Dune

1965 Novel by Frank Herbert

< read all 31 reviews

My Gold Standard

  • Jan 6, 2012
Rating:
+5
I was a late comer to science fiction. I didn't begin reading fiction until high school, when an illness had me bedridden for a week. My sister came into my room and dropped a stack of her books on me, books by Langston Hughes, James Baldwin and other black novelists she admired. I was hooked. My scifi experience began in college, soon after my English instructor summoned me to her office and insisted that I change my major from Chemistry to English so as to become a writer. I didn't take her advice on that, but I did check out science fiction.

From the moment I opened the cover to Dune I was blown away. I'd never read anything like it, and I must say I haven't read anything better since. As good as maybe, but not better. The beginning quotations, the details, the insights all had me spellbound. How could someone make this up? I kept asking myself. I decided at that moment that if I did choose to write, my goal would be to write a book as good as Dune.

I finally took my English instructor's advice and I am pursuing a (side) career writing. With every novel I begin Dune is looking over my shoulder. I consider it a scifi classic, a must read for anyone who considers themselves a scifi fan.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
January 08, 2012
Here's my review from last year: http://lunch.com/t/7urb
 
January 08, 2012
A review with "Spice." Good commentary but why not write more about the actual story by Frank Herbert? I recently read this book again, it's quite good. I believe it won a Nebula or a Hugo for the year it was published. Have you seen the film?
February 21, 2012
I don't like to give too much away about a book in a review. I guess I could have outlined the premise. I did see the film and though it was different from the book in a few ways I liked the images David Lynch created. The fight between Duncan Idaho and the Sardukar should have been much better than him jumping into a pile of Sardurkar then getting shot in the head. The SyFy channel mini-series was more true to the book.
February 22, 2012
OK, thanks. Yeah, there are other versions better than that film -- but I could follow it because I read the book and many viewers were left high and dry. I think they added more to the film's beginning to make it make sense. Loved Patrick Stewart in his role. Did you get my invitation to join my sci fi community, The Forbidden Planet? We cover not only books, but also other aspects of science fiction in films, magazines and old radio!
 
January 06, 2012
One of my favorite books. And your English teachers apparently gave you the same advice mine implied to me.
 
January 06, 2012
I've heard this a lot about Dune and yes, I haven't read a lot of SciFi (except 1984 which I LOVE), might have to check this out. It sounds like a great read! Thanks for sharing :)
January 08, 2012
I reread this last year, it's a great but complex book. Don't watch the movie version until you've read the book first, or else the film won't make sense. :(
January 08, 2012
January 08, 2012
To understand the David Lynch movie you have to had read the book. the Sy Fy Channel did a Dune miniseries a few years ago that was true to the book. The special effects were so-so but otherwise it was good.
 
1
More Dune reviews
review by . February 19, 2011
posted in SF Signal
   Dune, by Frank Herbert. Along with The Lord Of the Rings is one of the finest examples of world building period.
review by . July 03, 2010
Science fiction by setting and technology, yet presenting ever so actual themes for humankind (politics, fight for power, war, love, learning and adapting, etc.), this book fascinated me because of many reasons, yet one idea really stayed with me a long time, changing my perception on world: how would it be to live on a desert planet? I started to look differently at the wonderful gift of vegetation and water, at the trees, lakes and rivers, maybe even with more gratitude and being more careful …
review by . July 02, 2010
A tale of humanity 20,000 years in the future, Dune beautifully recounts the tale of a single human being and an empire spanning the entire galaxy. At this point most are familiar with the plot- Paul Atreides son of a Duke has his whole life uprooted to a desert planet where he is forced into exile. He finds a home with the vast desert community of Fremen and eventually exacts revenge on his father's murderer and starts a new religion whose jihad takes the galaxy by storm.  But the astounding …
Quick Tip by . September 20, 2010
posted in Forbidden Planet
By far a most interesting and dramatic world. The people are fascinating and rarities. The religious overtones and zealous fervor makes me read this and all the Dune books with lusty speed. Bene Geserits are the ultimate witches with pizaz.
review by . June 11, 2010
Exhaustion was the first reaction to having read this book.  Then came excitement that I had been introduced to a totally new universe.      Set on a desert planet -- which could possibly be earth? -- the characters are all about power and either ignoring or abiding by the rules.  The thirst for dominion is rampant and little is taboo so long as you see yourself as the exception.      The movie was such an extravaganza, but just as tedious in details.  …
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
A brilliantly crafted universe is hidden in these pages.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
I have to give this book a 5 because I was named after one of the characters. And also...come on...great sci-fi!!! "I am I because I am here."
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
I can't say I've ever been a science fiction nut, but I truly enjoyed this book and it made me interested in possibly reading other science fiction.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
A must read for all true sci fi fans, and fans of the movie, although I found it hard to get started
review by . July 07, 2010
I recently reread Dune when the 40th anniversary unabridged version came out.  Once again I was floored by the shear scope of Frank Herbert’s beginning of the masterpiece series of Science fiction.  Herbert began this EPIC undertaking in an age where Science fiction writer’s generally did not produce such massive tomes, much less a series of them in the same world.  Needless to say, this Anniversary edition pleases just as much as the original did, and helps fill in some …
About the reviewer
Member Since: Dec 29, 2011
Last Login: Feb 21, 2012 08:28 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Obaseki
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Dune is set far in humanity's future. Within those years, Earth has been destroyed, a Jihad has taken place to free humanity from the 'thinking machines' that threatened to overwhelm the human race, and mankind has scattered throughout space. This Universe is a feudal empire ruled by the Padishah Emperor Shaddam Corrino IV of House Corrino. The novel focuses on a rivalry between two feudal houses - House Atreides and House Harkonnen.

Dune is the first of six novels written by Frank Herbert set in this universe:
  • Dune (1965)
  • Dune Messiah (1969)
  • Children of Dune (1976)
  • God Emperor of Dune (1981)
  • Heretics of Dune (1984)
  • Chapterhouse Dune (1985)

Frank Herbert died in 1986. His son Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson have written several more novels set in the Dune universe..
view wiki

Details

Author: Frank Herbert
Genre: Scifi
Publisher: Chilton Books
Date Published: 1965

Polls with this book
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Forbidden Planet is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists