I Left My Heart in San Francisco
I Left My Heart in San Francisco
Sharing San Francisco Treats
Blondie's

A chain of pizza restaurants in Northern California.

< read all 3 reviews

One of the best pizza joints in Northern California.

  • Dec 31, 2008
Rating:
+5
Blondie's and I have had so much history together!  I remember back in the day when they were just a narrow, dark, dingy, stuffy little pizza shop in San Francisco, yet there were still lines out the door.  My daddy's office was in downtown, so whenever he took me to work, it was always Blondie's for lunch!  This was back in the day when my daddy had to cut up his slices into bite sized pieces for me to fork :)  Now this particular Blondie's has expanded vertically and horizontally; vertically, it's twice the size that it used to be, and it has also acquired a downstairs area!

I've always been a fan of their cheese slice, but in recent years, I've gotten addicted to their veggie slice, which they've revamped a while back.  Basically, it's a wheat crust pizza that's light on the cheese, but heavy on the veggies.  As healthy as a real pizza can get!  Okay... not really, but close enough.

Sometimes, when I feel extra gluttonous, I order two slices and eat them both in one sitting.  Yes, I may look small, but I can eat.  My friends keep telling me that I shouldn't eat anything larger than the size of my face (and a slice of Blondie's is definitely bigger than the size of my face), but I can't help it; it's so good!  I mean, c'mon, with most of the food pyramid plopped in the pizza -- cheese, egg, vegetables, bread -- how can you possibly go wrong?  Oh, and I always unscrew the top of the parmesan cheese dispenser ;)

I love their veggie deluxe salad as well.  It's everything that I've ever wanted in a salad (well, except when I show up too late and they start running out of ingredients!).  Garbanzo beans, red beans, beets, long strands of mozzarella, a generous chunk of avocado, and then some.  My two favorite dressings are blue cheese and miso.

Their southern soul food joint downstairs in their San Francisco location is pretty good, too.  They have homemade mac 'n cheese that can be good on certain days.  Their cheese and garlic fries are yummy, and they have sweet potato and yucca fries as well.

Oh, and apparently, they serve froyo now.  I'm not sure how I feel about that, but I'll get back to that once I actually try it.

Stores and restaurants around the area have come and gone, but Blondie's has stood the test of time.  Blondie's, stay awesome!
Blondie's

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
29
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
July 30, 2009
I never understood how people at Berkeley could prefer Fat Slice to Blondie's...Blondie's is the best. Last night eating was always a difficult dilemma between Blondie's and Top Dog, Both are great Berkeley institutions.
July 30, 2009
Some people are just weird, I guess, because Blondies>Fat Slice.  And Blondie's vs Top Dog?  Just do both; it's just a slice of pizza and a hot dog :P  If you're ever in San Francisco at night, be sure to hunt down the bacon dog cart, he's usually in the Mission.
 
April 16, 2009
gotta tell ya, I'm not a fan. I dont think it's necessarily Blondie's just NY style pizza in general, the only thin crust pizza I like is from Shakey's or Domino's. I'm more of a deep dish guy. There is a place in Santa Cruz called Pizza My Heart that I used to love but they no longer serve the deep dish style so I have imposed a lifelong ban!
April 16, 2009
Well, I wouldn't exactly call Blondie's pizza thin crust, but I know a few pizza joints in the Bay Area that will turn you onto thin crust!  Cheeseboard in Berkeley, Arizmendi in Emeryville and Oakland, and Pizzaiolo in Oakland.

Have you ever had Zachary's in Berkeley and Oakland before?  They've got the best stuffed pizza I've ever had!  One inch thick of delicious crust, cheese, and huge chunks of their own, freshly marinated tomatoes *drool*

Pizza My Heart no longer serves deep dish?  For shame!
April 16, 2009
Correction: Zachary's is more like two inches full of pizza goodness!
August 02, 2010
I just tried Arizmendi this week. WOW. I need to post a quick tip.
 
January 02, 2009
@HealthyRache: I wish Blondies would expand! @DesignDude: I know a bunch of pizza snobs up here who keep saying that Zachary's, Cheeseboard and Pizzaiolo are the best around here, but what I love about Blondies is how it's just straight-up delicious pizza; no frills and no pretentiousness! @lyssachttr: I'm obsessed with froyo! Last night, on NYE, I actually drove all around town looking for a froyo joint that was open, but alas, all five in town were closed :x
 
December 31, 2008
Sensing a froyo theme here ; )
 
1
More Blondie's Pizza reviews
Quick Tip by . March 05, 2010
posted in Secret Berkeley
Their veggie slice is the best. Full of veggies with light cheese & a wheat crust!
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in Secret Berkeley
If you're In a rush and haven't had lunch--Blondie's is the solution!
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #1
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
Ici
Ici
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Blondie's is a Northern Californian chain of pizza restaurants with two locations in San Francisco and Berkeley.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
I Left My Heart in San Francisco is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists