The Time Machine (book)

121 Ratings: 3.6
H.G. Wells
13 reviews about The Time Machine (book)
review by . July 04, 2010
H. G. Wells was a crusader of his time, with a leaning toward socialism and social equality. With this tidbit of information, it's interesting to see how The Time Machine was both a hope of utopia and a picture of a seemingly inevitable dystopia.      Our time traveler is an amateur scientist who tells an amazing tale to his friends, weekly gatherers at his home for dinner and discussion. He makes a claim to have visited a distant future (in the film, at least, the year …
Quick Tip by . November 06, 2010
I really want to read more Wells. A friend once told me thinking of a future that is so vastly different from ours is terrifying.
review by . July 01, 2010
As a big fan of H.G Wells I had to pick this up after reading The War of the Worlds. It's not as long but it's just as good. Once again I really enjoy the Victorian mentality applied to futuristic technology although whereas space travel is now a real possibility so we can see where Wells went 'wrong', this time the subject of time travel is just as much of an impossibility now as it was when Wells wrote it.      The actual specifics of time travel are not really …
Quick Tip by . August 08, 2010
A haunting tale of past, present and future. Who will forget the Eloi/Morlocks and the far-future cancer-beast on the shores of humanity's sunset?
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
I've never been much for Sci-Fi, but this is one of the few books I have read more than once. So entertaining with a draw for everyone.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Beware the Morlocks,they live among us today !!
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
A classic book but may seem a bit uninteresting at times.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Classic that was written when this was so much more fanciful than today. Truly enjoyable.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Definitely goes against the blind enthusiasm for our future, a trendsetting in sci-fi.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
a classic, better than the movie!
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
great book. kinda scary at some points.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
A science fiction classic, enough said.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
ok
What's your opinion on The Time Machine (book)?
rate
121 Ratings: +3.6
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
Related Topics
Brave New World

1932 novel by Aldous Huxley

The War Of The Worlds

A science fiction novel by H.G. Wells

A Scanner Darkly by Philip K. Dick

a book by Philip K. Dick

Polls with this book
A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court

Best Time Travel Novels

by

First to Review

"Great book"
Source: The Time Machine (book) on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Forbidden Planet is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists