WALL-E

2008 computer-animated film produced by Pixar Animation Studios

< read all 37 reviews

One of the cinematic greats. Where's the Oscar?

  • Apr 24, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
My better half bought us tickets through the SF Film Institute for a special screening at Pixar Studios in Emeryville before the general release. I meanwhile bought her a bunch of flowers, but I promise to try harder this year. 

The Pixar Studios were really interesting in every way you'd expect - and it was an honor to meet many of their talented artists and storytellers who simply do a better job at filmmaking than the vast majority of studios these days. They're all very understated people who seem much more engaged with their characters than the media attention. They also seem to have a connection with childhood that I was always scared to lose, and realize I must have lost a while ago.

One of the tenets of screenwriting is "show, don't tell", which sounds obvious enough but is very hard to do skilfully. Actually, it's just really hard: plot points and character changes are just much easier to achieve with dialog, so we've moved from silent cinema - where they had to show character - to plainly bland film making, centered around dialog.

In this respect alone, it's an achievement. For the first 25/30 minutes, nobody has any major dialog and yet the audience understands every nuance of the character. There is nothing undiscovered in Act 1, even though they barely/never speak. Beyond that, it's a tightly executed movie in the classic Pixar way, the type that emotionally enslaves the audience like any good film should.

Since my original viewing, I've seen it several times - Wall-E is a rare film that will stand the test of time. While I'm happy to add my Pixar experience to my feelings about this film, the truth is it's one of the all-time great movies and it's a complete shame on the Academy that Best Film wasn't offered.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
19
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
May 06, 2009
I do agree with you that it should have been nominated for best picture, but I am very pleased that it won best animated film :)
 
April 29, 2009
Whoa, that's awesome that you managed to snag some tickets to see it at Pixar Studio! Did you see a giant, inflatable Wall-E and Eve when you were there?

Wall-E is right up there in the list of my favorite movies EVER.  It doesn't get much better than a cute, rusty robot who loves Hello, Dolly! and falls in love with a cute, shiny robot :)
 
April 27, 2009
My fave scene in this movie is when Wall-E and Eve fly together in outer space, romancing each other to this old jazz standard. The fact that I'm moved by two computer-animated robots falling in love says quite a lot about this movie. This is definitely my fave Pixar film, even more so than The Incredibles.
April 27, 2009
Yes - really excellent scene. It's amazing they pulled off this film since it's the sort of concept that never gets made anymore. I just got tix to see 'Up' at Pixar on May 11 :-)
April 27, 2009
I forgot that Up was coming out until I saw a giant billboard for it yesterday! You'll have to let us know how it is. I'm curious if they can ever top Wall-E.
 
April 25, 2009
I'll check it out.......I'm a big fan of Pixar. Shame on the Academy for a lot of things......think of all the great stars and movies of the past that were never recognized!
 
April 25, 2009
The first 30 minutes of this movie I was like "what the heck?" But it grew on me and I stuck it out and I'm so glad I did.
 
1
More WALL-E reviews
review by . January 31, 2010
Quite possibly Pixars best film
    Pixar has come of age my friends.       Pixar has never made a bad movie, in fact I'd consider almost all of them to be a masterpiece, but none of them, before now, have tried to be anything more then emotional family affairs, not that there is anything wrong with that, but they weren't necessarily deep, meaningful beyond personal issues, or revealed anything about our society. Now, I say again, there isn't anything wrong with that, but Wall-E goes beyond    …
Quick Tip by . September 16, 2010
cute flick about little robot. funny segment where the bot goes into space and encounters slug-like humans with little minds and no initiative served by a robot work-force.
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
pixar wins again...like they always do. With barely any, if not any, spoken dialogue in this movie but some beeps and sounds that only come from things you can purchase at best buy, it still captivates you and I'm not gonna lie def made me cry..one tear...I work out
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
the first half has no dialogue which is fantastic sound production
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
So cute what Wall-E does... love the little guy and his little girlfriend. Very cute film
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Wall-E is a great animated movie and is a great movie to give the kids as a present anytime of the year
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
Adorable. Disney-Pixar does it again.
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2010
Startling!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
A pretty good movie. I expected a little bit more, but over-all satisfactory. Love the music.
Quick Tip by . May 24, 2010
An interesting look into the future with an endearing robot and his solitary life on a polluted, desolate earth, and his search for love.
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
Up
Up
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

WALL-E is a 2008 computer-animated science fiction film produced by Pixar Animation Studios and directed by Andrew Stanton. It follows the story of a robot named WALL-E who is designed to clean up a waste-covered Earth far in the future. He eventually falls in love with another robot named EVE, and follows her into outer space on an adventure that changes the destiny of both his kind and humanity.

After directing Finding Nemo, Stanton felt Pixar had created believable simulations of underwater physics and was willing to direct a film largely set in space. Most of the characters do not have actual human voices, but instead communicate with body language and robotic sounds, designed by Ben Burtt, that resemble voices. In addition, it is the first animated feature by Pixar to have segments featuring live-action characters.



Walt Disney Pictures released it in the United States and Canada on June 27, 2008. The film grossed US$23.1 million on its opening day, and $63 million during its opening weekend in 3,992 theaters, ranking #1 at the box office. This ranks as the fourth highest-grossing opening weekend for a Pixar film as of May 31, 2009. Following Pixar tradition, WALL-E was paired with a short film, Presto, for its theatrical release. WALL-E has been met with overwhelmingly positive reviews among critics, scoring an approval rating of 96% on the review aggregator Rotten Tomatoes.

It grossed $534 million worldwide, won the 2008 Golden Globe Award for Best Animated Feature...
view wiki

Details

Director: Andrew Stanton
Genre: Family
Release Date: June 27, 2008
MPAA Rating: G
Screen Writer: Andrew Stanton
Runtime: 1hr 37min
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios
First to Review

"A Robot with Heart"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Forbidden Planet is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists