, the worker handed me an allergen card …
Quick Tip by . October 30, 2010
posted in Dining Out
Read their menu. Their vegetables are mostly organic and pesticide free. Their livestock are raised free grazing, without hormones. The price to eat a wholesome meal here is about the same as the garbage of the burger chains. I would say this is a subway of mexican styled foods. Just don't get the burrito wrap, that's where all the calories are. I get a bowl.
Quick Tip by . November 26, 2010
posted in Dining Out
I like Chipotle but think it is a little too Americanized. As long as you don't expect authentic Mexican, you will probably enjoy it.
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
This is my absolute favorite Mexican "fast-food" type place. It's addicting. Burrito bols are the best as there's not the extra calories of the burrito and it's easier to eat!
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
Usually a good fast meal that I can eat out.
Quick Tip by . February 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Yum, the burrito bowl can really hit the spot. I'm also a fan of their salty chips and guac!
Quick Tip by . November 24, 2009
I like this restaurant because it has a tasty burritos and its flavor is unique
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2009
Chipotle is kind of pricey for fast food, but their soft veggie tacos, guac, and $3.75 margaritas FTW! :)
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2009
Can't eat it too frequently, but I definitely love it when I do!
Quick Tip by . September 21, 2009
The BEST fast-food burrito place. Esp. if you like even ratio of fillings, veg and salsa choices,avocado no matter what, and quality ingred.
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #8
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Chipotle Mexican Grill is a chain of fast-casual Mexican-style restaurants best known for its large burritos and chunky guacamole. In addition, it is one of the first restaurants to successfully transition to the fast-casual style of dining. The restaurant was founded in 1993 by Steve Ells of Denver, CO (where the company is currently headquartered).

McDonald's used to have a majority share in Chipotle; however, full disinvestment was completed in October 2006. The restaurant chain employs more than 18,000 workers and currently operates in 32 US states, as well as the District of Columbia and the Canadian province of Ontario.

Today, Chipotle restaurants serve chicken, beef, and pork in burrito, bowl, or taco formats. The restaurant is also making a transition to using more healthy ingredients and naturally raised farm animals as a means of responding to a growing nationwide trend in healthier eating.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Dining Out is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists