iApps
Well, these apps aren't going to review themselves
boxee iphone app in gesture mode

An iPhone/iPod App for remote controlling Boxee

< read all 2 reviews

Reinventing the touchscreen remote

  • Mar 24, 2009
Rating:
+4
Boxee is a media center type application that you can install on a Mac or Linux system as well as the AppleTV and other standalone media devices (apparently a Windows version is coming soon).  The Boxee iPhone app is a free application designed to work specifically with an instance of Boxee running on your home system.  The app has two primary control methods -- touch buttons, or gestures.  The touch buttons are pretty self explanatory.  The gestures are just AWESOME.  It's essentially like controlling your media center with a joystick...only you're using a touchscreen device.  Check out my video below to see how this works.  Also, when you go to a page that allows keyboard input (like searching YouTube content) the Boxee iPhone app AUTOMATICALLY switches to keyboard mode so you can type your search in directly.  That, in combination with the "Now Playing" interconnectivity really takes this app into what "convergence" is supposed to be.

My only gripe with the app is that it tends to lose connectivity with the host, so sometimes you need to exit back the main screen on your iPhone and relaunch the app.  However, this a minor inconvenience and once you get to what you want to watch, you usually don't spend a ton of time fiddling with the controls.

Both Boxee and the Boxee iPhone app are free, so there's no reason not to check the both out.




Boxee iPhone App Demo from TeamAWAC on Vimeo.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
August 20, 2009
Thanks, I didn't know this app existed. I will try it on my ipod touch. I haven't been using Boxee much lately due to stability issues on my Imac. Apple/someone needs to create an iphone/ipod app that controls all media apps on the computer. I use EyeTV, Hulu, Itunes, DVD player and boxee but use the wireless keyboard and mouse primarily.
August 20, 2009
I completely agree. I love the Boxee iPhone app, but I've been using EyeTV and Plex more often on the Mac. As such, I've switched to using Snatch primarily for my home theater purposes. http://lunch.com/t/hnw I've recently taken an interest in OpenRemote -- A group trying to create an Open Source protocol for all Home Automation applications. http://www.macminihometheater.com/2009/08/10...-the-end-of-the-tunnel/
August 25, 2009
ahhh, so many new things to try, downloading plex and snatch now
 
August 08, 2009
I am jealous man, as always. Nice work Wizard.
 
March 24, 2009
nice Andrew. very cool demo too... you should mention in the review that the demo is actually you... i wasn't going to click on it because i thought it was the boxee company demo (which is far less compelling to me than your own personal demo). Very cool man.
 
1
More Boxee iPhone App reviews
Quick Tip by . March 12, 2010
posted in iApps
Much more stable than the XBMC app. I really like the gesture feature
About the reviewer
Andrew ()
Ranked #2
I'm a technology early adopter. I thoroughly enjoy geeking out with the latest hardware, software and electronics. I probably have as much fun setting up, tweaking, and configuring systems as I do actually … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TeamAWAC
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

 The Boxee iPhone Remote Application turns your iPhone into a Boxee remote control. It connects to Boxee over WiFi and has two modes: Gesture Mode and Buttons Mode. In the Gesture Mode you can hold down your thumb and drag the logo around to move up, down, right or left. In Button Mode, you can click on the buttons to navigate. This application also allows you to enter text with the iPhone keyboard. The application is available on iTunes and is completely free.

Boxee is a freeware cross-platform media center software with social networking features that is a fork of the open source XBMC media center software with some custom and proprietary additions.

To suggest new features to include, post your ideas on getsatisfaction.com/boxee.

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
iApps is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists