Have Your Cake and Eat it Too

Simply Adorable

  • Jun 28, 2010
Rating:
+5

I would recommend this book to any and every one with even the slightest interest in cupcakes.  Whether you consider yourself a hard-core cupcake fanatic, or you are simply looking for something interesting to add to your kid’s next birthday party, this book can help you. This is filled, cover to cover, with some of the cutest ideas for cupcake decoration I've seen in a long time.  One thing I loved and this book was the more out-there cupcakes.  I mean, we’ve all seen cookbook filled with little frilly pink cupcakes. It’s been done before. What this book offers, instead, is tons of new, creative cupcakes. Where else can you find an entire section dedicated to cupcakes for April Fool’s Day? For that reason alone I was skeptical of this chapter, but it turned out to be one of my favorites, simply because the prank cupcakes are so well designed that they could actually fool someone at first glance!

All of that being said, the book’s best feature in my opinion is make-ability. These are cupcakes that truly anyone can pull off. No professional baking or decorating gear is required; all projects can be completed using only delicious household items.  Mirages are created using candy, sprinkles, even donut holes (for the bodies of lots of animals), not high end, expensive materials that can only be found by touring every craft and/or baking store within a forty mile range of your house!

Overall a fantastic book that every house should own, and every friend should be given for their birthday!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
December 28, 2010
This book sounds like a lot of fun! I'm going to have to check it out :) Thanks!
 
July 04, 2010
Great review, Kerri!  Something tells me that you'd appreciate @PattyP's Bakers and Pastry Lovers community ;)  Thanks for sharing!
July 05, 2010
Thanks, looks like just the place for me!
 
June 28, 2010
I love cupcakes! This sounds like a fun book to use to make professional looking cupcakes! The chapter on April Fool's Day sounds unique and fun! This one is going on my birthday wish list. Thanks for sharing the review in the Cafe Libri community!
 
1
More Hello, Cupcake!: Irresistibly ... reviews
review by . June 06, 2010
Just use the internet
There's nothing in here that you can't get on the net (plus more!)   Don't come here for cupcake recipes as they are very limited and basic. Choose Martha Stewart's cupcake book for better recipes and variety. This is a cute, colorful book no doubt but it's sitting on my shelf collecting dust. Once you've skimmed it, the novelty is over. Now she has a sequel book "What's New Cupcake?" Same goes for this sequel.
review by . July 01, 2010
This book is so much fun.  Even looking through the pages you will spend an hour or two just marveling at the things that people can do with cupcakes.  It is so unbelievably fun and easy to use.  It is so easy that anyone can do it. You don't need any special tools or special skills for that matter all it takes is few simple things that you already have around the house.  You can find all of the ingredients at the corner drug store.  I have tried several of the cupcakes …
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
The ideas and tips in this book are amazing! When I looked through it, many other creative cupcake ideas came to me. If you are interested in baking eccentric cupcakes, this book would be a great addition to your cookbook collection.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
really simple recipes but its easy to do with kids
review by . June 16, 2010
I don't know about anyone else but I really think this book is cute, yes you can find the recipies anywhere else but I think the presentation of this book is one of the most important parts of it.   This is a really fun book to use with children and you can quickly skin through the book looking at all of the pictures deciding which creation you might do next!  I think all the fun pictures are what really makes this book great! Its such a happy book!   I just think this …
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
This is cute!
About the reviewer
Kerri Polizzi ()
Ranked #9
I just wanna be the girl I used to be, when I was me and worry free.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kerrinikole
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book
First to Review

"Just use the internet"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Bakers and Pastry Lovers is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists