I Left My Heart in San Francisco
I Left My Heart in San Francisco
Sharing San Francisco Treats

A very big city on a very small patch of land.

  • Dec 9, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
In the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit I'm a little biased.  As a seventh-generation San Franciscan, I've grown up being told stories of how the art gallery on Jackson Street used to be my Great-Grandfather's boot shop, of how his father used to work in the same building where I got my first job.  It's hard not to be proud of roots like that, so it's no joke when I say San Francisco is in my blood.

So there you have it, I'm biased.  Maybe I'm not the best person to be writing a review, but I'm doing it anyway.  With a resume like mine, how can I not?

San Francisco is only approximately 49 square miles or so, barely big enough to be considered a city.  And yet it's not just a city, it's one of the international cities, one of the world-class cities.  It's running in the big leagues with places like New York and London.  How on Earth do you do that with only seven miles across to work in?  Well, we manage it somehow.  Despite the lack of available land, there are fabulous little neighborhoods everywhere, and each one has something - or multiple somethings - to offer.  And a lot of the time, those somethings are hidden gems that you won't even notice unless you're looking very carefully, or you've got a native as a tour guide.

Did you know there are cement slides hidden in the upper Castro?  Do you know there's a canyon hike you can take in the middle of the city?  Have you seen the ruins of the Sutro Baths over by the Cliff House?  How about all the hidden treasures in the Presidio, or the Buffalo in Golden Gate Park?

As you can see, I could go on and on.  You could live on this little patch of land for a century and still not see everything there is to see here.  It's like one of the tents in Harry Potter or the TARDIS from Dr. Who; it's a hell of a lot bigger on the inside than it looks on the outside.

Still, there are some people who don't like San Francisco.  I think they're a few buffalo shy of a fantastic park, but then, I'm a little biased.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
December 01, 2009
i'd hire you to be my tour guide! i moved here recently and I'd like to go sliding in the castro now plz :)
 
May 25, 2009
I got a kick out of the Sutro baths when I first visited in 1982. It wasn't until sometime later that I learned they had survived the earthquake and fire only to be destroyed when some off course ship loaded with dynamite crashed into them.
December 31, 2009
I know! Isn't it odd that it was virtually unaffected by the earthquake and fire but got wiped out by an errant ship loaded with dynamite?!
 
April 18, 2009
I'm a fifth generation who has transplanted down south, hopefully not for long lol. Thanks for your review- it made me smile and look forward to going home tomorrow. It's just something about that city- where being an individual is praised over material possessions, where you can hear every genre of music in a three block radius, where you can travel the world in 49 beautiful square miles and where you can find anything you could ever want and need, where conversations are treasured and you can sit amongst the same books that Jack Keuroac did, where so many sub cultures were born and, yes, where I left my heart.
 
December 09, 2008
I definitely agree - I grew up across the bay... and after visiting other large cities and then returning to SF.. I realized how small it actually was when I could walk around the bulk of the city with no problem. However, I feel SF really has character... In such a small area they really do encompass as much if not more of what other big cities do also - great restaurants, museums, the pier! I've heard it's been called the most European-like city in America...works for me! And I love the "Did you knows.." cuz I didn't know a lot of them actually!! I'm going to have to check them out! Thanks!
 
1
More San Francisco reviews
review by . April 29, 2009
I lived in San Francisco for 18 months and have had a mixed experience. The hills and the views are memorable, and areas such as Golden Gate Park really rival Central Park. Obviously if you like Asian foods then SF is a foodie Mecca, and there are little pockets of great things scattered around that can take some time to find.  Public transport is not really as all-encompassing and integrated as many locals would have you believe. The ferry is¬†phenomenally¬†expensive, buses and BART and …
review by . December 15, 2008
While I give it a high rating I must say that SF is still growing on me. I have lived in New York (Brooklyn, Queens and Long Island), Georgia (Atlanta) and Ohio (Columbus/Mt. Vernon) and have traveled all over the country for work and yet I am still not fully solid on SF.    The things that I like include public transport and the wide variety of cuisine. I love being able to walk around the city and feel as if nothing is really "too" far from each other...after all its only 7X7. …
About the reviewer
Kelly ()
I'm just a girl who's living in the city and making the best of life. I like anime, great food of all kinds, books by Neil Gaiman, playing in Photoshop, and surfing the internet. I dislike beer. (I know, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Allsunday
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The City and County of San Francisco is the fourth most populous city in California and the 14th most populous city in the United States, with a 2007 estimated population of 764,976. Among the most densely populated cities in the country, San Francisco is part of the San Francisco Bay Area, which is home to more than 7.1 million people. The city is located at the tip of the San Francisco Peninsula, with the Pacific Ocean to the west, San Francisco Bay to the east, and the Golden Gate to the north.

In 1776, the Spanish settled the tip of the peninsula, establishing a fort at the Golden Gate and a mission named for Francis of Assisi. The California Gold Rush in 1848 propelled the city into a period of rapid growth, transforming it into the largest city on the West Coast at the time. After being devastated by the 1906 earthquake and fire, San Francisco was quickly rebuilt, hosting the Panama-Pacific International Exposition nine years later. During World War II, San Francisco was the send-off point for many soldiers to the Pacific Theater. After the war, the confluence of returning servicemen, massive immigration, liberalizing attitudes, and other factors gave rise to the Summer of Love and the gay rights movement, cementing San Francisco as a liberal bastion in the United States.

San Francisco is a popular international tourist destination famous for its landmarks, including the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz Island, the cable cars, Coit Tower, and Chinatown, its steep rolling...

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
I Left My Heart in San Francisco is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists