Go Canada
All about traveling & living in Canada.
Niagara Falls

Waterfalls on the Niagara River, straddling the international border between the Canadian province of Ontario and the U.S. state of New York.

< read all 3 reviews

Niagara Falls at Dusk

  • Dec 9, 2010
Rating:
+5

Do you want to know the best way I have ever spent $2?

A visit to Niagara Falls, NY for the first time ever!!!!

$1 toll to cross the bridge there, $1 toll to cross the bridge on the way out.

Niagara Falls is about 7-8 hours west of Boston (therefore on our way home) so we decided we were going to stop and see them on our drive back to MN.  We got there just after sunset which is such a cool time to see it!

This is a view of Niagara, ON which is just across the falls/river

I am very proud of how nice these panoramas turned out.  This first one was stitched together using 5 photos, the 2nd one was stitched together using 7 photos.  The files are HUGE but I encourage you to click on either photo to see it viewed bigger on Flickr.  I could have a giant panorama poster made from either of these!

And some brief video footage:

We loved every minute that we spent at Niagara and wish that we would’ve had an entire day to visit so that we could’ve seen it from every perspective.  Unfortunately we had to get back to MN so we spent just a few hours at the Falls and then went to the Hard Rock for a late dinner before getting back on the road.

Niagara Falls was beautiful and I will definitely go back for a longer visit!


 
 
Related Posts with Thumbnails
 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
December 22, 2010
Interesting to see Niagara from the other side of the border! I've been to the Canadian side of it many times but never quite on the American side for some reason! Great shots!
 
December 10, 2010
Those photos are pheNOMenal, completely breathtaking. I've never been there but, man, maybe I'll have to make a trip I had to share this on Facebook, I know my friends will love it! Thanks :)
 
December 09, 2010
Those photos, wow! You've totally captured it! I love Niagara and I'm lucky to have been there three times. I really want to take my daughter there someday, along with any other kids we may have later! :)
 
December 09, 2010
Debbie is right, these photos are gorgeous! I went to college in Boston and Niagara was on the drive home for me too. Such a fun place to stop and enjoy a bit of nature and a great way to spend $2!
 
December 09, 2010
Wow, Kristi, I am blown away by your photos! Did you take those on a dSLR with long exposures? They're simply gorgeous and breathtaking! Great post :)
December 09, 2010
These were my settings on the 2nd photo above Camera Nikon D5000 Exposure 0.1 sec (1/10) Aperture f/3.5 Focal Length 18 mm Focal Length 18.3 mm ISO Speed 800 Exposure Bias 0 EV Flash No Flash
December 10, 2010
Very cool. I'm envious of your camera!
December 10, 2010
I have learned SO MUCH about photography and how to work this camera in the year that I have had it. Practice makes perfect and I have a long way to still go!
 
1
More Niagara Falls reviews
Quick Tip by . April 19, 2011
Caption
Went a couple of times to Niagara Falls when I was schooling & vacationing in Toronto. The most memorable trip? Right in the middle of winter. That was definitely a sight! Water in motion while part of it were frozen. It's not everyday you see that in life!       Niagara Falls is also the honeymoon city of the Canadians. Personally, as one of the great Falls, I prefer Iguazu Falls in Brazil over Niagara Falls. I've yet to see Victoria Falls so I can't determine …
Quick Tip by . December 26, 2010
posted in Go Canada
Niagara Falls can be magical in the winter when you spotted the water turned into ice and snow filled the entire area into an ice castle! Well, for one, you need to dress up for this occasion. Once is enough for me! (in the winter, that is!)
About the reviewer
Kristi ()
Member Since: Nov 19, 2010
Last Login: Feb 3, 2011 12:50 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
KristiSauer
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The Niagara Falls are voluminous waterfalls on the Niagara River, straddling the international border between the Canadian provinceof Ontario and the U.S. state of New York. The falls are 17 miles (27 km) north-northwest of Buffalo, New York and 75 miles (121 km) south-southeast of Toronto, Ontario, between the twin cities of Niagara Falls, Ontario, and Niagara Falls, New York.

Niagara Falls is composed of two major sections separated by Goat Island: the Horseshoe Falls, which today is entirely on the Canadian side of the border,[1] and the American Falls on the American side. The smaller Bridal Veil Falls are also located on the American side, separated from the main falls by Luna Island.

Niagara Falls were formed when glaciers receded at the end of the Wisconsin glaciation (the last ice age), and water from the newly formed Great Lakes carved a path through the Niagara Escarpment en route to the Atlantic Ocean. While not exceptionally high, the Niagara Falls are very wide. More than 6 million cubic feet (168,000 m³) of water falls over the crest line every minute in high flow,[2]and almost 4 million cubic feet (110,000 m³) on average. It is the most powerful waterfall in North America.[3]

The Niagara Falls are renowned both for their beauty and as a valuable source ...

view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Niagara Falls at Dusk"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Go Canada is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists