Real Steel

A movie directed by Shawn Levy

< read all 10 reviews

'Real Steel' 'Two Jews On Film' Have A Split Decision Over This Family Action Flick (Video)

  • Oct 6, 2011
Rating:
+4
By Joan Alperin Schwartz

The year is 2020. Things look pretty much the same as they do now...Except in the world of boxing. Humans have evolved to the point where they no longer get excited by watching men and women pummel each other. Score one for us.

What we have instead is 'Robot Boxing' which I have to say is...really, really cool...especially the way it's depicted in this new fantasy, action film, called 'Real Steel' directed by Shawn Levy.

First of all, these 'robot boxers' aren't your everyday garden variety robots. These animatronic, mechanical men are over 8 feet tall, made of steel and each one, has his own very unique personality. And wow, can they box.

When 'Real Steel' opens, we meet, Charlie Kenton (Hugh Jackman) a washed up fighter who finds himself in a world where he doesn't fit in. No longer a boxer, Charlie makes his living hustling. He travels from one seamy underground boxing venue to the next, scoring fights for his low-end bots that he's pieced together.

After his last robot gets destroyed at a County Fair boxing match, run by super sleavy ex boxer/promoter, Ricky (the wonderful Kevin Durand) Charlie desperately needs money...not only to buy another robot, but to pay off his gambling debts.

Charlie makes his way to Tallet's gym and to his girlfriend, Bailey Tallet. Her father trained Charlie back in the day...Now she helps him rebuild his robots and rest his weary bones, whenever he comes into town.

Only this time, Bailey has had it with Charlie and his fighting bots. She's spent years giving Charlie money and now she's not only broke but on the verge of losing her gym.

As fate would have it, Charlie finds out that he's a father. Backstory moment: After charlie broke up with late girlfriend, she gave birth to a boy, Max (Dakota Goyo). Max is now eleven and the deceased girlfriend's sister, Debra (Hope Davis) and her wealthy husband, Marvin (James Rebhorn) want custody of him. Got all that?

Charlie, being the wheeler-dealer that he is, agrees to give them Max...for a price...$100,000. Now you can't really blame him...He doesn't even know the boy and he desperately needs the money, so he can buy a new robot.

Marvin agrees on one conditioner...Charlie has to keep Max for the summer so he and his wife can go off on their planned Italian vacation. Charlie relunctantly agrees.

Now this arrangement doesn't sit at all well with Max... The kid feels abandoned by his father and he doesn't want anything to do with him. And Charlie...well he probably can't even spell the word...nuturing. He is totally clueless when it comes to being a dad.

'Real Steel' is the story of the 'underdog'...It's also the story of three abandoned beings...Charlie, Max and Atom, the little robot that nobody wanted that come together and surprise the world and they surprise each other.

This film has brilliantly designed robots, edge of your seat boxing matches...and a robot...doing the 'Robot'. It's a movie that will have you smiling way after the credits come on the screen.

'Real Steel' is a film for anyone who's connected to their 'inner kid'.

I gave 'Real Steel' 4 1/2 bagels out of 5. John as usual, had a different opinion. Check out our video to see his bagel score.

'Real Steel' opens in theaters Friday, October 7, 2011.
'Real Steel' 'Two Jews On Film' Have A Split Decision Over This Family Action Flick (Video) 'Real Steel' 'Two Jews On Film' Have A Split Decision Over This Family Action Flick (Video) 'Real Steel' 'Two Jews On Film' Have A Split Decision Over This Family Action Flick (Video)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
October 10, 2011
No, this was just too bad. Worse than Cowboys and Aliens. A combination of too cliched and too dumb. Deadbeat dead rescued by estranged kid while beating up robots. OH PLEASE!!! Fortunately I watched a pirate download instead of paying for it. And even at that I skipped thru the last 45 minutes because I didn't want to spend the time telling myself how bad it was.

Maybe it should get extra points fro being worse than Cowboys and Aliens.
October 10, 2011
wow. so I take it you didn't like it...LOL. By the way I loved 'Cowboys and Aliens' I think you're taste in films is very similar to my husband...in fact you sound like him..
 
October 07, 2011
I'm really unsure about this flick. Part of me wants to see it just to see how great or how terrible it can be, and another part of me says to wait for the DVD. On the surface, the premise comes off a bit lame, but the trailers for it keep pushing it as this uber-feel good movie. I'm on the fence. I guess I'll have to go see it!
October 07, 2011
well if you watch our video, you'll get two different opinions...Check it out and see who you agree with. Hopefully it's me LOL
October 07, 2011
I did watch the video, and as soon as I see the film, I'll let you know who's side I'm on! ;)
October 07, 2011
Excellent. :)
 
October 06, 2011
Good review, I like sci fi!
October 06, 2011
thanks Scot. You'll love this film.
 
October 06, 2011
I was wondering about this flick- it seemed to have a unique storyline and I think it's also kinda cool that the newest robot fights along with the lead character. Great review!
October 06, 2011
remember these toys...? Obviously this film was inspired by them and made to be a feel good movie.

October 06, 2011
Yep! That's funny because I thought the same thing when I first saw the trailer! I used to play with these when I was younger lol...
October 06, 2011
These robots are soooo cool. Especially Atom. OMG you'll love it.
 
October 06, 2011
I actually have tickets for me to see this tomorrow. Sounds like a great fantasy/feel good movie. I think the two of you should be color-coordinated all the time LOL!. I think this was inspired with the toyline that you push buttons to punch right? There's a lot of manipulation here LOL! Anyway, I'll comment more once I've seen it tomorrow....

Btw, have you reviewed Bunraku? I liked it and reviewed it, and I didn't want to be alone under the topic.
October 06, 2011
If you're connected to your 'inner boy' as I am, you'll love it. I don't mind being manipulated...sometimes. LOL. We missed the screening of Bunraku. I'll check out your review
 
1
More Real Steel reviews
review by . October 08, 2011
posted in Forbidden Planet
Boxing movies have been a staple of Hollywood for decades. Some of the earliest celluloid offerings documented pugilistic bouts in films such as Raging Bull, The Fighter, and the iconic Rocky series and helped boxing cement itself in both popular and cinematic culture. In the film “Real Steel”, Hugh Jackman plays Charlie Kenton, a down-on-his-luck promoter whose best days are definitely behind him. In the near-future setting of the film, robots have replaced humans in the boxing ring …
About the reviewer
Joan & John Schwartz ()
My husband (creator of the cult classic films FACES OF DEATH) andmyself (actress/screenwriter) are ex New Yorkers, see alot of films and usually disagree. So our friends decided that we need a review … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
2_TwoJewsOnFilm
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Details

Director: Shawn Levy
Genre: Action, Drama, Sci-Fi
Release Date: 7 October 2011 (USA)
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Screen Writer: John Gatins, Dan Gilroy
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Forbidden Planet is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists