Earth Watch
Earthquakes, floods, hurricanes... all that moves
2011 East Coast Earthquake

An earthquake that occurred in Virginia on August 23, 2011

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by MichaelN

  • Aug 24, 2011
  • by
This is the type we should have. Basically some things fell off the shelves but damage was minimal. Thankfully I have not heard of any fatalities. The nuclear plant was spared. Here in New York I was at my desk and my chair was bucking like I was on a horse and my monitor was swaying. My one concern was those overhead ceiling tiles falling on my head. Overall a day to talk about but a non-event.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
9
Post a Comment
August 24, 2011
We in California eat these for breakfast. Watching the clip of journalists running out the door was in many ways quite amusing. If this happened in SF, people would have immediately known to "duck, cover and hold" under a desk, wait it out, then go back to their usual routine. We had a small shaker just yesterday at 3.8 on the Richter scale. People went, "wow" and then continued as normal. It happens. Yes, it certainly was a non-event!
August 24, 2011
You've got to remember that your buildings are built to sway with earthquakes. We have too many stone and brick buildings here in NY that would break apart from something that you would just go with in SF.
August 24, 2011
Yeah, that's true. Though that was extremely tested in 1989 when we had an earthquake that nearly matched 1906!
August 24, 2011
Also they're pretty rare on the east coast so should not be a major concern. Last one on the east coast was in the 1940s from what I understand.
 
August 24, 2011
I wouldn't call it a non-event. In fact, some relationships may have well been saved because of it. It's these kind of moments that remind people of what's important in life!

Congress should go back to work!!! 
August 24, 2011
Sharrie, sounds like all the more reason to give it a plus rating.
 
1
More 2011 East Coast Earthquake reviews
Quick Tip by . August 26, 2011
posted in That's Beat
A fairly minor Earthquake, all things considered, which could have been a lot worse. While it wasn't noticeable up where I live, some of my family members in Pennsylvania could feel it. Personally, I'm more worried about the Hurricane which is hitting us this weekend.
Quick Tip by . August 24, 2011
A blessing in disguise, I'd say. Luckily for everyone, no permanent damage as of now. Definitely a sign that Washington is shaky... what an irony! In any case, it's a reminder not to take life for granted and that no earthquake can hit your area. Anything can happen!
About the reviewer

Ranked #5
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

A magnitude 5.8 (Mw) intraplate earthquake occurred in the U.S. state of Virginia on August 23, 2011 at 1:51 PM EDT (17:51 UTC). The focus was 60 km (40 mi) northwest of Richmond and 8 km (5 mi) from the town of Mineral, Virginia, according to the United States Geological Survey (USGS). The earthquake reportedly occurred along the Spotsylvania Fault, an ancient fault-line that now sits in the middle of the North American plate. Three aftershocks of magnitudes 2.8, 2.2 and 4.2 occurred within hours of the main tremor.

The quake was the eastern United States' most powerful since an 1897 quake centered in Giles County, Virginia, which reached magnitude 5.9 (Mw), according to the USGS.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Earth Watch is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists