Los Angeles
What you have to say about everything LA!
Los Angeles

A city in southern California.

< read all 10 reviews

THE DEMOCRATS ARE COMING!

  • Aug 7, 2000
  • by
Rating:
+3
Pros: It never rains in Southern California

Cons: occasionally feel a jolt from a Earthquake

Los Angeles is host to the National Democratic Convention, starting August 14, 2000 to be held at The Staples Center in downtown Los Angeles. The Republican Mayor, Richard Riordan is preparing the residents of the city of Angels for this historic event.

The surrounding area of the site is largely hispanic, and still unsure of what is happening in their neighborhood, according to some news reports. The Mayor has stated that there will be bilingual announcements explaining what is taking place and how the parking and traffic will affect those who live in this area.

Starting Monday, August 7, 2000 freeway ramps and street closures take place. Hope Street and Venice Boulevard are now one-way streets. Flower Street and Georgia Street will be closed as well. Most of this disruption will take part in the southern part of downtown south of 9th Street. The Pico Boulevard offramp and the 11th Street onramp to the northbound Harbor Freeway will be closed for the duration as well as the westbound Santa Monica Freeway’s Pico Boulevard off ramp will be shut down.

The Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) has a Blue Line that runs from Long Beach to downtown Los Angeles. The Red Line goes to Hollywood and the San Fernando Valley. There is The Blue Bus, a separate line for the city of Santa Monica. Hop on one of these and an hour later you will be at the beach and ten degrees cooler at least. There are some beeps to aide the visually impaired when in the city of Santa Monica at the stop lights. You also may be recorded at some lights in the cities of Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, so smile and do not run a red light.

There is a bus that can wisk you around downtown that costs a quarter and is called the Dash. Union Station is located at the corner of Alameda and Cesar Chavez Boulevard. Go further up Cesar Chavez towards Hollywood and the name changes to Sunset Boulevard and you will pass Children’s Hospital on the way.

There is a designated protest site in the area of Olympic Boulevard and Francisco Street. Several protests are being organized by Catholic Churches, but it has been printed that Cardinal Roger M. Mahony is not expected to participate and will be out of town during the week of the convention. A candlelight vigil is to be held during Vice President Al Gore’s speech. On opening day there will be marches from Pershing Square to the Staples Center. There is a page full of the protests being planned during this event in the Los Angeles Times. I am an ex-subscriber but pick up the paper on Sundays for the coupons and television times.

If you will be standing and waiting in lines during your visit, check out the periodicals located all around downtown. The Downtown News is a free newspaper that covers cultural and arts events and dining suggestions. The Working World showcases temporary agencies and some tips in finding a job and does a spotlight on a different career each issue. They are published twice a month and located at www.workingworld.com. The Los Angeles Times is located at www.latimes.com and also 1-800-252-9141. The L. A. Parent is a publication that lists all areas of the city. There is a directory where with one phone call you can find a nanny, get a tummy tuck, find a camp, places to take your kids and a monthly calendar. They are located at www.parenthoodweb.com

There will be a high-security zone set up in the area immediately around the arena. They are installing a high fence and it should be done by the end of this week. The Secret Service is allowing only convention delegates and others with prior clearance in the restricted area.

Why not take a taxi while tooling around Los Angeles and check out Bell cab at 1-800-999-9977. They gave me a nice refrigerator magnet. What if there is a medical emergency and you are not feeling well, or heat exhaustion, etc. The hospital I am registered with is White Memorial Medical Center and they are on Cesar Chavez past the Union Station. Across the street from Union Station is the Postal Annex, for the forgotten bills you might need to send off. The Medial Center is part of the Adventist Health of Southern California. The phone number is (323) 268-5000. Check them out at www.WhiteMemorial.com Oscar De La Hoya made a large donation on behalf of his mother to this Hospital.

Are you in need of some medicine or need to transfer a prescription you forgot. Here in Los Angeles there are Rite-Aid pharmacies all over, like 7-11 on each corner in other cities. Call 1-800-RITE AID for the location of a 24-hour store near you. Check them out at www.drugstore.com

The library downtown is located on 5th Street and their number is (213) 228-7000. The surrounding areas of downtown Los Angeles still have the (213) area code. If calling Hollywood you will have to use (323). The valley is (818) and there are other area codes for the beach communities and west Los Angeles.

Need to find a K-mart while in Los Angeles, contact 1-800-866-0086. For the state internet site, try www.state.ca.gov. For local events and tourism the number is 1-800-862-2543. There is a Chuck E Cheese in Pasadena see this web site for directions and hours, www.ChuckECheese.com, and a Discovery Zone in Burbank.

Do you want some food delivered, how about trying Pink Dot, they deliver in 30 minutes and the stars use this service too! Try them at 1-800-746-5368 and see their menu at www.pinkdot.com. The Dodgers had the right idea and according to the 2000 home and road schedule, they will be in Florida and then New York during this time. After spending the week in downtown, why not head off to Raging Waters. They are located where all the freeways join in San Dimas. I have never been there but see what they offer at www.ragingwaters.com.

The weather in August in the city of Los Angeles is hot and sticky. The temperatures have been in the 70s at the beach to the 100s in the desert. Downtown highs can go from 85 – 95 and it peaks late afternoon. Skip the rain gear during the summer months and pack bottled water instead. On many street corners and outside the local grocery store chains, Von’s and Ralph’s, you can find the 25 cents machines to fill your gallon jugs. I recommend always having a bottle with you, especially if you are taking a bus and standing outside.

There are always vendors on the streets of Los Angeles and you can find a hot dog, corn on the cob, sodas, ice creams and vegetables in most locales. It might help if you know a little Spanish language as well.

When you get off the ramps and arrive on city streets, you will find more vendors trying to sell oranges and flowers and those that have their signs wanting a hand out. The on ramps also have a green light and during rush hours you wait for the green light and proceed. The ramps are together so it is best to accelerate and move it off that lane into another and get out of town fast.

The city will be operating a toll-free help line at 1-999-356-4661. Look at the tracked traffic at www.smarttraveler.com. Also available is the cities site at www.trafficinfo.lacity.org.

Enjoy your stay here in Los Angeles. I am the one driving with the bumper sticker that says, “annoy liberals”. It is for a local radio station.



Recommended:
Yes

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Los Angeles reviews
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
Just moved to LA from SF ... can't wait to explore this massive city.
review by . February 24, 2004
Pros: Lots to do     Cons: Rude people; Expensive; TRAFFIC!!!     The Bottom Line: I hate LA. Always have, always will. Avoid this place like the plague.     I do not like Los Angeles. That is my warning to you before you read this review. I have been to the Los Angeles area on many occasions, the last time being May of 1999. I don't know if I'll ever go back, although my career seems to be directing me that way.      …
review by . February 24, 2004
Pros: Lots to do     Cons: Rude people; Expensive; TRAFFIC!!!     The Bottom Line: I hate LA. Always have, always will. Avoid this place like the plague.     I do not like Los Angeles. That is my warning to you before you read this review. I have been to the Los Angeles area on many occasions, the last time being May of 1999. I don't know if I'll ever go back, although my career seems to be directing me that way.      …
review by . May 24, 2000
Pros: ONE FANTASTIC TRIP!     Cons: The baloney sandwich box lunch on the bus ... lol     Travel or editorial? I am sure some epinion police are going to nail me on this one! Going to Los Angeles was gonna be enough fun but throw in the Rose Parade, Rose Bowl and a trip sponsored by my local radio station - pretty much gonna be a trip from Hell! I won the trip for one thing just by answering a sports trivia question. All expenses, except car, for two, to L.A. …
review by . April 07, 2000
Pros: Well, er, it is Los Angeles. Plus it has ME!     Cons: A city of price gougers and sub-literate jerks is not a great place to visit     The first part of any Los Angeles tourist write-up should be "Do not go to LAX." Fly into Burbank's airport, which is quick and clean and efficient. LAX is horrible. There is at least one other review here bearing witness to this Burbank-LAX phenomenon; seek it out so I don't have to repeat it.   …
review by . October 05, 1999
Pros: Patrons serve as entertainment, rarely a cover charge unless there's live entertainment, impossible to be the drunkest person in a city of excess     Cons: Idea of sitting down for a "few" "pints" lost on Angelenos, little inbetween as far as dives and hipster joints go, "martini" means one of many sugary cocktails on a menu with outrageous prices, no good local beer     Boozing it up in Los Angeles is a dodgy proposition, …
review by . September 27, 1999
Pros: Interesting history, & obscurity makes for a pleasantly people-free area     Cons: Hard to find good trails that others haven't, locals are NRA loyalists, dizzying temperature extremes in summer and winter     This is my home at the time of this writing: the Angeles National Forest, a surprisingly quick drive away from Los Angeles proper, and still a part of Los Angeles County. This is a relatively new 'forest,' so here and there lie patches of private …
About the reviewer
Bonnie Sayers ()
single parenting two teens on autism spectrum. Working out daily, Zumba & Bodybugg enthusiast.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
autismfamily
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this city

Wiki


Los Angeles is home to just under 4 million people, making it the 2nd largest city in the United States. It was founded in 1781 and its surrounding metro area is home to people from hundreds of ethnic groups. Today, Los Angeles is home to some of the richest and poorest people in the country and continues to attract thousands of new residents every year.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Los Angeles is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists