X-Men: First Class (2011 movie)

22 Ratings: 3.2
The 2011 prequel to the "X-Men" film franchise directed by Matthew Vaughn.

   X-Men: First Class is a 2011 American superhero film directed by Matthew Vaughn. Based on the characters appearing in Marvel Comics, it is a prequel to the X-Men film series. X-Men: First Class was released June 1, 2011 in the UK and on … see full wiki

Director: Matthew Vaughn
Genre: Action, Adventure, Drama, Sci-Fi, Thriller
Release Date: June 3, 2011
MPAA Rating: PG-13
1 review about X-Men: First Class (2011 movie)

American History X

  • Jun 4, 2011
Rating:
+5
Star Rating:


There has been much talk about how sequels aren’t supposed to be better than the films that preceded them. Does the same thing apply to prequels? If so, then X-Men: First Class has set a new standard. Apart from being the best of all previous X-Men films, it belongs on the same shelf as Superman, Batman, and Iron Man as one of the greatest superhero films ever made; it’s superbly cast, the characters are very well developed, it tells an engaging story, the action sequences are exciting, the special effects are spectacular, and it actually bothers to send a message that’s both understandable and relevant. And my God, it has been released in good old-fashioned 2D. No paying extra, no uncomfortable 3D glasses, no dim projection – why, you can just sit back and enjoy the show!
 
The film traces the origins of several beloved X-Men characters, most notably Charles Xavier and Erik Lehnsherr, who would eventually go on to become Professor X and Magneto. We, of course, know them as enemies, but they were friends when they first met. Their backgrounds could not have been any different; British-born Xavier was raised in a sprawling Westchester, New York mansion with his mother and servants, whereas Lehnsherr was a German Jew whose mother was murdered in Nazi-occupied Poland. They do have one thing in common: They were born with mutated genes, giving them abilities regular people do not have. For Xavier, it’s telepathy. For Lehnsherr, it’s the ability to attract and manipulate metal objects.

                                           
                                             
The bulk of the story takes place in 1962 at the dawn of the Cuban Missile Crisis. A key figure in creating tensions between the U.S. and the Soviet Union is Sebastian Shaw (Kevin Bacon), a ruthless, deliciously evil mutant whose ability to absorb kinetic energy has slowed his aging. Like all great comic book villains, he’s hell bent on world domination. And he isn’t alone. At his side are: Emma Frost/White Queen (January Jones), a telepath whose skin can turn into diamonds; Azazel (Jason Flemyng), a demonic-looking mutant with the gift of teleportation; and Jonas Quested/Riptide (Álex González), who can create powerful cyclones with his hands.
 
A CIA agent named Moira MacTaggert (Rose Byrne) seeks out Xavier (James McAvoy), since his expertise in mutation may convince the CIA that Shaw is a threat. Xavier – along with his shape-shifting foster sister, Raven/Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence) – joins forces with a CIA scientist known only as the Man in Black (Oliver Platt). He has built a cerebral machine that can track mutants, which will be invaluable during the recruitment phase. Xavier eventually meets Lehnsherr (Michael Fassbender), who has thus far relied only on his anger to fuel his magnetic abilities. For him, this is not about preventing World War III; he just wants revenge against Shaw, the man who murdered his mother back in 1944.
 
The film closely examines several relationships, and although we already know how most of them will end up, that doesn’t make them any less fascinating. Xavier and Lehnsherr, for example, are united in their understanding of how it feels to be different, and they recognize that, once the public is made aware of the existence of mutants, they will be discriminated against. They are, however, divided by ideology – which, rather cleverly, mirrors the differences between Malcolm X and Martin Luther King, Jr. For Lehnsherr, the seeds of hatred have already been sown; mutants are the superior beings, and humanity is irredeemably evil. Xavier is more hopeful; although mutants deserve the same rights and privileges as humans, they should not have to resort to violence in order to attain them.

                                            
                                             
Another interesting character is a young scientist named Hank McCoy (Nicholas Hoult), who has hidden his prehensile feet from the Man in Black. When asked about his secrecy, McCoy replies with one of the film’s best lines: “You didn’t ask, I didn’t tell.” Initially, he sees Raven as a kindred spirit, and they both lament about their persistent feelings of shame and isolation. But the more McCoy pursues a cure for their “abnormalities,” the less Raven believes she or any other mutant should have to hide their true selves. Lehrsherr guides her along: “You want society to accept you,” he says, “but you can’t even accept yourself.” Ultimately, she adopts a new mindset: Be proud to be a mutant.
 
The director is Matthew Vaughn, whose previous effort was Kick-Ass. Amazing, how seamlessly he transitioned from one of the worst superhero films ever made to one of the best. X-Men: First Class is indeed first class – a movie that delivers not only as a fun-filled action spectacle but also as a compelling examination of issues that are ... well, human. We have been through war. We have struggled for civil rights. We have fought for justice. We have sought retribution. We have all felt self-conscious about the way we look. Isn’t it wonderful, how you can watch a movie about mutants and, upon leaving the theater, feel as if you have more in common with them than with the human characters?

                                               

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
June 08, 2011
I agree. I never saw Kick Ass as it's promo trailers were nearly the opposite of what the film was actually about. His X Men effort though was very well made. Good review.
June 08, 2011
Thanks for the comment. In my opinion, you should avoid Kick-Ass like the plague. It's not funny. It's not entertaining. It's just plain awful. 
June 08, 2011
That's what I understand too. Having young teens killing people is not "art" and not "a parody" and other things I've heard it called. Thanks.
 
June 04, 2011
Well-done, Chris! I couldn't agree with you more. I thought the movie had traces of Dr. Strangelove influences with the war room scenes and the maps; I also thought there was a touch of Watchmen with the way they infused the characters into actual 20th Century history. Woopak's points are extremely valid with regards to the comic, but even as an avid X-Men comic reader, I tend to look at the movies as you do. Thanks again for a great review! ::)
June 04, 2011
Thanks for the comment. I've never been much of a comic book reader, so if a film adaptation deviates in any way from its source, I'm usually the last to know. But I'm okay with that. A good movie adaptation stays faithful to its origins but also makes itself accessible to general audiences. At least, that's what I believe.
June 04, 2011
I'm with you! Thanks again!
June 08, 2011
Agreed. Good point on the war room scene.
 
June 04, 2011
I liked this one quite a bit and I thought the script was smart and the direction solid enough to capitalize on its aces. I just had some issues on some canned scenes, minor continuity issues and I also had issues with the way it changed aspects of the comic that didn't need fixing. I was lukewarm with the idea of another Xavier and Magneto encounter, but I liked it since it incorporatd real world events. So happy you enjoyed the film. Thanks! I am going to see "Tree of Life" tomorrow so I'll return to read your review on it.
June 04, 2011
Thanks for the comment. Keep in mind that this review is from the perspective of someone who hasn't read a single issue of the original comic book. I'm comparing it to the previous films in the series and to superhero movies in general. On those terms alone, I thought it was a hugely successful film.
June 04, 2011
Oh, I really enjoyed your review, you always present an interesting take on movies. I thought it was the second best movie of the X-franchise despite some of my complaints.
 
June 04, 2011
What I like about the reviews is that they give me a taste that this has some American history in it, along with a few one-liners (the don't ask don't tell implication) that make the film relevant to non-comic fans. The comic based films that fall flat are made for stickler fan boys which I never liked (reviewers who disagree with me to the contrary). Great review! Were there any surprises at the end of the credits?
June 04, 2011
Thanks for the comment. I completely agree: Comic book movies should appeal to all audiences, not just diehard fans of the source material. As for this film, this time around, you don't have to sit through the end credits. There are no surprises for you to see.
June 04, 2011
yes, exactly. That's why I didn't enjoy the Wolverine film a few years back. That's OK on the end credits. I'm always the odd one who sits through them and listens to the music. Might as well get my ten bucks worth!
 
1
What's your opinion on X-Men: First Class (2011 movie)?
rate
22 Ratings: +3.2
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Source: X-Men: First Class (2011 movie) on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Forbidden Planet is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists