Love Notes
For the slow jam lover in all of us.
Erykah Badu

A multiple Grammy-winner American soul singer and songwriter

< read all 1 reviews

Enjoying the Smooth Sounds of Ms. Badu

  • Apr 30, 2009
Rating:
+4
While I was listening to one of my friends song playlists, I came across an old school Erykah Badu song "On&On", and I swear it took me back to 97' riding in my moms old school hyundai on the way to school bumping Baduizm. I remembered first hearing that single and thinking that it was so different from the other types of music that was popular during that time (rap, pop, r&b). Each song from that album told a story of her personal philosophies  about life . And to this day, I still love that album the best. It's just so smooth and laid back, that each song just coasts into another. It is definitely what I like to call "chill music".

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
July 02, 2009
I adore Erykah Badu! I really wish she would come out with another album similar to her first one. Not a fan of her latest New Amerykah. Thanks for reviewing her.
 
May 23, 2009
I saw erykah in concert recently and was completely floored by her stage presence and beautiful ,unique voice. She commands respect and your attention at all times and I can't wait to hear her next CD. She sang an upcoming song off of it and all I can say is WOW!! NOt to mention the years have been very good to Ms. Badu, looking good maam.
 
April 30, 2009
Totally feel you man- this album came out my last year in college- which was one of the most fun and off the chain years of my life- still:) I love the way it takes you back- what do you think about people comparing her with India Arie ?
May 04, 2009
I can see why they compare india to erykah based on them both being in the same music genre. Being so, their styles are totally different.
May 04, 2009
I totally agree- you know check out my review on Nneka-the new NeoSoul Queen - I have the feeling that you are going to love her!!!! Let me know:)
 
April 30, 2009
man Baduizm is classic album. Its one of those albums that you wish came out pre cassette & CD so you could have the huge vinyl cover for it.
 
April 30, 2009
Sure does...thanks for starting the reviews on her! I couldn't agree with you more- Apple Tree, Sometimes, Rim Shot...Tyrone...all of it! How could you ever get sick of listening to her?
 
1
About the reviewer
Angel ()
Member Since: Apr 10, 2009
Last Login: Sep 3, 2009 03:37 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ater03
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this musician

Wiki


Born: February 26, 1971

She grew up listening to '70s soul and '80s hip-hop, but Erykah Badu drew more comparisons to Billie Holiday upon her breakout in 1997, after the release of her first album, Baduizm. The grooves and production on the album are bass-heavy R&B, but Badu's langurous, occasionally tortured vocals and delicate phrasing immediately removed her from the legion of cookie-cutter female R&B singers. A singer/songwriter responsible for all but one of the songs on Baduizm, she found a number 12 hit with her first single "On & On," which pushed the album to number two on the charts.

Born Erica Wright in Dallas in 1971, Badu attended a school of the arts and was working as a teacher and part-time singer in her hometown when she opened for D'Angelo at a 1994 show. D'Angelo's manager, Kedar Massenburg, was impressed with the performance and hooked her up with the singer to record a cover of the Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell duet "Precious Love." He also signed Badu to his recently formed Kedar Entertainment label, and served as producer for Baduizm, which also starred bassist Ron Carter and members of hip-hop avatars the Roots on several tracks. The first single, "On & On," became a number one R&B hit in early 1997, and Baduizm followed it to the top of the R&B album charts by March. Opening for R&B acts as well as rap's Wu-Tang Clan, Erykah Badu stopped just short of number one on ...
view wiki

Details

Birth Place: Dallas, Texas

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Love Notes is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists