I Left My Heart in San Francisco
I Left My Heart in San Francisco
Sharing San Francisco Treats
Logo

An online directory website

< read all 10 reviews

Great for reviewers, not so great for businesses

  • Mar 23, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+1
I joined Yelp ages ago, and to its credit it has many positive effects. Being able to find the only trustworthy locksmith in your area is one of them, and getting the skinny on unknown great places is clearly also one of the great benefits of the social web.

From the point of view of being able to provide candid feedback and advice, any review system (such as Amazon or Lunch) helps enormously, but there are some huge problems that have developed specifically within Yelp over the years that mean it will probably never be as beneficial as Amazon or Lunch.

Acknowledging that I still use it to find places all the time, this is James' Official Litany of Yelp Problems:

Community

Ultimately, all these sites are basically a bunch of code sat on servers, and the differentiating factor is the group of people who contribute. Although Yelp has a decent core of reasonable individuals, there's a small, loud minority who are a total pain in the ass. This makes its talk section practically unusable (try asking for hotel recommendations and watch how fast you get flamed), and gives the attitude on the site a snarky feel. The sense of self-importance among contributors doesn't help social sites, and I'm glad to see it hasn't crept into Lunch.

Censorship

While there'll always be trolls and a need for content moderation, the policy has to be completely transparent to work. Yelp's increasingly-common yanking of reviews and deletion of accounts for reasons only known to themselves would make Google China blush (oh wait, that's not topical anymore). Either users provide candid opinions that stay or they don't, but the in-between policing doesn't suit social web.

Elite

I'm a big believer that users on these sites should be treated equally, regardless of their prolific writing or presence. The Elite badge separates users into two classes which is, in my opinion, contrary to the idea of free user-generated content. And no, I've never sought Elite status. :-)

Conflict of Interest

Yelp disingenuously courts advertising from the very businesses being critiqued by its users. The media is rife with stories about business owners being practically blackmailed by Yelpers, or their staff offering to remove negative reviews for an advertising deal - this awkward position serves neither the businesses or their customers. I think potentially this is their biggest problem.

Cost

For those of you who don't know, I work professionally with social media, SEM, SEO and all those acronyms, and several customers have had advertising contracts with Yelp that simply have no ROI. The plans start at $300 a month, which would yield you hundreds of fans on Facebook, hundreds of clicks on Google AdWords and - apparently - very little on Yelp. It's around 10 times too expensive for an online advertising channel. Although there are success stories, the average restaurant or dry cleaner would be better invested elsewhere.

I bet somebody at Yelp is wishing the $500mm Google deal had happened since there are numerous "me too" sites that have emerged using a fraction of the technology platform and startup capital. Although it's not going away anytime soon, my feeling is that Yelp has to substantially improve its community and business relationships, or have a very tough time serving the needs of its audience.

Having said that, of course, its benefits are still unrivaled by any other site - but things tend to change very fast on the social web. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
16
Post a Comment
April 15, 2010
Never used this site although I've heard of it. Many of the social media sites is simply limited to U.S. users. That's one thing I don't like them that much although VirtualTourist.com was one that managed to cross the regional boundaries with lots of participation from other countries. Well, I guess it does have something to do with traveling after all. Facebook may be another but I'm no fan of facebook so I can't really say much about it.
 
April 11, 2010
very very nice in-depth review of YELP. So they have an 'elite' status like Epinions have the 'hat'? that's not really nice. I've suggested several times that maybe this site can get rid of the rankings but I guess they're necessary to keep some people motivated. You are right, the idea of doing self-importance hasn't gotten to this site...yet. Hopefully it won't.
 
March 24, 2010
Wow, I totally forgot that their talk threads were made for thoughtful conversation and suggestions.  I only observe them for the lulz once in a while now.  For as much drama as I've witnessed though, I've never been a part of any of it, so Yelp and I are cool (except for the one time they yanked one of my negative reviews for a really bad reason).  I think you've given them a fair assessment.  I'm curious as to what the future holds for them because as you said, things tend to change very fast on the social web.
March 24, 2010
It should be called "the social zoo"... but seriously, I predict the biggest barrier in UGC is getting in the face of participants for no reason. Facebook has done this several times for relatively minor things and got slammed. I don't dislike Yelp but I think they have some major issues they don't appear to address at all. When Google Maps becomes defacto on mobile, they're screwed - and it probably will, purely for the free turn-by-turn. My two cents. :-)
 
1
More Yelp reviews
review by . February 14, 2009
Yelp
Yelp is my go-to site to discover new local eateries and events.  As a foodie and an adventure junkie, Yelp is definitely my dream site because I've discovered so many awesome restaurants on there.  And when you live in an area that's highly populated with Yelpers (and it's no surprise that SF is full of them, HQ is here!), it's hard not to get addicted!  I get to mingle with like-minded folks about great food in the area, not to mention awesome events.    For …
Quick Tip by . August 05, 2013
posted in Awesomeness
This site doesn't cut it for me. Yeah, the list of restaurants and events is nice, but the reviews too often lack detail and are frequently too grounded in the "it's good because it's good" or "it sucks because it sucks" way of reviewing. I can rarely find out any real details of what I'm trying to learn about.
Quick Tip by . April 13, 2010
Sorry, not interested in your forced stories. Gimme the facts. 102 reviews, who cares? Try reading it all...
Quick Tip by . February 28, 2010
Never quite got into yelp... and with their recent shenanigans, I'm glad I didn't invest time there. =(
review by . March 31, 2009
Yelp Love
I stumbled upon Yelp.com when I was living in Sacramento.  I found it usefull when trying out new restaurants.     But it really exploded for me when I decided to move to San Diego.  I started utilizing their local San Diego talk threads to find out pretty much anything about the area and neighborhoods which I was totally clueless about.    They are a helpful and very funny bunch.     The Yelp.com event page is a great resouce of things …
review by . December 13, 2008
I use Yelp.com whenever I need to read reviews and opinions on restaurants, things to do, or other locations/businesses when I travel or go out. The site allows users to review things similar to Lunch.com and is now widely-known among the restaurant community.     However, sometimes I wish Yelp were more like Lunch.com in that on this site, at least, you can review more than just location-based items, such as concepts, books, movies, etc. Yelp is only for reviewing things on …
review by . December 18, 2008
I always consult Yelp before any other restuarant site.  When people take the time to post something on their own accord, I feel the opinion is not skewed/bought/pressured in any form. Sometimes the information is a little bare on a certain location, but the concept is great. I've been a fan and user for a long time and thinks it's the bees knees!
review by . December 13, 2008
it's a peer to peer review site.  and i usually don't go to a restuarant or store until i see what the Yelpers have to say about it.  great way to check out most anything before you try it - the reviews are honest and fun to read and the yelp community is great.  i've submitted questions to the Talk section like "what's a great restaurant for a 40th birthday party that's not too chi-chi  - but feels special" and i'll get several great viable options from other people.  also …
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Yelp.com is an online directory website that allows users to review listings and to interact with one another in a Web 2.0-based setting setting.

Wiki

Yelp.com, one of the top 100 websites as of 2008, is a Web 2.0 company that allows users to review directory listings (restaurants, businesses, parks, etc) and to interact with one another in a style similar to Facebook and MySpace.

Launched in 2004 in San Francisco, Yelp.com has approximately 10.6 visitors per month. In early 2008, the company expanded with a new office in Manhattan, NY and by listing directory information in Canada, allowing users to review and discuss locations in that country. Profitability is expected in 2009.
view wiki
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
I Left My Heart in San Francisco is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists