Paranormal Locations
A community for those who love haunted locations
Ghost Hunters

An American paranormal reality television series.

< read all 3 reviews

Setting a new bar for paranormal investigation

  • Oct 21, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
"Ghost Hunters" is unlike any other paranormal investigation shows out there. In other shows, you'll see psychics, people calling every little ball of dust on a photo a ghost, and idiots screaming over every little bump in the night.
 
Jason, Grant, and their team first set out to debunk any reports of paranormal activity with non-paranormal explanations. Even if they have a personal unexplainable experience during an investigation, they will only conclude there is paranormal activity if there is good evidence! It's a refreshing take on paranormal investigation!! 
Steve and Tango are the technical guys and also offer the comic relief. They probably scare the ghost away more than anything with their horsing around and that’s probably why they rarely have any personal experiences. They do provide some of the funniest moments though when dodging bats and spiders.
 
The fact that they aren’t shy about showing several investigations that reveal nothing paranormal adds to their credibility. Most of the stuff is easily debunked as being wind, old building settling, heating and ventilation system noises, reflections, and wild animals. The team spends as much time explaining the explainable as they do focusing on the unexplainable. You gotta love how they have explain what an EVP is (an Electronic Voice Phenomenon captured on an audio recording) and what high EMF can cause (paranoia, dizziness, and even skin irritation) is at least once in almost every episode.
 
The odd part of my “Ghost Hunters” fandom is that I’m deathly afraid of horror/suspenseful movies but I love “Ghost Hunters”. The scientific aspect of the show is really appealing and when they do concluded that a place is haunted, they always remind the homeowner that ghosts are just regular people without a body. Giving them that human quality just makes ghosts less scary…though I would never go on a paranormal investigation myself! Gotta draw the line somewhere!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
October 22, 2009
My wife is a huge fan of this show. I really can't get into it. One note of interest: the TAPS office is just a couple of miles from our house. A couple of these guys used to work for Roto-Rooter and it is entirely possible that Grant sctually did work in our house a few years ago. He certainly looks familiar.
 
October 21, 2009
I LOVE horror movies which is why I never watch the type of stupid show you mentioned where idiots act as if they are frightened of everything they encounter including absolutely nothing. This show sounds like it might have been put together by people with brains For people with brains.
 
October 21, 2009
thanks for the write up on ghost hunters - which is your favorite season of the tv series?! also you might be interested in the "One Step Beyond" series that aired in 1959 - 1961, - docudramas on the paranormal - very well done for its time - the first season just came out on dvd.
 
1
More Ghost Hunters reviews
review by . December 21, 2009
I lived in a haunted house for a year and it was pretty freaky. I wouldn't say I believed much in ghosts until being stuck in a rental that would randomly scare you senseless, but you leave the experience either convinced there's something going on or you're going nuts. I'm also a co-owner in a business, a cocktail bar in downtown San Antonio, where there's some unexplained glass throwing that happens on a regular basis - we've looked at every logical explanation but when the martini glasses launch …
Quick Tip by . November 22, 2010
posted in Pass The Remote!
I used to really love this show, but recent developments off screen have me questioning the validity of the program.
About the reviewer
Rebecca Low ()
I'm a mommy to 6 rats, 1 beta fish, and a dozen freshwater fish and married to my college sweetheart. I attend anime & comic book conventions, collect toys & figures, and own a popular Sailor … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
aznaphrodite
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Ghost Hunters is an American paranormal reality television series that premiered on October 6, 2004 on the Syfy Channel (previously SciFi). The program features paranormal investigators Jason Hawes and Grant Wilson who investigate places that are reported to be haunted. The two originally worked as plumbers for Roto-Rooter as a day job while investigating locations at night. Since the show's success, the series now takes precedence in their lives, but they are still honorary employees with the company and continue to do jobs for them if time permits.

The show should not be confused with the original 1996 Inca Productions show Ghosthunters produced for the Discovery Channel. The format was sold to Pilgrim Films & Television in the United States to become Ghost Hunters. The only link between the two shows is presenter Ian Cashmore who anchored the UK/Europe show. Cashmore piloted the U.S. show, but chose not to remain part of the U.S. venture after he filmed the promos.
view wiki

Details

Original Air Date: October 6, 2004

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Paranormal Locations is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists