Great Action, Bare Story, But Worth The Money

  • May 7, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
If the turnout tonight is any indication of how popular Iron Man is this movie is in no danger of flopping. Iron Man was a comic book I picked up to try to get into something long ago as a kid. I wasn't completely familiar with the whole story, but that's what these movies are really designed to do. Initiate the public into the fantastic and interesting worlds of the comic books.

Most everyone already knows what this movie will entail from the previews. Mickey Rourke? Check. War Machine? Check. Scarlett Johansson kicking ass? Very check. OK, so I don't remember seeing that in the previews but wow. There were some great surprises in the movie that made me glad I'm not the spoilerish type.

Iron Man 2 still has the impression it's an origin movie. And it is, especially with The Avengers being teased to us for years with other movies. Comics can have huge and elaborate backstories and histories so it's no surprise to see Hollywood taking their time with these movies to get the public aware of and introduced to the many famous characters in their world.

Iron Man 2 isn't really a movie you go into expecting the depth of plot in something like Momento or The Usual Suspects, and it doesn't try to be. If it did I don't think it would as well as it does. It serves its job well of simply educating some backstories and origins of some of comic's iconic characters. The big names movies like this now draw make them a treat as well. Samuel L. Jackson, Scarlett Johansson, Mickey Rourke, Gwenyth Paltrow, and of course Robert Downey Jr., this movie drew actors who can sell movies if only one of them were in it. The acting is great and with talent like that in your movie you can expect to be taken in by their characters.

I saw this movie at a midnight showing and was glad I took the time out to go see it. I'd see it again and surely buy the DVD. You'll like this one if you're a comic fan, an action movie fan, or just want to forget about the outside world for awhile.

And don't forget to stay through the end credits.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
13
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
May 11, 2010
You don't mention how Iron Man 2 compares with the first movie. You gave this one 5 stars despite the "bare story" so I'm curious how you feel the two movies compare? P.S. I, too, thank you for not being the spoilerish type! :) I was going to go see it yesterday but missed my showtime due to a longer-than-usual volunteer gig, so I'm hoping to try again today.
May 11, 2010
To be honest with you I forgot pretty much everything about the first movie. I saw it, I remembered I liked it, but I could not remember hardly anything about it. That's why this review seems like it never happened, because I couldn't remember, so it may as have haven't happened :)
 
May 07, 2010
Nicely said. I'm drumming up the word on this film in my comics community. There's a Marvel Comics Iron-Man coming out in November with a new, improved Whiplash that puts this movie's villain to shame. More on that in my community. Thanks for a great write-up.
May 07, 2010
I've joined and sent this Review to your community :)
May 08, 2010
Thanks!
 
May 07, 2010
Thanks for not being the spoilerish type ;)  And I love how you managed to get this published on May 6th!  I love superhero movies, so I'll have to catch this.  I'll remember to stay through the end credits, too.  By the way, this review would go great in @woopak_the_thrill's movie community!
May 07, 2010
That's what midnight showings are for ;)
May 08, 2010
I'll send Almost Rambo an invite....nice review!
 
1
More Iron Man 2 reviews
review by . May 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Sequels have a tendency to be on the mixed reaction of results. In the case of Marvel films (Spider-Man, X-Men, Fantastic 4, Hulk), it's a hit or miss. Regardless, we still love those comic book heroes in their adaptations. As with all comic book adaptations, they all loosely follow the comics per panel.      Iron Man 2 continues the origin story of Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) as he continues to rise and protect the world from evil in his armor powered suit. Now that he has …
Quick Tip by . August 01, 2010
I just sat through Iron Man 2 for the second time, and must say I enjoyed this go around better than my first screening. Perhaps it was because I was with a friend who did nto see the original, so he got to explore the world of Tony Stark with fresh eyes. Or maybe it was because I already knew it was not as good as the original, so I could sit back and not be disappointed. Either way, it was definitely worth the second viewing and earned some new brownie points in the meantime.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Good movie. I liked the first one better only because it focused more on the story line before getting too involved with the action like the second iron man. I feel the same way with transformers if you have seen it. Hope to see the next movie out in the next year or so. (Stay after the credits ;) )
Quick Tip by . June 09, 2010
Just as good, if not better than , the first.
review by . May 23, 2010
Pros: Smart, intelligent, character driven movie.     Cons: Limited action sequences.     The Bottom Line: Despite the limited action sequences I enjoyed Iron Man 2 due in large part—once again—to the performances of Downey Jr. and Paltrow.     Marvel Comics (Marvel Entertainment Group) is still on a roll and its characters are making the leap from the multi-colored comic book pages of my youth to the silver screen at a record …
review by . May 07, 2010
At the end of 2008, I made two bold assertions: (1) That "Iron Man" was one of the year's best films; (2) that "Iron Man" was one of the greatest superhero films ever made. I still believe both to be true. Now we have "Iron Man 2." While it is thoroughly entertaining, it's also a bit conventional when compared to its predecessor, having less of a compelling story but more in the ways of action, special effects, gadgets, humor, and stunt work. It's a comic book through and through. That's fine by …
Quick Tip by . May 07, 2010
Iron Man 2. 5/5
Quick Tip by . May 05, 2010
I really appreciate the different take on Iron-Man. Rather than a blow 'em up with crazed villains, we get into who is the man, Tony Stark!
Quick Tip by . January 16, 2010
I hope this lives up to the first one. I'm a little worried about the recasting of Rhodes & the addition of Johansson. Still, it looks fun.
Quick Tip by . December 19, 2009
I posted the trailer in the Wiki -- this looks hot! Five stars is for the trailer and this may change for the movie.
About the reviewer
I'm a huge Alexz Johnson fan and of the girl group Lady Phoenix. I love One Tree Hill and the good old days of professional wrestling. My favorite movie of all time is probably Fight Club. You can find … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
AlmostRambo
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by AlmostRambo
About this movie

Wiki



Iron Man 2 is a 2010 American superhero film based on the Marvel Comics character of the same name from Marvel Studios and Paramount Pictures. It is the sequel to 2008's Iron Man, and the second film in a planned trilogy.  Directed by Jon Favreau, the film stars Robert Downey Jr., reprising his role as Tony Stark.

Tony Stark has revealed his identity as Iron Man and is resisting calls by the United States Government to hand over the technology. Ivan Vanko has also duplicated the technology and built weapons of his own, creating new challenges for Stark.

The film held its red carpet premiere in Los Angeles, California, on April 26, 2010 and in France on April 28, 2010. It was released in the United States on May 7, 2010.





After the high-flying adventures of the firstIron Manpicture, the billionaire arms manufacturer and irrepressible bon vivant Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) finds himself nursing a hangover. But not like any hangover he's had before: this one is toxic, a potentially deadly condition resulting from heavy metals (or something) bleeding out of the hardware he's installed in the middle of his chest. This is the problem Stark needs to solve inIron Man 2, not to mention the threat from resentful Russian science whiz Ivan Vanko (Mickey Rourke), whose father helped create the Iron Man technology. There's an even bigger problem for the film: the need to set up a future Marvel Comics movie universe in which a variety of veteran ...
view wiki

Details

Director: Jon Favreau
Genre: Action, Adventure
Release Date: May 7th, 2010
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Studio: Marvel Studios, Paramount Pictures
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Forbidden Planet is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists