musicart
A Lunch Community
Fall Into Me

New Country Music

< read all 1 reviews

Katie Armiger Releases "Fall Into Me" January 15, 2013

  • Dec 10, 2012
Rating:
+4
Cold River Records has announced that they will be releasing Katie Armiger’s fourth studio album “Fall Into Me” on January 15, 2012.  Her single “Better in a Black Dress” is her first Top 40 single and is currently available via Amazon, iTunes, and other e-stores online.

Katie cut her teeth on the road opening for artists Kellie Pickler, Jason Aldean, Craig Morgan and Luke Bryan, as well as LeAnn Rimes.  Amidst all this activity Armiger has also been engaged in writing very personal music for this new album and taping her music videos.

This artsy and energetic young lady has been compared to seasoned vocalists like Martina McBride, Shania Twain and Sara Evans. Katie’s second album, “Believe” was released in 2008 and her third album, “Confessions of a Nice Girl,” was released in 2010. She and Cold River Records are thrilled and eager for the release of “Fall Into Me.”  The album is very personal to Katie as she co-wrote all 14 tracks with some very famous songwriters – Blair Daly (Faith Hill, Keith Urban, Tim McGraw); Chad Carlson (Taylor Swift, Trisha Yearwood, Terri Clark); Joe West (Julianne Hough, Toby Keith, Jimmy Wayne); Bruce Wallace (Montgomery Gentry, Dierks Bently, Trace Adkins); Skidd Mills (Saving Able, Sister Hazel) and her best friend, Ashlee Hewitt.  The songs are ultra personal for Katie and mirror the last couple of years of her life, loves, struggles and accomplishments. She has poured her all into this album through her fingertips writing and singing from her heart. It is a superb album and most certainly will be a bit hit for her.

The first cut on the album co-written by Katie and Blair Daly is “He’s Gonna Change” and it caught my attention immediately because it was very personal to me as well and will probably be very personal to many who first hear it. Have you ever loved somebody so much but had such a really hard time with them but you always thought to yourself and said “He’s going to change?” In Katie’s own words – “He wasn’t really kind to her, but she always had that hope that one day she was going to wake up and he was going to be Prince Charming. As a friend, it just hurt my heart so much to see that that I needed to write a song about it and just get it out, so I wrote this song with Blair Daly. On a side note, the guy actually turned over a new leaf, so I guess I was a little wrong and people can change. But I wrote that song about a year ago, so it took that long.” The song has a great upbeat tempo with layers of vocals in the chorus and interesting instrumentals.  “When the stars come out in the middle of the day – yeah baby – he’s gonna change!”
 
 
“Man I Thought You Were” (Katie Armiger & Ashlee Hewitt).  According to Katie this song was probably one of the most personal songs she included on the album.  She and her best friend co-wrote it so it made the experience she went through extra personal.  In the words of the song -- “you would tear me down just to build me up – the truth is not what I deserved – so much for the man I thought you were….. I fell like you can only fall the first time...” And that says it all – there is really always the very first time you truly fall in love with someone and then he turns out to not be the man you thought he was. A great song we can just about all relate to at one time or another – young or old – this is a timeless song.
 
“Better in a Black Dress” (Katie Armiger & Blair Daly) is a song with haunting vocal intrusions and darker toned vocals rather than the high spirited lighter tones of the first two songs.  She is letting everyone know that she is one “hot mess” and it makes her “feel so good” and she “don’t need a white dress I got a black dress”!  She is not discussing a black dress for grieving either but rather that hot little black dress all ladies have (or should have – I do!) in their closet for that hot date or hot night out on the town! She is not ready to settle down as the white dress denotes but rather “hot mess it up on the town”! I’m with her on that song – I loved it!
 
The album rounds out with “Playin’ With Fire” (Katie Armiger, Ricky Davis, Micol Davis);
“Okay Alone” (Katie Armiger, Melissa Fuller, Dee Briggs); “Black and White” (Katie Armiger & Chad Carlson); “I’m Free” (Katie Armiger, Chad Carlson, Joe West); “Merry Go Round” (Katie Armiger, Blair Daly, Skidd Mills); “Baby You’re Everything” (Katie Armiger, Chad Carlson, Joe West); “Cardboard Boxes” (Katie Armiger, Jesse Tucker, Megan Nicole); “Stealing Hearts” (Katie Armiger & Katie Kessler); “Not Too Late” (Katie Armiger, Jesse Tucker, Tyler Ward); “So Long” (Katie Armiger, Bruce Wallace, Amanda Flynn);“Safe” (Katie Armiger & Mallary Hope – who also sings on this cut and is a lovely young lady I have reviewed and met as well).
 
January 15, 2013 – mark the date and be sure to snag your copy of this wonderfully personal and charming album from Katie Armiger!
 
Calamity Annie – CMTT Music Contributor
CalamityAnnie1 on Facebook, Twitter and MySpace

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
December 11, 2012
Sounds like great stuff!
December 11, 2012
I did not know much about her before the review of the music but I do like her style and honesty.
December 13, 2012
I agree.
 
1
About the reviewer
Paula Gayness ()
Country Music, Rodeos, Nashville, the Country -- horses, hay and alfalfa, doggies and kitties, thunderstorms and gentle summer breezes. Boats on the water, sunrises and sunsets.      … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
CalamityAnnie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Tags

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
musicart is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists