Images
Photography in motion. Photo Art & Images.
Flickr

A photosharing website

< read all 7 reviews

A Quick Tip by gakuueda

  • Mar 13, 2010
  • by
One of the very few site that I'm convinced to pay for the service.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Flickr reviews
review by . December 19, 2008
posted in Shutterbugs
flickr
Whether you're a professional or amateur photographer, Flickr is one of the best photosharing sites out there!  As someone who is classically trained in photography (ya know, old school black and white prints in the darkroom), I found Flickr to be a great source of inspiration for my digital shots.  I've met many contacts through there, and they've managed to get me a bit of exposure, whether it's having my photo bought to be printed on a postcard, or to be published in a travel guide.  …
Quick Tip by . December 04, 2010
posted in Shutterbugs
Flickr is one of the best websites out there for picture sharing between photographers. Only down-side is paying to have a Pro acct which is absolutely necessary
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
great site for pics
Quick Tip by . April 13, 2010
posted in Social_Media
Flickr has been growing on me... as the web becomes decentralized I love this as my photo utility. Rocks Facebook anyday...
Quick Tip by . November 21, 2009
I'm trying to figure out what all the fuss is about.I think that Photobucket does much better for much less!
Quick Tip by . August 22, 2009
Loves the api, tools available to use in facebook, etc and the unlimited photo uploads. But interface could be improve
About the reviewer
Bay Area, CA.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
gakuueda
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

Flickr is an image and video hosting website, web services suite, and online community platform. In addition to being a popular Web site for users to share personal photographs, the service is widely used by bloggers as a photo repository. As of November 2008[update], it claims to host more than 3 billion images.

Flickr asks photo submitters to organize images using tags (a form of metadata), which allow searchers to find images related to particular topics, such as place names or subject matter. Flickr was also an early website to implement tag clouds, which provide access to images tagged with the most popular keywords.

Flickr also allows users to organize their photos into "sets", or groups of photos that fall under the same heading. However, sets are more flexible than the traditional folder-based method of organizing files, as one photo can belong to one set, many sets, or none at all. Flickr's "sets", then, represent a form of categorical metadata rather than a physical hierarchy. Sets may be grouped into "collections", and collections further grouped into higher-order collections.

Finally, Flickr offers a fairly comprehensive web-service API that allows programmers to create applications that can perform almost any function a user on the Flickr site can do.  To use the Flickr API, users need to know their Flickr NSIDs. Several sites have been developed to aid users in this, including idGettr and What Is My Flickr Id.

view wiki
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Images is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists