Barnes & Noble site about The Laughing Corpse, Laurell Hamilton

< read all 2 reviews

More ick than laughter in this novel i think

  • May 23, 2011
Rating:
+3
The first Anita Blake novel had some icky moments in it, i mean the girl raises the dead for a living, so obviously theres some gross things going on there. In this book Anita is being pushed to her limit from all angles. Shes got jean-claude hovering over her shoulder, shes being pressured at work to do some very abnormal things, and not to mention shes solving a very grusome case of serial murders being committed by a rouge zombie. This book deals in lots of darker topics than the first one did. In order to solve these murders Anita has to pay a visit to a voodoo queen and learn some very dark things about the art that she has tried to keep herself away from. The voodoo parts of the book where a little creepy, but totally handleable, but there where some parts in the book where the zombie murder scenes where being described that where pretty nasty. I would warn the faint of heart some of the murders where pretty nasty ones involving entire families. Hamilton proves once again that things are not always what they seem in her books, this one was intense right down to the very last page, how could i not want to read the next one??

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
June 27, 2011
I've read right to the very end of this series. I have to say, there's something very intriguing about all that sex, violence and weirdness, though I have to admit, I think about half way through the series the writer gets too caught up in all the sex and seems to forget the general story. I'm a massive fan so I've stuck with it, but nine times out of ten i think it's because I'm curious what the characters will do next. They are all worth a read, but just expect a bit of non stop raunch after book nine.
June 28, 2011
Speaking of non-stop raunch...have you read the meridith gentery series by hamilton??
June 28, 2011
Absolutely. I have a soft spot for frost and often get a little annoyed that she keep having sex with everyone she meets. I suspect that's because I'd like a frost of my own and wouldn't be too keen on sharing! :)
June 28, 2011
Haha i dont get mad at her necessarily because there is a purpose behind all the sex..kind of...n frost is awsome but ive got a major crush on reis!
June 28, 2011
Wtf lol i ment rhys
 
May 23, 2011
Meghan, you are just reading my mind...how have you been? I got something that I need to review along these lines... :)
May 23, 2011
Me reading your mind? Scary thought...think of all the mass distruction we could cause! I have a review of that retarded skyline movie for your community....but it got stuck in my drafts file, my poor phone can only handle so much lol
 
1
More The Laughing Corpse (Anita Bla... reviews
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
wonderful
About the reviewer
meghan ()
Ranked #1
Member Since: Jun 29, 2010
Last Login: Jun 3, 2012 09:34 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
vampire_eyez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

BARNES & NOBLE - Find The Laughing Corpse (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #2) by Laurell K. Hamilton. Enjoy book clubs, author videos and customer reviews. Free 3-Day shipping on $25 orders!
http://search.barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/...=9780425204665&ourl=The%2DLaughing%2DCorpse%2FLaurell%2DK%2DHamilton
view wiki

Tags

Cafe Libri, Laurell K Hamilton, Book Barnes & Noble, Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series, The Laughing Corpse Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series 2

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Paranormal Romance & Urban Fantasy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists