Broadway Musical Reviews
Review the Musicals You Like, Love and Loathe

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • May 10, 2011
Normally I'm not a fan of musicals (except ones that are slightly dark, morbid, or fantastical) and I loathe most romantic comedies... but I'll tell you a secret: I love Mama Mia! because I'm a sucker for ABBA. Don't tell anyone.
; )
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
May 11, 2011
Don't worry, your secret is safe with me. I'm curious: Are you referring to the original musical play or the film adaptation? I greatly enjoyed the former, but I thought the latter was just plain awful.
May 11, 2011
I'm basically referring to both. The musical is just wonderfully fun and the film version was kind of stupid but also entertaining. I just hope I never have to hear Pierce Brosnan sing again.
May 11, 2011
I know what you mean. My God, what an embarrassing sight. Whoever told Pierce Brosnan he could sing was either drunk or insane.
May 12, 2011
He did a nice job singing an old Irish folk song, but that required very little vocal capabilities and this required a great deal more than he possessed. LOL!
 
May 10, 2011
Glad you enjoyed the film!
 
May 10, 2011
the only two musicals I liked were Sweeney Todd and Cannibal the Musical...nope this is not for me.
May 10, 2011
but Abba....hm....
May 10, 2011
Didn't you like "The Wizard of Oz", "Fiddler on the Roof", "The Rocky Horror Picture Show", "Phantom of the Opera", or "Repo!"?
May 10, 2011
I haven't seen "Fiddler" but I did like your 1, 3 and 4. Nope I wasn't too fond of # 5.
May 10, 2011
Really? Everyone I know loves "Repo!". I've still yet to see it.
May 10, 2011
As I've told Nick, I usually don't like musicals....so me liking those other films were lucky.
May 10, 2011
Supposedly Rob Zombie was working on a musical with Ozzie Osbourne about Rasputin. Not sure whatever happened to that, but I was really looking forward to it.
May 10, 2011
I heard about that too. Me and a friend were also wondering about that the other day....
May 10, 2011
Oh, I checked, I did see "Fiddler" but I can barely remember now....
 
1
More Mamma Mia reviews
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
I've seen this at least 5 times on stage, LOVE it more and more each time...the movie version was terrible!
About the reviewer
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

ABBA's greatest hits are woven into a sunny tale set on a Greek island. On the eve of her wedding, a bride's quest to discover her father's identity brings three men from her mother's past back to the place they last visited 20 years ago.

Mamma Mia! the musical is playing at the Prince of Wales Theatre in London.
view wiki

Details

Genre: Musical

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Broadway Musical Reviews is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists