The Windup Girl

A book by Paolo Bacigalupi

< read all 1 reviews

The Wind Up Girl - The book I almost didn't like

  • Dec 29, 2011
Rating:
+4
I decided to read The Wind Up Girl after being drawn to the cover art every time I went to the bookstore. I finally pick it up a few months ago. Let me start by saying I'm somewhat of a prude when I read. I was automatically uncomfortable with the Wind Up Girl's situation and as the abuse escalated I was borderline disgusted. I persevered because the world Bacigalupi created was so detailed an interesting. Still, what kept me going was story line involving Kanya. Her story saves the book in my opinion. It's worth the read but it will probably be a while before I read another Bacigalupi book.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
December 31, 2011
Here's the review I wrote back in January 2011: http://lunch.com/t/7tw4
 
December 31, 2011
I read this some time ago and have to tell ya I didn't like it. Tough read. Have you ever read the author China Mieville? Same type of style.
December 31, 2011
Haven't read her book. I don't have a problem with foreign terms. I use a lot in my writing. I'm not a big fan of dark topics. I read to be uplifted and to escape. There are too many dark themed books for my taste lately.
December 31, 2011
I agree. I like more science fiction anyway, like from Heinlein and the more recent authors like Robert J. Sawyer.
January 06, 2012
Most scifi I read these days is by independent writers. The ideas are more interesting, kind of like the Golden Age of Heinlein, Asimov, Clarke and the rest. I haven't read any Sawyer. I'll have to look him up.
January 07, 2012
OK, thanks. I just started borrowing Sawyer's books from the library. He's a big deal in Canada, apparently.
 
December 30, 2011
Nice write-up, this sounds like an intriguing, if difficult, read. Thanks for sharing!
December 31, 2011
The concept of genetic food and being run by gigantic corporations at war was a good concept but didn't come off like I was hoping. :)
 
1
About the reviewer
Member Since: Dec 29, 2011
Last Login: Feb 21, 2012 08:28 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Obaseki
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Starred Review. Noted short story writer Bacigalupi (Pump Six and Other Stories) proves equally adept at novel length in this grim but beautifully written tale of Bangkok struggling for survival in a post-oil era of rising sea levels and out-of-control mutation. Capt. Jaidee Rojjanasukchai of the Thai Environment Ministry fights desperately to protect his beloved nation from foreign influences. Factory manager Anderson Lake covertly searches for new and useful mutations for a hated Western agribusiness. Aging Chinese immigrant Tan Hock Seng lives by his wits while looking for one last score. Emiko, the titular despised but impossibly seductive product of Japanese genetic engineering, works in a brothel until she accidentally triggers a civil war. This complex, literate and intensely felt tale, which recalls both William Gibson and Ian McDonald at their very best, will garner Bacigalupi significant critical attention and is clearly one of the finest science fiction novels of the year.(Oct.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.--This text refers to theHardcoveredition.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1597801585
ISBN-13: 978-1597801584
Author: Paolo Bacigalupi
Genre: Science Fiction & Fantasy
Publisher: Night Shade Books
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Forbidden Planet is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists