Music : New Age & Operatic Pop
Inspirational & relaxing music on Lunch!
An Evening With Il Divo Live in Barcelona

A CD & DVD bundle of Il Divo concert in Barcelona

< read all 2 reviews

Crescendo! The Winner Takes It All!

  • Oct 27, 2010
In this Barcelona concert (DVD), I promise myself to make a date with Il Divo. Yes, that’s something to hope & live for in 2011… to see Il Divo perform in person.

Again, as usual, Il Divo commands a presence and charisma like no other. They have matured as a group & also as a singer, especially David, and it is so marvelous to see that happening. Carlos is his usual charming (& cheeky!) self while Sebastien is standing out and reaching out well to the audience. Urs completes the group and acts as a solid backing. Il Divo has come so far and yet, they still have a long journey to go. Keep on the beautiful work! You guys have done so much in so little time, beyond anyone’s dream. What a marvelous concert and journey this is!

Il Divo has certainly proved that one doesn’t need new music to make it big. All one needs is great music, great musicians and great rendition! Bravo, Il Divo!!! (Who’d have thought 3 Europeans + 1 American become such a commanding force?! Oh, not forgetting the incredible orchestra as well!)

In this DVD recording of the Barcelona’s concert, you’d find something “new” which Il Divo had never recorded in CDs/DVDs. Here are the songs:
  • Bridge over troubled water
  • The Impossible Dream

Interestingly, although this concert is in Barcelona, many of the songs were sung in English! That’s quite refreshing where Il Divo is concerned. For the American audience, this might just be what you’re looking for! What I like about Il Divo is that often, I feel like I’m down there, among the audience, LIVE!
It is easy to say you love something but to truly feel love, that’s rare. Yet, I do love Il Divo. They have certainly brought classics back to life and induced a new life to each of the songs. Along with Adagio, the 2nd time I see them perform it (after the Coliseum concert which was supremely impressive) I’d never expect them to outperform themselves. Instead, they perform it equally well, with a different twist. That’s truly delightful to see!

So, the only question I’ve is: “When will Il Divo come to Asia?”!

Crescendo! The Winner Takes It All!

What did you think of this review?

Fun to Read
Post a Comment
More An Evening With Il Divo Live i... reviews
Quick Tip by . October 27, 2010
An excellent CD/DVD bundle of Il Divo's concert performance in Barcelona, Spain. Great collection of songs & worth every penny of the money spent. The concert recording is a lot longer than Live at the Coliseum with a total of 22 songs in the DVD alone. Surprisingly many songs were sung in English! Love it!!!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #1
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic


While partaking in their largest worldwide tour, Il Divo recorded and released An Evening With Il Divo – Live In Barcelona, a live DVD with an accompanying 10-track CD with songs from the concert. It was recorded at Il Divo’s largest capacity performance in Europe and took place at Palau Sant Jordi on 3 April 2009 with attendance of 20 000 people. Added to the setlist are two previously unrecorded songs by the band, Bridge Over Troubled Water and The Impossible Dream. Extras include a "behind the scenes footage/making of the tour" interview with Il Divo. Il Divo turned to the famous choreographer William Baker for a fresh look and feel, as his most famour work is for vastly different music and performers, mainly Kylie Minogue.

CD/DVD Track Listing:
Disc 1: The CD
1. Regresa A Mi (Unbreak My Heart)
2. Unchained Melody (Senza Catene)
3. La Promessa
4. Adagio
5. Somewhere
6. Nights in White Satin (Notte Di Luce)
7. Without You
8. Aleluya
9. Amazing Grace
10. My Way (A Mi Manera) 

Disc 2: The DVD
1. Somewhere
2. Unbreak My Heart (Regresa A Mi)
3. La Promessa
4. Angelina
5. Isabel
6. Bridge Over Troubled Water
7. She
8. Passera
9. Unchained Melody (Senza Catene)
10. Mama
11. Nights In White Satin (Notte Di Luce)
12. The Winner Takes It All (Va Toda Al Ganador)
13. Without You (Desde El Dia Que Te Fuiste)
14. Pour Que Tu M'Aimes Encore
15. Everytime I Look At You
16. Hallelujah (Aleluya)
17. Adagio
18. La Vida Sin ...
view wiki


First to Review
© 2015, LLC All Rights Reserved - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music : New Age & Operatic Pop is part of the Network - Get this on your site
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since