Go China
All about traveling & living in China.
Danxiashan Geopark

A Geopark in Guangdong Province, China

< read all 1 reviews

Adam & Eve? ;-)

  • Nov 3, 2010
Rating:
+3
I didn't enjoy this geopark as much as I had the others which I visited in China. It took me about 45 mins by bullet train from Guangzhou to Shaoguan, another 1 hour by taxi from Shaoguan to Danxiashan. The park is scattered with many kinds of rocks, the main attraction for many is this:



and these:




Queer, isn't it?

However, as a geopark, the site is too scattered and not that well maintained. Signs are not clear and trails are not well marked. In addition, some of the sights are quite disappointing. There are certainly rooms for improvement.

One main reason why I didn't enjoy it as much as I had is probably due to my arrival time. Noon is really bad for photography as well as for climbing the mountain. This geopark is best appreciated in the morning. (I didn't stay for the night as I was a little short of time since I wanted to see Guangzhou Opera House in the night.) Luckily for me, the weather last weekend was great so I can't quite complain. What I do feel is that since this geopark is a little out of the way and not as famous as the many other more awesome sites in China, it has been neglected by most except for those who are residing in Guangdong province. However, with the bullet trains traversing so frequently between Shaoguan (a train every 30 min) and Guangzhou, it's foreseeable that many from other parts of China will eventually end up here. Hence, it pays for the authority concerned to keep it well maintained.

Entrance fee: RMB 100.
Bullet train (one way): RMB 110.
Taxi from Shaoguan train station (which is way off the city center) to Danxiashan Geopark (one way): RMB 150. No bus or mini bus from bullet train station to the geopark.

Time spent inside the park: 4 hours.
I was told most people spend about 1/2 day here, that's all. 
Hence, not very dynamic as far as a geopark is concerned.

If you plan on taking the boat ride, be ready to spend more time here. That's one of the best way to appreciate this park, I was told. In addition, sunrise is supposed to be great here.

And when the light is right, this is what you'll see:




Is it worth visiting for a foreigner? As far as I'm concerned, there are many more breathtaking national parks in China to visit (as in Huangshan, Zhangjiajie, Guilin, Xianggelila, etc..). If you're not living in China, skip this one. Spend your time wisely.
Adam & Eve? ;-) Adam & Eve? ;-)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
November 08, 2010
o.O at those rock shapes :P

Never heard of this park, but I want to visit it now!  Especially since whenever I'm in Hong Kong, I'm most likely to travel to the Guangdong region.  Thanks for sharing!
 
November 06, 2010
hahah. I think I may go visit this place...I still dig # 2 the best for some reason ;)
 
November 06, 2010
LOL! Picture # 2 got my attention!....it reminds me of something as well as # 1...I cannot place where I've seen those shapes...Hmm...I need to think this through... ;)
November 06, 2010
Yeah, right! :D I've been trying to embed this other pix into the review but unsuccessfully. Take a look: http://www.danxiashan.org.cn/new/upfile/1/20098/821395366f04.jpg
 
November 03, 2010
I'm with J.R. on this one, lol. All I can say is interesting rock shapes. :)
November 06, 2010
;-)
 
November 03, 2010
great tips and suggestions in here Sharrie... not to mention the pics! Those rock shapes are very.... ummmmm... interesting. Great review!
November 06, 2010
It certainly is. I've seen lots of men and women clicking away and many had a lot of fun posing with the rocks! You could say one of the few rocks that truly rock! ;-)
 
1
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #1
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Source: GlobalGeopark.Org

Danxiashan Geopark, which covers 290km2, is located in Guangdong Province, P. R. China. The world-wide landforms formed by red terrestrial sandstone and conglomerate and characterized by red rock walls and cliffs are all known as Danxia landform, and Danxia Mountain is the very location where this special landform was named.

Danxia Mountain is situated in an intermountain basin in the south of the Nanling mountain range. The whole mountain has red-bed peak forest type of structure with 380 (big or small) rock peaks, rock forts, rock walls and rock stacks. Its main peak is 618m above the sea level, and most of the rests stand between 300-400m. They are different in height and shape, and show all-encapsulating scene of sublimity. Danxia Mountain is formed by red sandstone and conglomerate and characterized by red cock walls and cliffs. It is named for Danxia (means red rosy clouds) because it appears like multi-layer red rosy clouds. Danxia Mountain is also called China’s "Red Stone Park", and has been the first peculiar mountain in Nanling mountain range since ancient times. The pieces of rock on Danxia Mountain look like man, animal or bird, etc., which seem to be some masterpieces created by sculptors, but none of them is not arrived from the uncanny workmanship of the nature. 

The materials that form Danxia landform were basically formed in 70-90Ma Cretaceous red fluviolacustrine sandstone and conglomerate. Before about ...

view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Adam & Eve? ;-)"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Go China is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists