Forbidden Planet

44 Ratings: 3.3
Science Fiction film from the 1950s

ie Directed by Fred M. Wilcox Produced by Nicholas Nayfack Written by Cyril Hume (screenplay)   from a story by   Irving Block   Allen Adler      Starring Walter Pidgeon   Anne Francis   … see full wiki

Genre: Adventure, Drama, Fantasy, Sci-Fi
Release Date: March 15, 1956
MPAA Rating: G
1 review about Forbidden Planet

The finest science fiction film in the history of films

  • May 5, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
So, why would this idiot review a movie made in 1956 and a science fiction movie at that?  Well, I do it because this is one of the best science fiction films ever made.  The story was creative, thought provoking and demanding of participation by the audience.  The script was creative and well realized, taking advantage of both the story line and the talents and weaknesses of the actors.  The special effects were incredibly brilliant for now, let alone 1956.  The actors were all at the very least competent and occasionally even brilliant.  Speaking of actors, the lead was a dark haired Leslie Nielsen in a very serious role.  The female lead was the very talented and VERY easy on the eyes Anne Francis.  The "villain" (although there is really no villain in this story) is the brilliant Walter Pidgeon.  In addition, the cast included Warren Stevens, Jack Kelly (Bart Maverick in the old western series), Richard Anderson (from Six Million Dollar Man), James Drury (The Virginian) and a very young Earl Holliman.  That's a pretty good cast.  The special effects mentioned earlier were all created by the geniuses at Walt Disney.  Yeah, they were animated, and the same quality of animation that was used in "Fantasia".    So far, this film has not been remade.  Personally, I think it's because even with our modern computers and special effects wizards, no one can yet improve on the effects from 1956.  This is one class and classic production, and there has yet to be a science fiction film that can measure up to it in my humble opinion.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
May 08, 2009
The original Day the Earth Stood Still comes close as well as Earth vs the Flying Saucers.
May 10, 2009
Both of those are great early scifi films. That's a given. I also loved "Them" and "The Day The World Ended". I just thought that "Forbidden Planet" was superior to all of them, not just in special effects, but also in intelligent story line and in acting. You have to admit that the actors in this film went on to other movies or TV series and did well.
May 11, 2009
Agreed. I think you may mean When Worlds Collide. I love some of those Fifties films.
May 11, 2009
No, "The Day The World Ended" was an early atomic war film. The first, in fact, with radioactive human mutants. I did like When World Collide, though.
May 11, 2009
OK< I will need to check this -- I thought I was familiar with the fifties flicks, but apparently not!
May 11, 2009
You obviously are not as old as I am. I can remember seeing some of those films in the theaters as first run movies. The fellow who starred in The Day The World Ended was from 1955, and starred Richard Denning, Lori Nelson and Mike Conners.
May 11, 2009
True. I was lucky enough to have an oldies theatre in my neighborhood in the Sixties as well as a radio station that played '40s radio shows (Inner Sanctum, Suspense, X-Minus One, etc.). Almost like being an "old timer" without the age difference.
 
May 08, 2009
I added a "wiki" to the right, complete with original movie poster!
 
May 08, 2009
One of my favorite sci-fi flicks -- I prefer sci-fi as my genre of choice, though I will taste others such as horror, even westerns. Anne Frances was the best, and Pigeon surpasses his later Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea film (like the sixties too).
 
May 06, 2009
Oh, there's been talk about it and it is slated to be remade. Fear not the money grubbers know that this one would pull in a big audience. One can only hope that it dies a slow death in development hell, a victim of the low box office of THE DAY THE EARTH STOOD STILL, but I suppose that one did make money.
May 06, 2009
Yes, wasn't that remake really bad? I sat there with jaw dropped wondering what happened to the original story line. Oh well, there have been very few good remakes, simply because the script writers of today don't bother to read the original story, and if they do, they have no respect for it.
May 06, 2009
Well, there are remakes and then there are "re-imaginings" or modernizations. I haven't actually bothered to see DAY yet because I knew it would infuriate me, so I'm waiting to see it for free when it comes on cable. Or maybe (if I've gone through the 287 films ahead of it) I'll catch it on NetFlix. I learned my lesson from I AM LEGEND--and I actually left the theater fairly impressed with LEGEND. It wasn't until a day later that I realized how bad it really was. How many plots holes there were etc. I had been impressed with Will Smith's performance and that blinded me for awhile.
May 06, 2009
Will Smith is an excellent actor, but so far, no one has captured the real meaning of I AM LEGEND. That, by the way, is another great horror novel by Richard Matheson, and well worth reading. I really hated the remake of The Haunting, though, and I really like Liam Neeson. Being a male, I can look at Catherine Zeta Jones for hours and hours. The movie still was bad.
May 06, 2009
I liked the house though, some of the rooms were fantastic--nobody could really build that thing. Zeta-Jones? Probably the most beautiful woman in films today along with Catherine Deneuve. IAM LEGEND is one of my favorite books ALONG WITH legend of hell house. I also have a copy of Matheson's INCREDIBLE SHRINKING MAN around here somewhere. As much as I liked HELL HOUSE I think that's one of the few films that (with a really good director and script) could use a remake.
May 06, 2009
I agree. Did you also see the movie of Incredible Shrinking Man? It was actually pretty decent. Sure, they left some stuff out of the film, but at least they followed the main story.
May 06, 2009
Incredibly they even followed it to the ending Matheson wrote, as best they could. It was another case of his having written something that was unfilmable or unsatisfying cinematically--I mean in terms of the audiences to which that kind of film was normally geared, teenage boys.
May 06, 2009
Unfortunately, the more modern screen writers do gear their movies to teenaged boys. It is unfortunate. Yet, those same films have superfluous sex, too. I loved the movie "Aliens". I did hate all the foul language, though. The story is good and the acting was incredible, but I feel like a prude because I object to the overuse of the F word. Does that make sense?
May 06, 2009
I just looked up Great Tales of Terror and the Supernatural on Amazon. It is readily available for $17.13, and it is more than worth it. This is a great book. I reviewed it on Amazon and gave it 5 stars as the second best collection of horror stories ever
May 07, 2009
Even in the 50s horror and science fiction flix were aimed at the teen crowd. I didn't like ALIEN that much but I liked the second one. The first reminded me a bit too much of a big budget version of IT: THE TERROR FROM BEYOND SPACE which I already liked with perhaps a bit of QUEEN OF BLOOD thrown in for good measure. The second one was a less predictable grunts in space opera. I'm afraid that even if $17 + is a good price for the book its still a bit steep for me. I'll have to wait for a cheaper version or until someone who owns a copy is willing to xerox the story for me. I can take a little vulgar language and have even started using it myself--25 years at the Post Awful. But when You get into some movies (even the Scorsese stuff) its so distracting that I literally find myself counting the number of times it and its various forms are used.
May 07, 2009
The book is over 1000 pages, so $17 is not really a bad price. You might also look on eBay to see if they have it cheaper used. It is only in hardback, though, so it will probably still be over $10, even for used. That book has never been released in paper, and it was first published in 1949. I think the only horror films that were not designed for teenagers specifically were the old Hammer Films from England. Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee. Good stuff. I did really like the Black Lagoon stuff, though, and some of the radiation monsters. There were a couple of films based on Matheson that were good, too. Did you ever see the movie based on Harlan Ellison's story "A Boy and His Dog"? Typical Ellison, meaning very bitter, but a really good book and movie.
May 07, 2009
I think that might have won the Hugo Award for Best Film or whatever they called they category back then. That was the first time I went to World Con. It was supposed to have been held in Orlando but the hotel hadn't been completed so they had to move the whole thing to Miami Beach at the last minute. The main hotel was the Fountaine Bleu which was still in its original condition back then, and almost on its last legs. The closet in my room was as big as the room was--the room was small but the closet seemed HUGE. I had to run the water in the tub and the sink for a good 5 minutes to get the rust out. The only other Ellison I've read is THE MAN WHO FOLDED HIMSELF. I read somewhere that he's gone back and published that book with significant changes and additions. I named my daughter for Christopher Lee (Kristine Lea--gave her the option of how to pronounce the Lea and she chose Leah which I liked better too) and I told her to be glad I wasn't in my Basil Rathbone phase when she was born.
May 07, 2009
A very young Don Johnson, but still a good movie. I used to love reading Ellison, and his stuff for Outer Limits was great, too. Do you remember "Demon With a Glass Hand"? Fantastic. I don't really like Florida. It reminds me too much of Nam, and there are parts of that experience I would just rather totally forget.
May 07, 2009
Hey, I love Basil Rathbone. A wonderful Sherlock Holmes. You should see if you can find "I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream" by Ellison. Great stuff. Did you happen to watch the TV series "Babylon 5"? Ellison had a lot to do with that series, and it shows.
May 07, 2009
My turn to beg off tonight. It's been a long, rough day for me. Car problems and some personal hassles as well. I am really tired out, more emotionally than physically. Pleasant dreams, Karen. Thanks for chatting. I do enjoy it
May 07, 2009
Good night.
 
1
What's your opinion on Forbidden Planet?
rate
44 Ratings: +3.3
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Related Topics
Poster

Ed Wood's cult classic which was a critical bomb and is cons

The Day the Earth Stood Still

1951 science fiction film about an alien visitor who comes t

Surrogates Movie Poster

A movie released September 25, 2009

Polls with this movie
Movie poster

Best Science Fiction Films

by

20 Million Miles To Earth

Fun Sci-Fi Films of the 1950s!

by

Source: Forbidden Planet on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Forbidden Planet is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists