Have Your Cake and Eat it Too
Vanilla Ice-cream

Ice cream flavored with the fruit derived from orchids in the genus Vanilla.

< read all 3 reviews

Simple Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe

  • Dec 31, 2008
Rating:
+5
I never understood why people described plain or boring people as "vanilla".  What's wrong with vanilla?  It's smells amazing, and it just so happens to be my favorite flavor of ice cream!  Here's my favorite recipe for it:

1 pint heavy whipping cream
1 14 oz can of condensed milk*
2 egg yolks
1 tsp vanilla extract

1) Whip up heavy whipping cream with hand blender.
2) Fold in the rest of the ingredients.
3) Freeze!  If you want to eat it ASAP and want it to be creamy, stir every 15 minutes or so.  If you have an ice cream maker, use it!

How simple is that?  Four different ingredients and three easy-to-follow directions!  If you want, you can add other ingredients.  I've made marshmallow ice cream in the past (see my marshmallow recipe here, just add the marshmallow cream to the ice cream mix), as well as cookies and cream, and cookie dough ice cream.

*On a side note, I feel that an entire can of condensed milk is too sweet, so I usually use 2/3 or 3/4 of a can and use the rest as coffee creamer.  It's really up to how much of a sweet tooth you've got.

Now you're officially on your way to homemade milkshake, ice cream sundae, and banana split heaven!
Vanilla Ice Cream

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
25
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
January 16, 2010
How did I miss this before?! Hm Maybe I'll put bacon on mine ;-P ha-hah. Thanks, Lady D!
January 19, 2010
Well... this was over a year ago :P  Don't forget the maple syrup! ;)
 
January 16, 2010
Sounds positively heavenly. I am a big fan of vanilla as well and like you do not find it boring at all.
January 19, 2010
Glad to hear that! You should give this recipe a try :)
 
January 15, 2009
Thanks for this, you know with all the mass of flavors out there on the market when it comes to ice cream, there still no substitute for the quaint vanilla. It is actually like the color white with regards to much things in life, it can go with anything. Such is the case with the vanilla ice cream, add (my favorite) a squeeze of Chocolate Syrup, nuts, berries, peanut butter, caramel, anything you want and you are ready to rock with anything haha. Nice review.
 
1
More Vanilla Ice Cream reviews
Quick Tip by . December 30, 2010
The standard of all ice creams, vanilla might not be multi-colored or contain nuts, cookies, or anything else, but it tastes great!
Quick Tip by . December 04, 2010
posted in Gourmand
The wonderful accompaniment to any pie or cake. Cookie or brownie too!
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
Ici
Ici
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Vanilla ice cream is a vanilla-flavored frozen dessert made of cream, sugar, and vanilla extract.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Bakers and Pastry Lovers is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists