Fruit Lovers
Longing for fruits... badly!!!
Avocado

A berry that contains a pit which may be egg-shaped or spherical.

< read all 9 reviews

A Quick Tip by RabidChihuahua

  • Feb 11, 2013
Avocado is probably my favorite fruit, because of the fact that despite being a fruit, it's an excellent ingredient in so many savory dishes.  My favorite use of the avocado is for making guacamole, which is a perfect thing to go with meats like chicken or steak, and of course, as the ideal dip for tortilla chips.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
9
Post a Comment
February 22, 2013
Dip indeed
 
February 12, 2013
avocado in burgers, avocado in salad, avocado as a smoothie, avocado with cocoa, avocado with milk, avocado with chicken, avocado as dip, avocado ice cream, avocado cake, avocado in a skillet, avocado avocado avocado!! LOL
February 12, 2013
It's crazy as to how many culinary uses avocado has. I should be brave one day and try out an avocado shake with chocolate syrup.
 
1
More Avocado reviews
Quick Tip by . May 10, 2011
posted in Love Bites
Caption
It is rich and used abundantly in Japanese and Indonesian cuisine. It can be eaten raw or as the Japanese likes it, in California Roll. Alternatively, as a dessert in Indonesian cuisine, it's unbeatable when mixed with brown sugar and a tinge of coffee. A most recent discovery is Avocado mixed with Soursop or alternatively Mung beans.                  
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
Best when made into guacamole :)
Quick Tip by . March 23, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
One of my favorite foods ever. Creamy goodness in a perfect little package!
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
Make great sushi
Quick Tip by . March 17, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
Slime sliding down my throat that is fattening. Why would I eat avocado?
Quick Tip by . November 23, 2009
Great on its own, with sushi, as a juice or blended with other tropical fruit like Soursop. Highly nutritious!
Quick Tip by . September 08, 2009
Did you know that an avocado is actually a berry? Weird classification, but oh so delicious! I'll eat it with just about anything.
Quick Tip by . September 08, 2009
posted in Gourmand
LOVE avocados. I could live solely off of them if I had to. Unbelievable creaminess and though some say it has no taste, it does to me!
About the reviewer
David Kozak ()
I'm a morbid cynic who thinks very, very differently from most other people. Chances are, if the majority says X is the greatest in its category, I'll disagree with that notion, because I tend … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RabidChihuahua
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

The avocado (Persea americana), also known as palta or aguacate (Spanish), butter pear or alligator pear, is a tree native to the Caribbean, Mexico, South America and Central America, classified in the flowering plant family Lauraceae along with cinnamon, camphor and bay laurel. The name "avocado" also refers to the fruit (technically a large berry) of the kupa shell that contains a pit (hard seed casing) which may be egg-shaped or spherical.

Avocados are a commercially valuable crop whose trees and fruit are cultivated in tropical climates throughout the world (and some temperate ones, such as California), producing a green-skinned, pear-shaped fruit that ripens after harvesting. Trees are partially self-pollinating and often are propagated through grafting to maintain a predictable quality and quantity of the fruit.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Fruit Lovers is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists