Love Bites
Finger licking good! Heavenly temptations! Crunch!
Macadamia

A brand of macadamia nuts

< read all 3 reviews

Honey, it's yummy!

  • Sep 16, 2009
Rating:
+5
 

Sunny beaches, volcanoes and macadamia nuts, that's what Hawaii is to me. I love all of them just as I have loved the Honey Roasted Macadamias, Kona Coffee Glazed Macadamias and Hawaiian Host Honey Glazed Macadamia nuts. 

Yet, the best of it all has to be the Kona Coffee Glazed Macadamias from Mauna Loa (You can get them from ABC Stores in Hawaii, Guam and Saipan. I've also seen them in Parkson's in Shanghai). This is one you've probably not tried either. Yes, there are honey roasted peanuts or cashew nuts and you might have an idea of what honey roasted macadamias might taste like. But coffee and macadamias? Sounds like an unlikely combo, right?

Well, you ain't see nothing yet! This one is highly addictive! Not only is it high calories, it's simply so delicious that you'll crave the taste of it once you've gotten a hold of it. I could easily munched on it in front of the TV and a can each day. Diet is not a must until you discover this. So, shoot me! :-)

For those who have high self respect and discipline, well, stock these items up and when you've a party, they are the greatest snacks you could offer to your guests. Trust me, I've yet found a person who doesn't like it although some may be allergic since it's a nut. For me, I go nuts over it!!! Aren't I lucky? :-) On the other hand, there are people out there writing a song for it, so I think it certainly has its fair share of fans! I wish those airlines would serve this as snack on board, that'd be heavenly and I'd give me a 5* rating if any of them does that!

On my last trip to Saipan, I've also tried the Wasabi dusted Macadamias. They are good if you like Wasabi. Otherwise, steer clear of them for the uninitiated.

 
"

Honey, it's yummy! Honey, it's yummy!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
September 17, 2009
Great review. If you get a chance, go to their plant in Hawaii and see the large cartoon nut out front. It's silly but funny.
September 17, 2009
You've got to be kidding! If I do that, I'd be carting their entire production home :D Thanks!
 
September 16, 2009
omg wasabi macadamia nuts??? the kona coffee ones sound better than frozen chocolate covered espresso beans (or am I the only one who likes those?). I wish that macadamia nuts were actually a whole protein that wards off cancer. *sigh*
September 17, 2009
They're not??
September 17, 2009
hm, since they're a nut maybe they are a whole protein?? But they're so high in fat and calories that they're not the best choice of nut to eat--especially since they're so addictive :P But I still wish I had some chocolate covered ones right now :(
 
1
More Mauna Loa Macadamias reviews
Quick Tip by . May 08, 2011
posted in Love Bites
Caption
I love the ones coated with Kona coffee. Simply the best. The sweetness and flagrance of the Kona coffee complements the slightly salty macadamia nuts perfectly! One of Mauna Loa's best products. I could finish a can per day!              
Quick Tip by . May 02, 2010
posted in Love Bites
One of my most favorite snacks. It's a forbidden food when you're dieting though! The best flavor? Nuts that are coffee glazed!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #1
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

The Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Corporation is an American manufacturer of macadamia nuts, is the world's largest processor of the nuts. Since 2004, they have been a subsidiary of The Hershey Company. Their headquarters and main nut processing plant is south of Hilo in the Puna District of Hawaii's Big Island. The company takes its name from the nearby volcano Mauna Loa.

The first Mauna Loa macadamia nut plantation was planted in 1946, and the first commercial crop was harvested in 1956.

The visitors center is a major tourist attraction with its self-guided tour of the processing plant (viewed from the outside on a second-floor walkway due to safety and sanitation concerns) and large gift shop with homemade macadamia nut ice cream for sale and free samples of every flavor variation sold by the company. It is located at the address One Macadamia Road, near the town of Keaʻau.

view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Honey, it's yummy!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Love Bites is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists