iApps
Well, these apps aren't going to review themselves
Kindle App screen photo

iPhone application that allows you to read books on your iPhone and syncs with the Kindle book reader.

< read all 8 reviews

A perfect companion for the Kindle or Kindle DX

  • Jan 14, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+4
If you own an iphone and are an avid reader this is a great app. If you own a kindle this is a must have app. If you don't own a kindle and have been thinking about getting one the Kindle App is a great way to test your ability to read digitally before investing in a Kindle. 

For all the reasons I love the kindle I equally enjoy this app. It's not as full featured as the Kindle but it provides the same convenience of the kindle:
  • Lower cost books
  • Access to the kindle library
  • Small compact size
  • Sync's up with the kindle and vice versa

Having the Kindle I didn't really think I would use this app very much but the anywhere convenience is huge. You may not always carry a book or a kindle with you but how many times have you left he house with out a phone? I'd also like to think that I'm doing myself favor, when downtime presents itself rather than pulling out the phone to read texts or tweets to further feed my A.D.D., i can use my time more constructively to finish up an article from one of the paper's I subscribe to or read a couple more pages in whatever book I may be reading. 

 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
19
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
March 15, 2010
nice review Jim. Let's keep it real though. You're telling me you're using your kindle app in between surfing the web, checking scores, facebook, and twitter? nice work on Communities btw!
March 16, 2010
Yeah that's right, I like to read and the app is a great way to do it while at the same time having quick access to all those other things(FB, Scores, Twitter, web browser) without having to move from computer - to book - to espn. Can't wait for the iPad!
 
March 15, 2010
Once the iPad comes out, do you think there will still be much demand for the Kindle? For people who read in direct sunlight or need a really long battery life, I could see the value of the Kindle -- otherwise, the Kindle App on iPhone (and presumably iPad) is just as good.
March 17, 2010
great question, I'll let you know once I get the iPad. I'm thinking there is a use for it, but it could just end up being a great gift for one lucky family member.
April 07, 2010
The kindle turned out to be a great gift. Still have to wait and see what happens with the poolside readability, but I think the iPad can hack it.
 
January 14, 2010
Downloading this now to see what all the buzz is about, and you bring up some good points. I rarely ever read books, but since I'm obsessed with my iPhone, this might just help me start reading again! :)
 
1
More Kindle for iPhone reviews
review by . October 06, 2009
I'll be the first to admit that I don't read a much as I should.  When I do read, I enjoy it, but for some reason, finding the time to read has become more and more difficult lately.  For a recent flight I thought I'd purchase a book using Kindle for the iPhone to see if perhaps a technology gadget could get me to start reading again more.      While I didn't get to read at all during my cross-country flights (anyone flown with a 9 month old recently?), I have …
review by . April 04, 2009
I didn't think this application would interest me. The thought of reading an entire book on my iPhone didn't seem like something I would enjoy. Considering that I haven't had time to read a "real" book cover to cover in a decade I thought I would give it a shot. I have now finished my third book in less than two weeks. Having it on my iPhone has enabled me reading opportunities that I wouldn't have had before. I am reading everywhere with a device that is already on me at all times.  It's easy …
review by . March 30, 2010
posted in iApps
Kindle for the iPhone is a good reader if you don't mind the small screen size, and it is convenient for adding Kindlebooks from the iPhone.   The UI is simple and un cluttered, it is just for reading - as well it should be.
Quick Tip by . May 01, 2010
posted in iApps
I love reading on my Kindle and then switching to my iPhone when I'm on the go. I read twice as much!
Quick Tip by . April 07, 2010
Still relevant, and works great with the iPad kindle. amazon is till my source for books and music.
review by . June 09, 2009
The "Kindle" is a e-book reader that uses "electronic ink" instead of an LCD screen for it's display.  It's offered through Amazon.com, but there are other readers that use similar technology.... most notably the ones from Sony.   But these new readers are pretty expensive.       But now, for owners of an Apple Iphone or Ipod Touch, there's a free App from Amazon (Also called the "Kindle") that lets you Buy, Download, and Read the books offered in the "Kindle …
Quick Tip by . September 01, 2009
The Kindle app for the iPhone is a must, especially when used in conjunction with the kindle. http://lunch.com/t/gmn
About the reviewer
Jim O. ()
Hello! I'm the head of product at lunch and my passion is to build a product that gives the community tools to learn from others, share experiences & expertise, and promote good conversations … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jolson
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Kindle for the iPhone allows iPhone and iPod touch owners to read Kindle books using a simple, easy-to-use interface. You can shop for hundreds of thousands of books at www.amazon.com/kindlestore, and wirelessly transfer the books to your iPhone or iPod touch. 

Read Kindle books on your iPhone or iPod touch
• No Kindle required
• Access your Kindle books even if you don't have your Kindle with you
• Automatically synchronizes your last page read between devices with Amazon Whispersync
• Adjust the text size, add bookmarks, and view the annotations you created on your Kindle
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
iApps is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists