Hiking Lady's Corner
Welcome to Hiking Lady's Corner!
Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote

A book by Greg Mortenson.

< read all 30 reviews

This is a very good book

  • Apr 2, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
Three Cups of Tea is about Greg Mortensen's dedication to improve the lives of Pakistani and Afghan people. He has built thousands of schools for girls, provided communities of people with water, and built vocational centers for women. He is an intelligent man who learned to speak three different Pakistani languages fluently in ten years. I liked how he blended into the culture by learning how to pray and how to enjoy drinking tea with people. This book describes the constant violence between the people of India and Pakistan. I am amazed by how much Mortensen has accomplished despite all that violence. This book also describes the danger in Afghanistan with all the drug smuggling and land mines. The geography of Pakistan sounnds fascinating with the mountains like K2 and Gasherbrum. I knew nothing about the culture and geography of Pakistan, so I found this book very entertaining and insightful.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Three Cups of Tea reviews
review by . July 23, 2010
This is a true story about how a mountain climber having lost his way, is rescued by the people from an obscure and isolated village high in the mountains of Pakistan.  As Greg Mortenson was nursed back to health, the village chief showed him where the children had their school lessons.  It consisted of a bare plot of dirt where they scratched their lessons into the dry soil.  Greg was so moved that he promised he would build them a proper school.  Upon returning to his home …
review by . June 11, 2010
 This book really and truly was heart-wrenching. I cannot imagine the kind of love Mortenson had for the people in Pakistan. This book really makes a person stand back and look at what they have done with their own life. This is a good book for anyone high school age and older. It teaches a great lesson in humanity. Three Cups of Tea is not a hard read, but a good one.    
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/18/world/asia/18tea.html?th&emc=th
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
Reading this made me feel frustrated and tied in knots because of all the struggles he went through to finally reach his goal.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Inspiring. I heard Greg Mortenson speak at BYU last year and he is an incredible person.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
This should be mandatory reading of every high school student. You want to understand this poorly understood part of the world? Here is a good start.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
An amazing true story of a man's unselfishness to help build school's in Afghan and Pakistan
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
I love this concept, this book, and this writer!
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Very inspiring story of Mortenson's journey to change a nation though education.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Wonderful story of a man's trip into the world of poverty who makes a change! Inspiring
About the reviewer
Robert Yokoyama ()
I love to read new books and talk about them. I also like to listen to different kinds of music and talk about that. I am a friendly guy who likes to meet new people. I love to read books that teach me … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RobertYokoyama
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Three Cups of Tea is a New York Times bestselling book by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin published by Penguin in 2006. The book describes Mortenson's transition from a mountain-climber to a humanitarian committed to reducing poverty and educating girls in Pakistan and Afghanistan. He did this by co-founding the "Central Asia Institute," which has built over 78 schools in the most remote areas of the countries.

view wiki

Tags

Books, Book, Cafe Libri, Education, Nonfiction, Politics, History, New York Times Bestsellers, Bestsellers, Ny Times Bestsellers, Afghanistan, Pakistan, David Oliver Relin, Greg Mortenson, Penguin Books, Three Cups Of Tea

Details

ISBN-10: 0143038257 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780143038252 (pbk.)
Author: Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin
Genre: Non-Fiction
Publisher: Penguin
Date Published: January, 2007
First to Review

"This is a very good book"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Hiking Lady's Corner is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists