iApps
Well, these apps aren't going to review themselves

Play Scrabble With Your Friends Anytime, Anywhere

  • Jan 27, 2010
  • by
  • posted in iApps
Rating:
+5
Words With Friends allows you to fulfill your Scrabble addiction- anytime,  anywhere and with anyone all for free. You can buy the full version for $2.99 but, I think that's a little high to pay to get rid of annoying ads. The free version shows ads after every few answers. I've found a way around them though and all you have to do is touch underneath the ad and they give you the choice to go to the ad or continue with your game. There's no need to deal with annoying ads or pay $3- win/win!

John Mayer called it the new Twitter. Speaking of Twitter, you can invite your tweeps or Facebook buddies to join in on the fun. You can choose to play with friends from your contact list. You can also select amongst over 500, 000 online players by choosing "Random Opponent". If you happen to be hanging out with a friend, waiting in line or looking for a timewaster, you can choose "Pass and Play" which allows you to do just that and play with a friend without having to lug around a Scrabble board and all its tiles.

You can chat with friends online while you play, so that you don't lose out on any of the witty banter that you'd be saying if you were playing face-to-face. If you are a wee bit impatient, like I am, you have the option of playing up to 20 games at a time. There aren't any time limits, so you can get a bit restless waiting for some random person to figure out what to spell out with their given tiles.

So, if you love Scrabble or want to practice for the next game night, head to your App store and download the free version. Have fun and once you're on there, my user name is djevoke, I'd love to play you!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
30
Fun to Read
30
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
November 14, 2011
Sounds engaging !
 
March 03, 2010
Nice review. I had never heard of this before. SOunds like a great idea. Thanks for letting us know about it.
March 04, 2010
Anytime, Paul! It's a great time waster...
 
January 27, 2010
Thanks for sharing, love! This sounds dangerous because I love Scrabble and I love my iPhone, so I could very easily get addicted to this!   I'll download it, but resist the urge to play too much ;)
January 28, 2010
Try hard not to fall prey to it ;p I love this pic of you love!
 
January 27, 2010
Thanks, Sam! Sounds like fun!
January 27, 2010
Anytime, Woo!
 
January 27, 2010
I have played this game and thisgame sure brought back memories.
January 27, 2010
It's fun, isn't it?
 
January 27, 2010
Oh, no. You didn't just tell me about this! I am a Scrabble addict - this would totally eat up my free time. :)
January 27, 2010
It does and it kinda makes it worse that you can play up to 20 games LOL...look me up for a game or two!
January 27, 2010
I think I'll have to decline, as much as I would love to I just don't have the time! :)
 
1
More Words With Friends reviews
Quick Tip by . June 01, 2012
posted in iPad Buzz
Caption
Can be addicting but the beauty of this app (on iPad as well as Android phones) is that it allows one to play at one's pace as well as with friends and strangers alike!       Nothing about an age old game other than a great way to improve one's vocab. I only wish it has a dictionary within the app itself!!! Great that it's free of charge though!
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
posted in iApps
Was reluctant at first, now I'm addicted!
Quick Tip by . February 05, 2010
posted in iApps
Thanks to @djevoke, I'm becoming addicted to this! :x Add me - devora :D
Quick Tip by . January 27, 2010
Recently added to my iPhone! Multiple Scrabble games w/ friends. Great timekiller. Can't wait for them to fix push notifications though.
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #4
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this game

Wiki

Words With Friends is a lot like Scrabble but way better, because you can play with your friends online, meaning you could even play from the comfort of your toilet seat, how’s that for a selling point, baazing!

But before you can play any game you need to know the rules, so let’s get to it.

TILE PLACEMENT

The first word of every game has to have at least one tile placed on the star square. Each new word formed must share at least one tile of a pre-existing word. Words can be formed horizontally (left to right) and vertically (top to bottom).

SCORING

Each letter has a set value, so for example D is worth two points, O is one point and G is three points. If you were to spell the word DOG you would earn a total of six points. There are also blank tiles, although they carry no point value they can become any letter you wish, making them very useful for completing words that wouldn’t have been possible otherwise.

There are also premium squares spread across the board — DL=Double Letter, TL=Triple Letter, DW=Double Word and TW=Triple Word.

Premium squares are highly sought after, they have the potential to multiply your score greatly. For example if you were to play the word AX, A is worth one point and X is 8 points, you’d only score a total of 9 points. But if the X was placed on the TL square, that would increase the value of X from 8 to 24 points, bringing you to the new total of 25 points.

If you use all 7 tiles in one turn...

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
iApps is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists