Earth Watch
Earthquakes, floods, hurricanes... all that moves
Alabama Storm

A tornado outbreak that began on April 25, 2011 and is affecting the Southern and Eastern United States.

< read all 1 reviews

Storm Surge!

  • Apr 29, 2011
Rating:
-4
It was only less than 2 months since the last tsunami hitting Japan. We are now seeing extreme weather in the U.S. beginning with the Apr. 25 tornado and storms hitting some 5 states (Mississippi, Alabama, Virginia, Georgia and Tennessee), with Alabama being the worst hit. Death toll totals more than 300 people.

It is grim and it is not over yet. I've just read that the South is expecting some of the worst floods since 1927 in coming weeks and months. So, brace yourself if you're living in this area. It seems not long ago that the South recovered from the Gulf Spill and now this. I am worried for my friend Ann who just moved to Florida not long ago from L.A. and also few friends who live in the South. I hope no calamity will hit them! 

I can't help but noticed the unpredictable and disastrous weather we have had recently. The hurricane season hasn't even begun yet! In Guangzhou it was recently reported about hail and a storm which flooded the city. We are referring to a time when the temperature is some 80 deg F and we've hail! That's news to me. Global warming has certainly created havocs in our weather system! I dread to know what more is in store for us all in the future!


Like inflation, no denials about it can stop you from noticing it and stop it from escalating. Our weather is getting more and more disruptive and destroying lives and assets. Even going green may have been a little too late. Granted, we don't really know the facts nor do we know what's at stake really. We do know that there's an underlying law in the natural and business world. That once you crossed a certain equilibrium, things escalate until it stabilize on another equilibrium point. It works as with our body weight too. You maintain it at a certain level, it hovers around the band. Once it goes over, it speeds up until it reaches another band. I suspect that's how it is with inflation, currencies as well as the weather! Hence, brace yourself for more uncertainties and more undesirable disruptions!

Storm Surge! Storm Surge!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
April 30, 2011
This is truly unfortunate. I was just talking to @ about this. I'll be right back, I know you dropped a bunch of new stuff and I'll be by to check on them after I see another film... (btw, you may enjoy "Fast Five", cheap plug) LOL!!
May 01, 2011
Yeah, I'm kinda like a tornado this week. Speed mode!!! LOL 

You're behind by 5 reviews if you're serious about reading them. Understandably, a review about death is not what most will be interested but I did get a tremendous amount of external hits from confidence review. So, you might want to start with that one :)
 
1
More April 2011 Tornado Outbreak reviews
Quick Tip by . April 28, 2011
posted in Earth Watch
Caption
It's been reported that severe storms hit across 5 states last night and Alabama was worst hit with some 170 deaths! May God have mercy!      More extreme weather forecast in coming days: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/04/28/mis...lood-2011_n_855242.html     
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #1
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The April 25–28, 2011 tornado outbreak is an ongoing and destructive tornado outbreak that began on April 25, 2011 and is affecting the Southern and Eastern United States with catastrophic destruction especially across Alabama. The sequence produced destructive tornadoes in or around Little Rock, Arkansas; Tuscaloosa, Alabama and Birmingham, Alabama and numerous other smaller communities throughout the southern and eastern United States.

Widespread and destructive tornadoes occurred on each day of the outbreak so far, with tornadoes forecast as possible, though not likely as large or numerous, on April 28th. This outbreak is the deadliest tornado outbreak event since the 1974 Super Outbreak (which killed between 315-330 people), and the deadliest tornado outbreak to occur in the United States in the era of the modern NEXRAD doppler radar network, which was fully implemented in 1997 (surpassing the death toll of the 2008 Super Tuesday tornado outbreak, which killed 57 people).
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Storm Surge!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Earth Watch is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists