Music : World
Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Latin & European Music
Vivere Live in Tuscany

A DVD of pop concert by Andrea Bocelli

< read all 2 reviews

I can't help falling in love with you

  • Oct 27, 2010
Rating:
+5
Like Sashimi, he's an acquired taste.
Like red wine, he gets even better as he aged...

I didn't know that I'd like him as much as I'd at this moment. I had began to listen to Andrea Bocelli over some 10 years ago. He must have improved a great deal since, or else it's digital mastering that's making him a great singer! What I'm listening to now is his concert in Tuscany in 2007 and whatever the reason/s, I must say I'm enjoying this DVD more than I've ever enjoyed most of the DVDs I've had in my collection. This one has some of Bocelli's best. 18 performances with different singers, many duets. Some featuring Kenny G, Lang Lang, Elisa, Heather Headley and also Sarah Brightman. 


Despite being blind, he managed to convey his colorful vision of his world to the audiences. And we can see that clearly from the responses to him here. I was updating some of the pages on Lunch.com when I first switched this DVD on, yet, I kept getting distracted... his voices and songs called out for attention! Often, I had the TV/DVD on when I'm surfing, and for most part, I can keep my attention on the computer. In this case though, it's tough... he's that good! It's not that I'm watching to see him, the guy is not that good looking or young, but hey, he's got quite a charisma even with his eyes closed!!! Amazing, isn't it? He's like a statue reaching out, solid and firm, an energy that's drawing you to it, quite an experience to watch and to listen. Grasping & attracting... he certainly speaks to you with his voice & not his eyes ;-)

I'm still residing in China now, so Youtube is blocked and I can't add some videos for your enjoyment. However, you can check it out yourself and when I moved to Hong Kong in December, I'd be sure to embed them in this review. The advantage of living in China is that things are available abundantly and for cheap. This DVD/concert which features some 18 best selections is sold for some US$8 and that's an original version, not pirated. No Youtube or Facebook for now though :(

What more can I say? I'm happy with this purchase and am extremely happy to recommend it to Lunch's readers. If you can find a copy of it where you live, be sure to get it! You won't regret it!

For those who are familiar with Bocelli's songs, here's a list of his performances in this DVD:
  1. "Melodramma"
  2. "Romanza"
  3. "A te"(featuring Kenny G)
  4. "Vivo per lei" (duet with Heather Headley)
  5. "Io ci sarò" (featuring Lang Lang)
  6. "Hungarian Rhapsody" (performed by Lang Lang)
  7. "La voce del silenzio" (duet with Elisa)
  8. "Dancing" (performed by Elisa)
  9. "Canto della terra" (duet with Sarah Brightman)
  10. "Bellissime stelle"
  11. "Medley: Besame Mucho, Somos Novios (It's impossible), Can't Help Falling in Love"
  12. "Because we believe"
  13. "The Prayer" (duet with Heather Headley)
  14. "Italia" (featuring Chris Botti)
  15. "Dare to live" (duet with Laura Pausini)
  16. "Sogno"
  17. "Il mare calmo della sera"
  18. "Time To Say Goodbye" (Con Te Partiro)( duet with Sarah Brightman)

Last but not least, I so enjoy his rendition of Elvis' "I can't help falling in love with you"... It's like Elvis is back! Oh yes, I can't help falling in love with you... Andrea Bocelli!

Update: Dec. 3, 2010

I listened to this concert again on the way to Singapore this afternoon. This is my 3rd listening and yet on my MP5 I'm moved again. Such a marvelous concert and I can't wait but update you on the videos which I found on Youtube. Enjoy...

Some of my favorites from the concert:
Melodrama



Vivo Per Lei



Besame Mucho, I can't help falling in love with you (Medley)



Sogno

Sashimi & Wine Sashimi & Wine

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
November 01, 2010
Oh, you're still in China! I didn't realize that Youtube was banned there, but I guess you can sacrifice it for the other benefits :P This album sounds fantastic and I love all the all star performers on it. They all sound like really interesting collaborations that I'll have to check out. Thanks for sharing!
November 02, 2010
I do believe it's one of Bocelli's best! I'm sure you'll enjoy it v. much :) As for China, well, I'm moving to HK next month so I'm going to miss quite a bit of things here.
 
October 30, 2010
I really loved this concert, I watched it several times on television on PBS!
November 02, 2010
Awesome! I actually had it replayed 3x on my first viewing! :)
 
1
More Vivere Live in Tuscany reviews
Quick Tip by . October 27, 2010
If you haven't fallen in love with him, you'll in this DVD which features Andrea's concert in Tuscany. A great repertoire of his best selection of songs as well as an excellent mix of duets with some of the best female singers. 18 songs in this DVD which I bought online in China. The best value for money DVD I've ever collected. It's for keeps!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #1
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this product

Wiki

Vivere Live in Tuscany is a CD/DVD package of a pop concert by classical Italian tenor Andrea Bocelli. The concert was performed at Bocelli's Teatro del Silenzio in LajaticoTuscany, July 2007. In this DVD he performs duets with Sarah BrightmanElisaLaura Pausini and Heather Headley, and collaborates with Chris Botti andLang Lang and Kenny G. It was certified Triple Diamond in Brazil, by the ABPD, with over 375,000 copies sold in the country.

DVD

  1. "Melodramma"
  2. "Romanza"
  3. "A te"(featuring Kenny G)
  4. "Vivo per lei" (duet with Heather Headley)
  5. "Io ci sarò" (featuring Lang Lang)
  6. "Hungarian Rhapsody" (performed by Lang Lang)
  7. "La voce del silenzio" (duet with Elisa)
  8. "Dancing" (performed by Elisa)
  9. "Canto della terra" (duet with Sarah Brightman)
  10. "Bellissime stelle"
  11. "Medley: Besame MuchoSomos Novios (It's impossible), Can't Help Falling in Love"
  12. "Because we believe"
  13. "The Prayer" (duet with Heather Headley)
  14. "Italia" (featuring Chris Botti)
  15. "Dare to live" (duet with Laura Pausini)
  16. "Sogno"
  17. "Il mare calmo della sera"
  18. "Time To Say Goodbye" (Con Te ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music : World is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists