Love Bites
Finger licking good! Heavenly temptations! Crunch!
Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

A grilled or toasted sandwich consisting of two slices of bread with melted cheese.

< read all 31 reviews

An Exellent Way To Make Grilled Cheese

  • Apr 6, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Grilled Cheese is serious comfort food. Batali has a recipe for an Italian version in his Holiday cookbook that I really love. Slice two thick peices of Challah bread, lay them in seasoned raw eggs you've mixed with a fork (as you would with french toast). Pop one slice down in a hot buttered pan, add cheese, and then the other egg-dipped bread. Mozzerella works fine, but i prefer gruyere, carmelized onions and mustard. Serve with pickles. It tastes like a french onion soup sandwich with a boost of richness and comfort.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
May 25, 2009
I will try this, in part because I tried to make grilled cheese the other night and FAILED. I put shredded cheese (which I knew wouldn't work from the beginning, but it's all I had) in between two slices of french bread and put it on a buttered frying pan. The cheese didn't melt that much and the sandwich wasn't that crispy. Fortunately, cheese (in any shape) with bread is always a decent combination, no matter how badly prepared. :P
 
1
More Grilled Cheese Sandwiches reviews
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2011
posted in Gourmand
Basically two pieces of toast with melted cheese between them. Even better with chicken and tomatoes! How can something so simple be so good?
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2010
Marble coby = best for grilled cheese! Ever! I've tried all the cheddar and I must say, it is indeed the best cheese for the job. It melts well, and has a wonderful taste only it could bring!
Quick Tip by . October 26, 2010
Buttering the bread is a must. I like using Alvarado St bread with a combo of jalapeno jack and cheddar. MMMMMMM
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
Love, love love, grilled cheese sandwiches with ham and onions; lightly browned around the edges...
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2010
The use of multiple cheeses and good bread are the keys.
Quick Tip by . October 18, 2010
Toast the outsides of the grilled cheese. It makes a better crunch for when you dip it in tomato soup!
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2010
Try adding veggies. A slice of fresh tomato, a slice of lettuce and a couple of pickles will really set off the standard grilled cheese and take it from toddler to adult in an instant!
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
Grilled cheese with tomato soup is incredible! Anythig tomato based (ketchup) to dip it in makes this sandwich the bomb digity!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Quick,easy and delicious.Don"t forget the tomato soup.
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
I like the versatility and creative posibilities of grilled cheese. My favorite, at present, is sourdough bread with gruyere cheese served with a roasted red pepper and tomato soup.
About the reviewer
Erin ()
I really dig this website!
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EeezOfSteeez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

The Grilled Cheese sandwich is a type of food where cheese is placed between two slices of bread that is fried, toasted, or broiled.

The practice of creating a hot cheese sandwich (where the bread is toasted and the inside cheese is heated to a point of melting) began in the 1920s as sliced breads and processed cheeses became more widely available. The original versions, however, contained one slice of bread, topped with cheese. The practice of adding a top, toasted slice of bread became popular in the 1960s. A cold version, without toasting and melted cheese, is simply called a cheese sandwich.

Today, the grilled cheese sandwich is a very popular food in the US with a grilled cheese convention held annually in Los Angeles in its honor. 
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Love Bites is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists