I (blank) the 80's.
For those who either love or hate the 80's.
Original Poster

A 1985 adventure movie directed by Richard Donner

< read all 12 reviews

"Goonies Never Say Die!"

  • Dec 23, 2008
Rating:
+4
In 1985, Steven Spielberg (Indiana Jones and E.T.)served as an executive producer on The Goonies, an adventure film based on a story by Spielberg and directed by Richard Donner (Superman). Since the film's release, it's become a cult classic of sorts, as well as being a favorite film for nostalgic teens and adults.

Title shot
The story follows a group of outcast kids growing up in Oregon, who call themselves the Goonies, as they spend their last weekend together before their parents are forced to sell their homes to make way for a golf course. Mikey, the youngest and most precocious of the Goonies, finds a pirate's treasure map in his attic and realizes that if the Goonies can find the treasure then their parents won't have to sell their homes. Mikey and his good friends, Chunk, Mouth, and Data begin following the clues that will lead to the treasure and they're eventually joined by Mikey's older brother, Brand and two high school girls, Andy and Stef. But things become complicated when a family of second-rate criminals, the Fratellis, catch Chunk and find out about the treasure. Jake and Francis Fratelli lock Chunk up in a room with their deformed brother, Sloth. Sloth may be fearsome in appearance but his grotesque exterior hides a heart of gold, and he and Chunk become fast friends. Meanwhile the other Goonies make their way through a series of underground tunnels, all the way avoiding booby traps and following the clues. Little do they know that the Fratellis, lead by Mama Fratelli, are in hot pursuit. But can the Goonies find the pirates' treasure and save their homes, and can they outsmart the Fratellis?


Like many of Spielberg's own films, The Goonies follows a specific formula. The kids, like those in E.T., swear frequently and use vulgar language, so parents be warned. There's also some risqué humor and comic violence, but most of which is simply too funny to be offensive. When inspected closely, the story unravels due to numerous plot holes, continuity errors, and a general lack of realism. But that's all part of the charm of The Goonies.
The Goonies
The ensemble cast is terrific especially Sean Astin as Mikey, Jeff Cohen as Chunk, Corey Feldman as Mouth, Ke Huy Quan as Data, Josh Brolin as Brand, Martha Plimpton as Stef, Kerri Green as Andy, John Matuszak as Sloth, Robert Davi as Jake Fratelli, Joe Pantoliano as Francis Fratelli, and Anne Ramsey as Mama Fratelli.

DVD
The excellent DVD includes outtakes (features the infamous missing octopus scene), "The Making of The Goonies" vintage featurette, a ridiculously silly 12-minute Cyndi Lauper music video, theatrical trailer, and an audio commentary (with video commentary by Richard Donner, Sean Astin, Jeff Cohen, Corey Feldman, Ke Huy Quan, Josh Brolin, Martha Plimpton and Kerri Green). This audio/video commentary is perhaps the most entertaining feature I've ever seen on a DVD and alone makes this a worthy purchase.
Original poster Poster Poster Alternate poster Title sequence

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
July 10, 2010
HAHA Yeah man I love this flick right here, this is classic for me. Excellent review.
July 10, 2010
I can't wait for the new 25th anniversary edition DVD!
July 10, 2010
Man I will be picking it up for sure.
July 10, 2010
I think it will be out in late Summer or early Autumn, just in time for my birthday.
 
December 07, 2009
I love this movie! After reading your review, I am inspired to go put on my custom made The Goonies t-shirt and watch my favorite movie!
December 08, 2009
Thanks for the kind words. You'll have to post a picture of you in your Goonies shirt.
 
1
More The Goonies reviews
review by . December 22, 2008
The Goonies was one of those 80's movies that every kid had seen.  It wasn't great, but it was certainly memorable.  I recently re-watched it and was surprised at how enjoyable this movie still was.  I think the testament to its longevity are the characters -- the characters are such an eccentric and diverse group, that you can't help but try to identify yourself and your friends with the characters in the movie.
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Slightly dark kids adventure about kids looking for pirate treasure to save their town from investors. Another classic with many memorable moments.
Quick Tip by . September 14, 2010
Every kid wishes they could have had an adventure like the ones the Goonies had.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Great movie for the pre-teen set. As an adult it is a bit hard to get into.
review by . June 25, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I don't think I've ever seen a movie so corny yet so cute at the same time. Despite the 1980s special effects and acting, there's a certain charm to The Goonies. It's largely from the energy of the kids - led by The Lord Of The Rings's Sean Astin. The kids are loud - sometimes too loud - but they're also adorable. The movie follows them along on their quest for lost treasure - and maturity. This is a great adventure movie for kids (although Sloth might be a bit scary).
review by . June 25, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I don't think I've ever seen a movie so corny yet so cute at the same time. Despite the 1980s special effects and acting, there's a certain charm to The Goonies. It's largely from the energy of the kids - led by The Lord Of The Rings's Sean Astin. The kids are loud - sometimes too loud - but they're also adorable. The movie follows them along on their quest for lost treasure - and maturity. This is a great adventure movie for kids (although Sloth might be a bit scary).
review by . December 22, 2008
The Goonies is one of those classic 80's film that everyone loves. Okay, so maybe not everyone exactly, but close enough. The Goonies is set in Oregon, where a group of kids who call themselves The Goonies are faced with a predicament. There is a foreclosure on their families' homes because of an expanding Country Club. On one of the group's last hang out days, the gang is gathered in Mikey's attic and run into some old newspaper clippings and a map. These were part of an old rumor of a pirate treasure …
review by . November 30, 2008
Combining swashbuckling, mystery, murder, pre-teen wonder and teen angst, "The Goonies," is a wonderful film about two brothers and their friends who are about to lose their homes but wind up on an amazing journey that just might save them all. When the Walsh brothers and their friends find a map in the family attic, the "Goonies" set out on one last adventure before having to say goodbye to each other.    What they find is a trail leading to the treasure of the infamous One-Eyed …
review by . April 04, 2008
The Goonies Movie Cover
 I have seen this movie more times that I can count... in fact more times than any other movie in my lifetime--by far. This is partly because it was a favorite of both my older brothers, my sister, and many friends in college. Its the classic "throw it in" movie for any Sunday afternoon, and I am pretty convinced that at anytime of any day...SOMEWHERE this movie is playing on some channel.     Its the Goonies. Its adventure, pirates, risking it all and beating the odds. …
About the reviewer
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Count_Orlok_22
About this movie

Wiki


You may be surprised to discover that the director of theLethal Weaponmovies and scary horror flickThe Omen, Richard Donner, also produced and directed this classic children's adventure (which, by the way, was written by Donner's screen-wizard friend Steven Spielberg). Then again you may not.The Goonies, like Donner's other movies, is the same story of good versus evil. It has its share of bad guys (the Fratelli brothers and their villainous mother), reluctant-hero good guys (the Walsh bothers and their gang of friends), and lots of corny one-liners. Like in an old-fashioned Hardy Boys or Nancy Drew plot, the Goonies need to solve a problem: a corrupt corporate developer has bought out their neighborhood and plans to flatten all their homes. Luckily, the beloved gang stumbles on a treasure map. In the hopes of finding the treasure to buy back their houses, the Goonies embark on their quest through underground passages, aboard pirate ships, and behind waterfalls. This swashbuckling and rollicking ride was also a great breeding ground for a couple of child actors who went on to enjoy numerous successes in adulthood: Sean Astin (Rudy,Encino Man) and Martha Plimpton (Pecker,200 Cigarettes).--Samantha Allen Storey
view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
I (blank) the 80's. is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists