Modern Homeschooling
A Lunch Community
Socialization

The process of inheriting norms, customs and ideologies

< read all 2 reviews

Public School vs. Homeschool - socialization is the wrong question to ask.

  • Jan 30, 2010
Rating:
+5

Socialization -this is such a hot button for me. I have been asked that one question thousands of times over the last 16 years of homeschooling. There are two sides and honestly, they are both right.

Public school side:
There are thousands of good teachers out there, that do what they can despite ridiculous limitations imposed by the federal gov't, limited budget, parents that are hard to deal with, kids in very bad home situations, and low pay. They care and continue to do the best they can for the children of America. I know several who have my utmost respect. Then there are parents who don't have the self discipline, or the ability to deal with their children. Some kids only chance is a caring public school teacher. In these cases the socialization these kids get in school is the only good part of their life. Homeschoolers need to quit picking on them. They are making the best of a bad situation.

The homeschool side:
There are parents who live for homeschooling. They are passionate, involved and want the best for their kids. These kids are 'think outside the box' types that lead others in many areas of life. The socialization they get is different but the whole thought of you keep your kids in some bubble somewhere so they don't know how to function in real life is ridiculous. They live more real life then their peers because of the situation created by the parents.
Over the years things have gotten easier, but parents still  fight battles they shouldn't have to. I have been stopped by the law about 15 years ago for having children in my car during school hours. I get asked all kinds of personal questions and have to constantly defend my decision. It makes one rather defensive. All because of this myth of socialization started by scared individuals who can only see their side. Well, I have paid taxes for schools and even bought curriculum for schools without ever participating in the institution. They ought to be thankful. Also, anyone who had all three of their kids in college by the time the children were 16 with GPA's of 3.0 or better when they attended public school is about the only one who has any right to criticize my methods.
Homecshoolers need to educate people so they don't ask that silly question.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
13
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
February 02, 2010
Interesting review, Mary! I've thought about this topic a lot myself! Have you considered the different options of a more traditional school setting other than public schools? There are private and charter schools; I would be curious as to your thoughts on both of them too!
February 02, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to comment! You make some very important points to consider when choosing schools for future children. This comment is worthy of another review!
 
February 01, 2010
Yet another very eye-opening review, Mary!  I think that this would actually be great as part of your homeschooling review since you brought up so many good points about it.  Thanks for sharing!
 
January 31, 2010
Those are great points Mary, I certainly agree with you! I am one of those students that would have done great with homeschooling, but it wasn't an option for us since in 5th grade we moved to the US from Russia and my parents did not know English. Neither did I, but I learned quickly in sixth grade. Actually, back in 1995 I didn't even know homeschooling was an option! I was really lucky though that before we moved here my education in Russia was supervised by my mother and she helped me a lot with my strengths and weaknesses. I was homeschooled and had tutoring throughout the winter because I was always sick. I absolutely loved it! I could pursue my beloved interested of art and music. That all changed when I went to public school here, but at least the foundation was laid already. 

For kids who have uninvolved (or worse, abusive) parents, public school is a suitable outlet. I do think that the social interaction most homeschooled kids receive is a lot more pertinent to the real world. They get to interact with people from various age groups instead of just their peers. Thank you so much for shedding light on both viewpoints!
February 02, 2010
I love this comment just as much as the review itself! I've been thinking about this topic a lot as I get older and prepare to have children, and it helps to read all the perspectives I can! Thanks ladies.
 
January 30, 2010
Nice job
 
1
More Socialization reviews
Quick Tip by . April 27, 2010
Instead of learning to interact with 20 other same age children homeschooled kids learn how to interact with children and adults of all ages
About the reviewer
Mary Elissa Williams ()
Ranked #1
I'm usually thinking out of the box. I have been a homeschooler for about 15 or so years with 3 children in college,1 dual enrolled in highschool. I ran my own business as a family entertainer / birthday … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
elissawilliams
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The term socialization is used by sociologists, social psychologists, anthropologists, politicians and educationalists to refer to the process of inheriting norms, customs and ideologies. It may provide the individual with the skills and habits necessary for participating within their own society; a society itself is formed through a plurality of shared norms, customs, values, traditions, social roles, symbols and languages. Socialization is thus ‘the means by which social and cultural continuity are attained’.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Modern Homeschooling is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists