Go-Go Girls Of The Apocalypse

An apocalypse novel by Victor Gischler.

< read all 3 reviews

Couldn't Put it Down!

  • Mar 5, 2009
Rating:
+5
Here is another classic after civilization falls novel as good as Alas Babylon, Lucifer's Hammer or The Stand. Don't be fooled by the cover or the references to Quentin Tarrentino. It is actually a very entertaining and exciting read. Mortimer Tate went into hiding on a mountain as civilization was falling apart. When invaders come near his hiding place, he is curious to see what has happened to civilization and leaves to explore. He finds a new form of order where armed men with red stripe bands seem to attack everybody (reference to Russia and China?) and the only remaining vestige of civilization resides in clubs called Joey's Apocalypse.

Mortimer meets a lot of interesting characters along the way. There is his new best friend Bill who wants to be a real life cowboy. There is Sheila the young girl who was imprisioned by a bad man that also captured Mortimer. Then there are bikers and pumpers (you need to read the book to understand) and there is the strong willed locomotive captain that nothing seems to faze.

I do not want to give away any more of the plot but I will say that I finished the book in a couple of sittings because I really enjoyed it a great deal. Don't let the cover picture and title fool you that the book is something else like a title from a B movie from the late 50's because the book is not like that at all!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
January 29, 2011
Good write-up!
January 29, 2011
This book probably would be one that you would like. You should try it.
January 29, 2011
Indeed so. Right now I'm tacking the Stieg Larsson trilogy, on "Played with Fire."
 
January 29, 2011
BTW: The review is no longer showing up in Cafe Libri. Not sure if that was deliberate or not...might want to try placing it back in. Seems to be some bugs happening with Lunch today.
January 29, 2011
Done!
February 10, 2011
Cools! Lunch was doing some weird things when I was rating these reviews way back when. Glad I went back and noticed some of the missing thumbs up!
 
January 29, 2011
People underrate the importance of a good title and engaging cover art. I'm glad that we have a reviewer like you to remind us that we shouldn't always judge a book by its cover. Sounds like a great read. Nice review, Michael!
January 29, 2011
I guess the term Go-Go has a certain connotation. Gishler likes to put flashing sounding titles to his books.
January 29, 2011
Yes it does, which is unfortunate for some readers who might be turned off by this term being in the title. Just finished rating the rest of your review here. I've been having trouble with my ratings not sticking! Sorry about that!
 
1
More Go-Go Girls Of The Apocalypse reviews
review by . October 31, 2008
Go-Go Girls Of The Apocalypse
Mortimer Tate knew both his marriage and the world was coming to an end, so he found a cave, stocked it, and holed up in it for nine years. Now he's ready to hit the town, and has decided he wants to find his wife. He's first accosted and robbed by a bear-man, then saved by a cowboy named Buffalo Bill. Wandering into Spring City, Bill takes Mortimer to Joey Armageddon's Sassy A-Go-Go. Apparently, Joey Armageddon's is the only chain left in the bombed out, busted up new world. The only place where …
About the reviewer
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Nine years after Mortimer Tate retreated from the end of the world (he thought) to the Tennessee mountains, three men appear before his cabin. He emerges, desperate for conversation. Unfortunately, they mistake his intentions, and he is forced to shoot them. Despite this inauspicious incident, Mortimer is optimistic enough to venture down the mountain. What passes for civilization surprises him: a chain of strip joints called Joey Armageddon’s Sassy-A-Go-Go has set itself as mankind’s savior. But as with any fledgling world-saving operation, there is opposition—to wit, the terrorist-like Red Stripes, whom Mortimer is sent to defeat. His subsequent breakneck journey is full of cannibals, slave runners, bad booze, and other dangers, none more perilous than hope. Although this dark comedy makes one laugh, it isn’t a romp in a postapocalyptic playground. It’s violent and sleazy, laced with moments of quiet gravity, an intelligent satire of how American society works even after it has broken down (the label for postapocalypse Jack Daniel’s in chapter 23 is pure comic gold). Compulsively readable. --Krista Hutley
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1416552251
ISBN-13: 978-1416552253
Author: Victor Gischler
Genre: Horror, Apocalypse, Dark Comedy
Publisher: Touchstone (July 8, 2008)
Date Published: (July 8, 2008)
Format: Paperback: 336 pages, Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.2 x 0.8 inches
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Forbidden Planet is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists