I Left My Heart in San Francisco
I Left My Heart in San Francisco
Sharing San Francisco Treats
Parada 22

A Puerto Rican Restaurant on Haight Street in San Francisco.

< read all 2 reviews

Puerto Rican Home Cooking in the Haight

  • Nov 6, 2011
Rating:
+5
Amidst wannabe hippies, hipsters and DJs hanging out at Amoeba, tourists trying to recapture the Summer of Love only to get Whole Foods instead, and street kids with all sorts of creative signs, you'll find Puerto Rican home cooking in the form of Parada 22. In the old Escape from New York spot (if I remember correctly), snuggled up next to Cha Cha Cha, Parada brings island food to the Bay.

                                                

Its closeness to Cha Cha Cha is no mistake. Parada 22 is the name of consulting chef Gloria Pinette's bus stop in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Gloria and her cousin Philip Bellber created the authentic Puerto Rican menu which reigns San Franciscans' tastebuds. Bellber is the founder and owner of Cha Cha Cha.

                                                   
A small, intimate spot with 10 tables, Parada also doesn't take reservations so make sure that you get there early to avoid any lines or waiting. Big groups might be at a loss here, seeing as they don't seem to have seating to accomodate a group of 10. I'd stick with maybe a maximum of 6. They also offer take out if you or some friends live in the area or you want to have a Puerto Rican picnic at the Park.

Every time and I mean every time I've gone here, I've loved it. F and I always say that if we lived in the area, we'd be 50 pounds heavier because as many times as we go to our local sushi spot, we'd probably double that for Parada. We've ordered quite a variety off their simple menu of sides (acompanantes), salads (ensaladas), entrees (principales), two desserts (postres), and drinks (bebidas). But, my favorite is easily the Mofongo with a couple of glasses of Sangria or 21st Amendment's Watermelon Wheat. F orders a Pabst or two and his standby favorite, Chicharron de Pollo. Our bill typically totals about $40 for all that.

                                                  
Mofongo: green plaintans mashed with sofrito served with camarones a la criolla, comes with maduras, Spanis rice, salad and red beans. $11.50

                                                   
                                                  
Chicharron de Pollo: breaded and fried chicken thighs served with tostones and salsa rosa dipping sauce, Spanish rice and salad: $10.50

                                                                  
Local brewery 21st Amendment's famous and delicious Watermelon Wheat Beer: $4.50

                                                        
Pitcher of Sangria (I guarantee its the same as next door Cha Cha Cha's famous Sangria): $21 (a glass is only $4, half pitcher is $12).

So, if you're ever hungry and your either tired from digging through vinyl all day at Amoeba, headed out for a night of drinking, about to check out the hookahs and bellydancing down the street at Kan Zaman, stop here for an affordable and delicious meal.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
May 25, 2013
Wow. Those prices look rather expensive to people where I'm from!
 
November 06, 2011
everytime I come to your profile or Dev's I tend to lose money. Been to Cha Cha Cha....never been here. Puerto Rican food is pretty good! I need to get at this and bring a friend! (I was so drunk Friday night....LOL)
November 08, 2011
LOL! Well, anytime you're looking for someone to take you or go with you, feel free to let Nando or I know. You don't have to bribe us ;p Where did you go Friday?
November 08, 2011
I'll hold you to that. Oh, I went to a Japanese restaurant in Oakland and had loads of sake on a huge wooden cup. But honestly I was more drunk the Friday before when I had a little too much of "Kiss of the Buddha" drink LOL!!
November 08, 2011
Ooohhhh....sake to me gets me too sometime ;p What, pray tell, is Kiss of the Buddha? That sounds intriguing!
November 09, 2011
It's a minty, kinda sweet drink that it is just so delish. I usually get it from Amber India in SF.
November 09, 2011
Hmmm...must try this ASAP!
November 09, 2011
by the way, does this place have a good veggie menu? one of my favorite folks to hang out with is a vegan and I want to make sure she'll be fine if I ever bring her along....thanks!
November 09, 2011
Yep! They have a veggie plate for $8, salads $5.50-$7, and all the sides are veggie friendly. So you two are set :) Oh, here's the site if you want to look for yourself!
 
1
More Parada 22 reviews
Quick Tip by . May 23, 2011
A Puerto Rican restaurant in the Haight Ashbury?!? Nando and I discovered Parada 22 on the way to one of my favorite restaurants in SF, Kan Zaman. We were pretty excited when we thought we'd be getting the taste of his mom's home cooking all the way up in Northern California, a place not typically known for Puerto Rican anything.      We've been there twice now and not only is the food amazing, (yes, it does remind us of mom's cooking) but, the atmosphere is fun- …
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #2
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Parada 22 is a casual and affordable restaurant serving home style Puerto Rican cuisine in San Francisco's storied Haight Ashbury neighborhood.

Parada 22 is named after consulting chef Gloria Pinette’s neighborhood bus stop in her home town of San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Gloria and her cousin Philip Bellber created a menu of authentic Puerto Rican dishes that will be instantly familiar to anyone who's lived in Puerto Rico. Cousin Philip is no stranger to Latin cuisine. He's also the founder / owner of San Francisco culinary institution Cha Cha Cha. Over the years, Philip has launched many favorite neighborhood eateries such as The Corner, Boogaloos. Bitterroot, Spaghetti Western and also Nightbreak, a storied alternative music venue.

Located at 1805 Haight Street (between Shrader St & Stanyan St), Parada 22 is an exciting new complement to Cha Cha Cha, which is located right next door. It's an intimate space, with only 10 tables. They don't take reservations yet - so plan to arrive early to avoid a wait. They also offer take-out. Reviews from customers and the local press have been very flattering.

- From their About Us section on their website.

view wiki

Details

Address: 1805 Haight Street, SF CA
Phone: 415-750-1111
Hours: Tuesday-Sunday 11:30 am-10pm
Cuisine: Puerto Rican, Latin, Carribean
Price: $$
Attire: Casual
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
I Left My Heart in San Francisco is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists